Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Bomber Group Sizes For Target Destruction

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Gary Grigsby's Eagle Day to Bombing the Reich >> Bomber Group Sizes For Target Destruction Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Bomber Group Sizes For Target Destruction - 7/26/2008 4:25:04 PM   
Dobey455

Hi Guys, While waiting for the new game I am happily plugging away on the BTR original that I recently got. (its my first time through, Im upto mid Nov 1943.) I was hoping some old vets coiuld give me advice on how many groups are needed to destoy (ie inflict roughly 50% damage or more) on the various target types.

To explain what I mean.......I have done a few deep penetration mission to "high Value" targets. I hit the Rubber plant that has a capacity of 60, and with about 7 or 8 groups caused approximately 80 - 90% damage. I have also targeted an Aluminium Fac of Capacity 18 and an Engine Fac of Capacity 10 with similar size forces (roughly 250 - 300 bombers). The rubber plant was annihalated but the other two targets only had about 30 - 45% damage.

Weather and other factors didn't seem to play a major part (ie the same for all targets) and my bombers took few losses prior to bombing so I guess that some targets are more "dense" or "concerntrated" and therefore easier to knock out. Is this true?

If so, (or even if not), how many bombers should I be aiming to send to the larger targets to ensure destruction?

Because I am in Novermber and the weather is crap I am flying whatever is available when the weather is good rather than waiting an extra day or two to get more bomber groups ready, only to find the weather has closed in for another week.