Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

service pack 3

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion >> service pack 3 Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
service pack 3 - 7/25/2008 5:03:15 PM   
panzers

Can anyone tell me how to get rid of it. I am having problems with it including not being able to use this forum
Post #: 1
RE: service pack 3 - 7/25/2008 5:06:17 PM   
pasternakski

Is that what's doing it, do ya think? I keep getting logged out when trying to reply to a post, and sometimes the site crashes my browser (IE7). I am also stuck with XP-SP3 (it came on my new pooter).

As far as getting rid of it is concerned, I think you'd have to do a clean Windows re-install, but I'm no expert...

Put my faith in the people
And the people let me down.
So, I turned the other way,
And I carry on anyhow.

(in reply to panzers)
Post #: 2
RE: service pack 3 - 7/25/2008 6:12:33 PM   
Ironclad

If you have XP you can use System Restore to return to the point before it was installed. I tried installing it a few times and ever time it stopped my internet access/email - forcing me to revert and turning off automatic updates for good measure. Fortunately, prompted by a thread on these forums, I discovered that there was a fix for Zone Alarm (apparently messed up by SP3 and causing the blockage) which solved the difficulty. My laptop with SP3 seems to be working alright now. I don't know if there is any connection to the timeout issues that so many posters (including myself) are experiencing.

< Message edited by Ironclad -- 7/25/2008 6:13:33 PM >

(in reply to pasternakski)
Post #: 3
RE: service pack 3 - 7/25/2008 6:20:30 PM   
Carl Myers