Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Leader activation

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [American Civil War] >> Gary Grigsby's War Between the States >> Leader activation Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Leader activation - 7/8/2008 5:03:19 PM   
Berkut

 

Posts: 757
Joined: 5/16/2002
Status: offline
If you scroll over a AC, you will see something like this (going from memory):

Activation: 50(3/4 atk/mod, 5 help, 5 supply) roll=14

I read that as his having a 50% chance of activating based on the criteria given, and the roll being a 14.

But sometimes you see this, and the roll is lower than the activation number, but he is not activated.

Anyone know why?
Post #: 1
RE: Leader activation - 7/8/2008 5:21:31 PM   
WarHunter


Posts: 1209
Joined: 3/21/2004
Status: offline
quote:

Activation: 50(3/4 atk/mod, 5 help, 5 supply) roll=14


The example you give here would actually look like this: Activation: 92% (3/4 atk/mod, 5 help, 5 supply) roll=14

Add the key numbers 3+5+5 and divide by 14 in summer for your % to activate.
If Winter then the equation becomes 46% (3/4 atk/mod, 5 help, 5 supply) roll=28

During the game i just look at it as a fraction, 13/14 or 13/28
If an AC is alone and out of help range you are looking at some low %.

21% (3/4 atk/mod, 0 help, 0 supply) roll=14 summer 10% (3/4 atk/mod, 0 help, 0 supply) roll=28

The % might be off a little cuz im not quite sure on if they are rounded for actual calculation.


_____________________________


“We never felt like we were losing until we were actually dead.”
Marcus Luttrell

(in reply to Berkut)
Post #: 2
RE: Leader activation - 7/8/2008 5:39:54 PM   
Berkut

 

Posts: 757
Joined: 5/16/2002
Status: offline
I guess what I am really trying to get at is why isn't the leader active if the roll is lower than the number.

(in reply to WarHunter)
Post #: 3
RE: Leader activation - 7/8/2008 6:04:41 PM   
willgamer


Posts: 889
Joined: 6/2/2002
From: Huntsville, Alabama
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Berkut

I guess what I am really trying to get at is why isn't the leader active if the roll is lower than the number.


A. It's not roll=28, it's / roll 28.

B. It's not the roll; it's the number needed that varies by season; the roll is not shown.

C. It's not ACTIVATION, it's INITIATIVE.



< Message edited by willgamer -- 7/8/2008 6:07:58 PM >


_____________________________

Rex Lex or Lex Rex?

(in reply to Berkut)
Post #: 4
RE: Leader activation - 7/8/2008 6:26:00 PM   
Berkut

 

Posts: 757
Joined: 5/16/2002
Status: offline
Ahhh, got it. I see how that works now. Thanks.

I guess maybe I should have noticed that I was rolling a rather large number of 14s. Or 28s.

(in reply to willgamer)
Post #: 5
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [American Civil War] >> Gary Grigsby's War Between the States >> Leader activation Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.309