Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: OK For you Gaming Guys with GF/Spouses

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion >> RE: OK For you Gaming Guys with GF/Spouses Page: <<   < prev  1 [2]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: OK For you Gaming Guys with GF/Spouses - 3/31/2008 7:37:59 PM   
panzers

awesome thread, and I can relate myself. my pigsty resulted in the loss of probaby $100,000 worth of baseball cards including several Mickey Mantle, Hank Aaron cards and Nolan Ryan cards. Mom, I love you, but you suck!

(in reply to ilovestrategy)
Post #: 31
RE: OK For you Gaming Guys with GF/Spouses - 4/7/2008 5:22:04 PM   
Grognerd_INC

Ted and I started playing wargames about once a week in 1981 when we met at Vandenberg AFB, we both worked for Martin Marietta on the Space shuttle and later the Titan missile program (We gamed for 23 years once a week). My wife never minded in fact my daughter grew up to be a gamer just like dad.

This is a true story....

We used to go the the LA game conventions twice a year (1 on Labor day, 1 on Presidents day) One year Ted decided to save us some money and found a cheaper hotel instead of staying at the convention hotel. It was on Inglewood ave in Inglewoood, turned out to be right across the street from Hollywood park race track.
SO we walk into this hotel noting that this part of town looks pretty rough. This big Samoan guy is at the front desk, Ted checks us in and I'm standing behind waiting. I make a smart ass comment to this guy "So, where's the whorehouse?"
He looks at Ted (Never glances at me) and says in a slow delibrate way "Your friend thinks he's funny doesn't he"