Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: Looking for strategy games without chores

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion >> RE: Looking for strategy games without chores Page: <<   < prev  1 [2] 3 4   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: Looking for strategy games without chores - 12/18/2007 11:05:35 AM   
Adam Parker

quote:

ORIGINAL: Jonathan Palfrey

I started playing wargames in the 1960s, when they were relatively short and simple. Since then, games have got long and complicated, alas. Most modern games require players to spend their time on tedious chores that a real-life commander-in-chief would sensibly delegate to subordinates.

Are there any games these days designed for players who have jobs and families; who want a game that can be played to completion in a short period of time (say, half an hour to two hours?); who want to spend their playing time thinking about grand strategy and not fussing around with minor details?

I know what you mean. Look I don't know what rig or OS you're running but the best "simple" games with guts ever made were:

1. Civil War Generals 2 (with self-declaration of scenario end patch) - must be available somewhere.
2. The Ardennes Offensive 1 - was free for download somewhere, write to SSG.
3. Battles in Normandy - SSG/Matrix.
4. Squad Battles - HPS.
5. Panzer General 1.

If I could make a suggestion out of left field, I'd recommend the Age of Empires 3 franchise. It's a beautiful looking and playing thing with an immense change to player chores over AoE 1 and 2.