Invasion stack (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> WarPlan



Message


ncc1701e -> Invasion stack (4/24/2020 3:50:59 PM)

Could you please explain why I cannot disembark two units in the same naval stack in the same turn?

The first unit can be unloaded.

[image]local://upfiles/46661/CFB007F71D6D4B58A7C876910151D7FA.jpg[/image]




ncc1701e -> RE: Invasion stack (4/24/2020 3:52:14 PM)

But this is impossible to disembark the second unit despite the fact I have the needed landing ships?

I am obliged to split my fleet something I do not want to do for protection.

[image]local://upfiles/46661/3E3094CF211B49D8B6B9EEBB83FBF7A4.jpg[/image]




PDiFolco -> RE: Invasion stack (4/24/2020 6:16:08 PM)

Perhaps because 2 land units can't occupy the same hex?




ncc1701e -> RE: Invasion stack (4/24/2020 6:56:31 PM)

Agree but I do not think this is the problem. Initial situation:

[image]local://upfiles/46661/FB40BF1EEB744E15A89E3C257697376A.jpg[/image]




ncc1701e -> RE: Invasion stack (4/24/2020 6:57:34 PM)

Selecting where to disembark:

[image]local://upfiles/46661/54721B50C9B04C7A9395A8463934F850.jpg[/image]




ncc1701e -> RE: Invasion stack (4/24/2020 6:59:04 PM)

One division in England

[image]local://upfiles/46661/AB74E6ECF79F472CB3FBC464B2F491DF.jpg[/image]




ncc1701e -> RE: Invasion stack (4/24/2020 7:00:14 PM)

Now with the game rule that any unit can move one hexes even if it has ZERO operation points, I move the division.

[image]local://upfiles/46661/D3EFE86823A547769119986CDB1D39E5.jpg[/image]




ncc1701e -> RE: Invasion stack (4/24/2020 7:01:20 PM)

And, now, why I can't disembark the second one in the same hexes than the previous one? The button is no more available. Why?

[image]local://upfiles/46661/6DEB006CCAB743ABAE38BAD98D59C7A3.jpg[/image]




ncc1701e -> RE: Invasion stack (4/24/2020 7:13:41 PM)

Please note how easy it was to disembark in England. No interception, no battle, nothing.

[image]local://upfiles/46661/74C349FE228247FA9700A86A35FA1D32.jpg[/image]




sveint -> RE: Invasion stack (4/24/2020 9:49:40 PM)

I think this once again comes down to how movement points are deducted from the entire fleet.

See my post about an unmoved unit that is unable to embark because a fleet moved through the harbor, etc etc




ncc1701e -> RE: Invasion stack (4/24/2020 9:55:07 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: sveint

I think this once again comes down to how movement points are deducted from the entire fleet.

See my post about an unmoved unit that is unable to embark because a fleet moved through the harbor, etc etc


Yep, this one is another problem but perhaps linked indeed.




AlvaroSousa -> RE: Invasion stack (4/24/2020 11:59:16 PM)

It is how I designed the system to keep the code cleaner and the invasion fairly straight forward. If you wanted to invade with 2 divisions take a small corps. If you want to invade with 3 divisions invade with a large corps.





ncc1701e -> RE: Invasion stack (4/25/2020 4:36:15 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Alvaro Sousa

It is how I designed the system to keep the code cleaner and the invasion fairly straight forward. If you wanted to invade with 2 divisions take a small corps. If you want to invade with 3 divisions invade with a large corps.


I have taken this as an example. As USA, I am arriving in North Africa with an invasion stack of:
. One HQ unit
. One Armed corps unit
. One Mechanized corps unit
. One Large Infantry corps

And you tell me I cannot disembark two units, of different types, because it is in the same naval stack?
It's the opposite of straight forward from my point of view.

So we need to do plenty of stacks to bypass your system. Could you please review your code?

Thanks




sveint -> RE: Invasion stack (4/25/2020 6:56:29 AM)

I actually think one unit per beach is fine, but it should be explicitly stated in the manual.

Unloading on a beach is not trivial.




ncc1701e -> RE: Invasion stack (4/25/2020 6:58:29 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: ncc1701e

Now with the game rule that any unit can move one hexes even if it has ZERO operation points, I move the division.

[image]local://upfiles/46661/D3EFE86823A547769119986CDB1D39E5.jpg[/image]


Agree with your answer sveint, but in this case, this move must be forbidden.




sillyflower -> RE: Invasion stack (4/25/2020 2:01:49 PM)

The solution to the 2 unit invasion is to do invasion 1 first by only moving that ship/unit. Then do invasion 2 with the second




ncc1701e -> RE: Invasion stack (4/25/2020 2:35:56 PM)

Yes, this is the way to bypass the system. Why is it not possible within one naval stack?




AlvaroSousa -> RE: Invasion stack (4/25/2020 4:29:07 PM)

I believe I fixed this in the current beta I just put up. The zero movement issue. Test away




ncc1701e -> RE: Invasion stack (4/25/2020 7:17:28 PM)

Negative - the ZERO move issue is still there in the latest beta (07U7)

[image]local://upfiles/46661/A1345F5D115C4DD99B3694988F062268.jpg[/image]




ncc1701e -> RE: Invasion stack (4/25/2020 7:18:20 PM)

I would suggest that any kind of movement should be canceled when a unit is landing on a beach.

[image]local://upfiles/46661/37EF3D8DB12A445CAFFBCAC6E94063BB.jpg[/image]




AlvaroSousa -> RE: Invasion stack (4/25/2020 7:30:24 PM)

Units lose 50% of their OPs. We had it with zero and it was too easy to blow them off the beaches.




ncc1701e -> RE: Invasion stack (4/26/2020 3:07:44 AM)

Sorry, I am confused. The ZERO movement issue is an issue. But, if the unit has operation points, it can move, is it correct?

If so, there is still the naval invasion stack to solve to disembark more than one unit from the same naval stack, no?

Thanks






AlvaroSousa -> RE: Invasion stack (4/26/2020 5:44:31 AM)

the ZERO point issue is something else.

I am saying when you invade you get have of your OPs off the boat.

And one unit can invade from one fleet per turn be it a division or a corps. You can pick the unit of course.




Page: [1]

Valid CSS!




Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI
4.101563E-02