Role playing? (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition

stljeffbb -> Role playing? (6/15/2009 2:58:09 AM)

Hello everyone...I've recently gotten back into gaming, and I noticed that a new version of WitP was being released!

I was a grizzled veteran of the now ancient Grigsby's Pacific War, but I have to admit I never got too deep into WitP....

To cut to the chase, in PacWar, one could assume control of just one HQ and guide it....it this possible with AE? Could one conceivably follow a certain general/admiral as they move around within the game? If so, could orders be trumped by a "higher AI?"

I've always been interested in "what ifs"....silly things like Japan invading the mainland of the USA and Japan defeating all of China....how are these things going to be in AE? I recall reading some WitP threads about certain strategies that seemed to work very well in invading Canada (lol)...will partisian units show up (like "Billy Bob's 10278th militia brigade" [all armed with .22s or something similar]) [sm=00000055.gif]

Regards,

Jeff

Oldguard1970 -> RE: Role playing? (6/15/2009 12:55:19 PM)

Hi Jeff,

In WITP you can enjoy following a leader, or a pilot, or a ship.  However, the game does not let you assume control of just one subordinate HQ while the computer does everything else.  The game does have a feature to let the players turn control of regions over to the computer, but writers in the forum report all sorts of wierd things happen when the computer has partial control.

Yamato hugger -> RE: Role playing? (6/15/2009 2:23:18 PM)

PacWar was one of my all time favorite games. Frankly I would still prefer it to WitP if it wasnt for the "naval hiway" system for ship movement in that game. That and that alone is why I think WitP is superior to it.