service pack 3 (Full Version)

All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion

panzers -> service pack 3 (7/25/2008 5:03:15 PM)

Can anyone tell me how to get rid of it. I am having problems with it including not being able to use this forum

pasternakski -> RE: service pack 3 (7/25/2008 5:06:17 PM)

Is that what's doing it, do ya think? I keep getting logged out when trying to reply to a post, and sometimes the site crashes my browser (IE7). I am also stuck with XP-SP3 (it came on my new pooter).

As far as getting rid of it is concerned, I think you'd have to do a clean Windows re-install, but I'm no expert...

Ironclad -> RE: service pack 3 (7/25/2008 6:12:33 PM)

If you have XP you can use System Restore to return to the point before it was installed. I tried installing it a few times and ever time it stopped my internet access/email - forcing me to revert and turning off automatic updates for good measure. Fortunately, prompted by a thread on these forums, I discovered that there was a fix for Zone Alarm (apparently messed up by SP3 and causing the blockage) which solved the difficulty. My laptop with SP3 seems to be working alright now. I don't know if there is any connection to the timeout issues that so many posters (including myself) are experiencing.

Carl Myers -> RE: service pack 3 (7/25/2008 6:20:30 PM)

Open up your control panel and double click Install or Remove Programs. Look for it on the list.

MadmanRick -> RE: service pack 3 (7/25/2008 6:40:48 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: panzers

Can anyone tell me how to get rid of it. I am having problems with it including not being able to use this forum

Do you use Internet Explorer? If so, try using Firefox (it's freeware) and it is MUCH better and even safer than IE will ever be. I use it on all of my computers and I wouldn't trade back to IE for all the tea in China.

panzers -> RE: service pack 3 (7/25/2008 10:47:43 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: MadmanRick

quote:

ORIGINAL: panzers