W-76-2 Low Grade Nuke

Share your best strategies and tactics with other players by posting them here.

Moderator: MOD_Command

kevinkins

W-76-2 Low Grade Nuke

Post by kevinkins »

This is apparently coming fast: https://www.popularmechanics.com/milita ... ar-weapon/

A quick look in the database does not find it, but I am not good at that so it could be there or some equivalent.

Anyway, would like to sandbox it's effectiveness if or when available in the DB. Any ideas on how it would be deployed without going into a full nuclear holocaust?

Kevin

“The study of history lies at the foundation of all sound military conclusions and practice.”
Alfred Thayer Mahan
ultradave

RE: W-76-2 Low Grade Nuke

Post by ultradave »

ORIGINAL: kevinkins

Any ideas on how it would be deployed without going into a full nuclear holocaust?

Kevin

That's the trick, isn't it. It's the reason we eliminated so many small yield and intermediate range nuclear weapons. Back then it was widely believed that once a nuclear weapon of any kind was used, it would be extremely difficult to impossible to contain to a "tactical" level. This warhead seems problematic because it's supposed to be loaded on a Trident missile on an SSBN. Not sure if that makes it more or less destabilizing (knowing they might be loaded on say, Tomahawks could be just as destabilizing)

That being said, your first part is that it's a pretty new development. I don't believe it's in the DB yet. The proposed yield sounds like a guesstimate at the moment so maybe that's why. (or it's just new)
----------------
Dave A.
"When the Boogeyman goes to sleep he checks his closet for paratroopers"
SeaQueen

Post by SeaQueen »

ORIGINAL: kevinkins
Any ideas on how it would be deployed without going into a full nuclear holocaust?