Tactic help needed

SPWaW is a tactical squad-level World War II game on single platoon or up to an entire battalion through Europe and the Pacific (1939 to 1945).

Moderator: MOD_SPWaW

McDrum

Tactic help needed

Post by McDrum »

Gentlemen:

I am a complete newbie in this fabulous SPWAW game. Also I am introducing my son to war gaming (=no more pokemon, son), and we two are learning the ropes of the game.

The question is we are surpassed by the complex management in some scenarios, that's to say, we are still bad colonels. NO idea about how begin: deploying arty and mortars first?, infantry after of before tanks? enginneers, for what?, and so on.

Could you please tell us where to find info&tutorials (url's , please) about how to manage our batallion(s)? Sorry if this point is treated in some other thread, I have searched "tactic", but nothing was found enough explicit to help us.

Thanks for all, this forum is excellent.
McDrum

Fredde

Post by Fredde »

First advice: Start with the simpler scenarios. There is no point in playing division-sized scenarios to start with. You can learn how the units work, and work together much better when playing small scenarios with just a few units involved. For the tactics advice, i think there was a very recent thread covering this.

Good luck.
"If infantry is the Queen of the battlefield, artillery is her backbone", Jukka L. Mäkelä about the Finnish victory at Ihantala.
BA Evans

Post by BA Evans »

Hi McDrum,

Try these two threads:

>Tutorial not explicit enough??? <

>tactics help please... <

As for your question, are you having trouble figuring out what is the best way to deploy your troops or do you need some advice on how they should be moved during the game?

BA Evans
McDrum

Post by McDrum »

Thank you for your advice.

In fact I have trouble both triying to move the units, and deploying it. Basically the problems is how to get all the units working in harmony.