How to mod?

Discuss and post your mods and scenarios here for others to download.

Moderator: Vic

sIg3b

How to mod?

Post by sIg3b »

So the most basic question: If I want to change a few small things, where do I start?

Is there generic modding advice somewhere?

And where are the gamefiles actually? I do not seem to find any .txt files in my gamefolder. How do I even open the masterfiles? I am confused. [:)]
GaryChildress

RE: How to mod?

Post by GaryChildress »

Hi SIg3b, welcome to the forum! To start modding files, I would look at some of the tutorials in the pinned section above. Vic did some very basic intro tutorials, start with the most basic one here:

https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=1605901

Then work your way up into the more difficult ones.

That's how I started. I'm no expert but I can make a few changes after learning the basics and doing some experimenting on my own.
sIg3b

Post by sIg3b »

Hi! I do not really want to make a scenario; I want to change the random game generator somewhat. I don´t know if and how that can be done via the editor. I would need much more advanced info!
ernieschwitz

Post by ernieschwitz »

What do you want to change? :) It is probably easier to give you advice if we know what exactly is your goal.
Creator of High Quality Scenarios for:
  • Advanced Tactics Gold
    DC: Warsaw to Paris
    DC: Community Project.
Try this Global WW2 Scenario: https://www.vrdesigns.net/scenario.php?nr=280
sIg3b

Post by sIg3b »

Mostly make a few more specific random game templates.

Example: An Alternative Universe Pacific War themed masterfile where the random map is always Japan vs USA with the correct flags and faction names and city/base names that I specify.

More customized random games, really. I thought that would be simple and easy, but now I am not so sure. Editor seems not very intuitive nor very documented.
Twotribes

Post by Twotribes »