Penetration vs Range

Please post here for questions and discussion about scenario design, art and sound modding and the game editor for WITP Admiral's Edition.

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

engineer

Penetration vs Range

Post by engineer »

I have a gunnery combat algorithm question. The penetration values for naval guns reflect values that align with engagement ranges of 15k to 20k yards for the most part.

In watching a variety of test night engagements, I have seen the US 5" guns penetrating Japanese light cruiser belt armor sometimes. These are typically at close ranges of 6000 yards and less.

Does the algorithm for penetration vs. armor consider range and apply penetration bonuses at short range?

Checking ballistics data on the guns, a battleships will always penetrate other battleships and at close enough ranges even an Allied heavy cruiser could penetrate the belt armor on a "Kongo". Hornfischer also makes this point in his discussion of the Naval Battle of Guadalcanal in Neptune's Inferno. Likewise, the data on the US 5" shows it would have enough penetration to get through Japanese CL belt armor at close range.

Dili

RE: Penetration vs Range

Post by Dili »

The penetration values appear to be at "zero" range, a 16" does not penetrate 828mm at 15k. I suppose there is an algorithm in game that takes in account the range, but i never seen any explanation.
engineer

Post by engineer »

OK, thanks, that's the trick. The penetration values are not uniformly rated for zero range. For example, the US 8" guns have 200 mm and the 5" Mk 12 have a 50 mm penetration. The 16" Mk 7 has that high 0 range penetration.