I don't follow. How does that relate to shifting convoy lines from Bay of Biscay to Faeroes' Gap?
The convoy points start at sea in Bay of Biscay in any given impulse, naval move to port, become disorganized as a result, get reorganized during the pertinent step, and naval move back out to sea during a future impulse.
Why would 'CP used' markers be required for MWiF?
I do not understand this line:
and CP's cannot stay at sea
Are you suggesting that your reading of the rules indicates CP don't stay at sea at all? I assume I am misunderstanding you here.
Hay 'CP used' markers are in the rules.
Yup, sorry I wasn't clear on what I meant by "stay at sea".
CP's cannot "stay at sea" because it would have to be at least in the 1 sea-box. In order to "stay at sea" you have to shift down one sea-box.
To me this reads CP's when at sea are in the 0 sea-box until they enter port in the 13.4 Return to base phase.
If they do return to base, they won’t be able to convoy resources in the production step of that turn.
How do you read it?
ORIGINAL: ORIGINAL: WiFFE-RAW-7.0.pdf
13.4 Return to base
Units at sea can return to base during this step. If they do, they will be available to sail again in the next turn. Those that stay at sea will only be able to stay in the sea-box next turn or sail back to a port.
Units may return to base during naval movement, after aborting from combat and during this step. You return units to base like a normal naval move except in reverse.
Each unit returning to base is limited by its movement allowance (reduced for the sea-box section it is occupying) and by its range.
A unit MUST return to base during this step if it is:
• any unit (except convoy points) of a NEUTRAL major power; or
• a TRS with a cargo on board; or
• any unit (except convoy points) in the 0 section.
Any other of your units can return to base if you like. Convoy points can stay at sea even if they are in the 0 section. If they do return to base, they won’t be able to convoy resources in the production step of this turn.
Both sides (side with initiative first) must decide which units to return to base and which to keep at sea.
If you decide to keep a unit at sea, you must immediately move it into the next lower section of the sea-box. If you decide to return it to base, move it into the surrounding sea area but, for reference, keep it next to the sea-box section it came from.
After both sides make these decisions, units return to base (active side first). They can be intercepted (see 11.4.6) but only by units staying at sea. Only the intercepted units, units staying at sea and aircraft that fly naval interception can take part in an interception combat.
If intercepted, you must attempt to fight through from the ‘0’ box.
11.4 Naval movement
HOW DOES A UNIT PATROL?
When a naval unit stops in a sea area, it is patrolling. To show this, you must put it into that area’s sea-box. You can put it in any section of the sea-box, which has a (unmodified) search number less than or equal to the unit’s unused MOVEMENT ALLOWANCE. [This is different from the system used for naval air missions.]
stay at sea as in
A unit can only be in one section of a sea-box at a time. Other units could be in the same or different sections of the sea-box.
Convoy points can only ‘patrol’ in the 0 section of the sea-box, even if they have unused movement points.
If a unit started its naval move out of supply (see 2.4.2 Tracing supply), turn it facedown when it reaches a sea-box section.
University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)