From: Castellon, Spain
How in the world can you stop a retreat of 100000 troops with just 2000 .....
- For a supply chain ....
- For a naval supply .....
- The biggest discovery....
- Rules for "who my fight"....
I agree with 98locko, the "teleportation" rule when retreas is a big problem, since it doesnt make sense how come an army could move 5 or 6 areas away, with mountains!, out of his movemente phase or even worst, before his movement turn as the defender, so after the battle and retreat he can still move!!!
This one brings up strange situations...i really think that somethig should be done to avoid this and the other secondary option of this rule mentioned by pfnognoff, an army of 120 points surrender to a depot army with 5 points!!!
Maybe now with the help of a computer could manage to take care automatically of this, like if the defeated army is 5 or more times bigger than the one which is not allowing him to retreat, then he retreats there and there other one retreats or gets into the city if room and if there are no areas available or not a 5:1 ratio, the defetead army has to surrender...or even further, fight another time like if it was a second day with a -1.0 to his morale!!!!
About the supply chains, we play with depot-area-depot, i dont think it is the same way a depot can feed an army than how a chain has to be build, since you can feed at 3 areas away from the last depot...very unclear rule too!
Naval supply or reinforcement is also complicated, some people even allowing to do a triangle naval reinforcement (A (home port with a fleet), B (depot), C (nothing), we do not allow this, since it looks "clear" the depot for reinforcemt should be at the home port, and the rules only talks about 2 ports, allowing to have one thing each or both one (fleet and depot), always the depot in the home nation, IMO.
Yes, the biggest rule "hole" for the main war french-british is the retreat rule to a sea area or harbour if the fleet is not completly destroyed, so even if the french navy with 3 or 4 corps is almost destroyed (90% losses) can still be at high sea and compleated his disembarking in the island.
Another top ten is who may fight since there are can be stranges situations where we can find multiple nations stacks beeing attacked by another multiple stack beeing not all countries in one at war with the all the rest in the other stack!!!! Very complicated, since this will bring in a movement phase new declarations of war, retreats, etc...
And what about a fleet beeing blocked or under attack beeing able to intercept another phasing enemy fleet!!! it is allowed by the rules, since it is not forbiden!?!?! this one is completly not logical...
I will think for more, but you can find houndres of this question discussed in the yahoo forum empiresinarms.
Santiago y cierra España!!!