ORIGINAL: Hubert Cater
I have had two games where Japan has surrendered due to low morale rather than capitals. In both cases they surrendered to China, who only held a small section of north west China, never mind any of Japan. Southern and parts of central and eastern China had been liberated by a combination of USA, Australia and India, however all of Korea, Japanese home islands and Manchuria were still held by Japan.
In this case how could it calculate that China held more of Japan than anyone else, or are there different rules in this scenario?
Can you confirm that the Chinese did not have at least a single unit on Japanese home territory? For example, just a single Chinese unit in Korea (which is considered Japanese home territory in game) would cause Japan to surrender to China if no other home hex was occupied by any other Allied nation.
As mentioned above, only home territory counts, so southwest China, Manchuria etc., would not factor in to the calculation.
Additionally I just ran a test to confirm the functionality of the routine on my end and if let's say Japan were to reach 0% National Morale, and all of its home territory was still intact and not occupied, then Japan in this case would not surrender. Again it would only surrender until some home territory is occupied, and to the nation that occupies the most of those occupied hexes.
On both occasions the Chinese only had a small number of units in the north west corner and they were hanging on by their fingernails. There were no allied units in Korea or the Japanese home island, unless Iwo Jima, Okinawa or Mariana Islands count in which case they were occupied by the USA.
In both games Japan surrendered to the Chinese when their moral got down to 0%. I do have a save for one of the games but unfortunately it is many turns after the surrender.