Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

New Player, Overwhelmed

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Armored Brigade >> New Player, Overwhelmed Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
New Player, Overwhelmed - 1/18/2019 4:12:13 PM   
ScottVal

Hello-
I thought I'd give this game a try. I watched some YouTube, read the manual, and designed a simple
scenario. I started playing the scenario, and quickly felt overwhelmed. There is so much

going on. Can someone make a suggestion, as to how to proceed? For now I guess I'll re-read the
manual and maybe watch some more YouTube. Maybe I should make my simple scenario even more
simple. Thanks! This forum UI is terrible!
-Scott
Post #: 1
RE: New Player, Overwhelmed - 1/19/2019 8:10:37 PM   
mmacguinness

It's not easy, but give it a chance. It's not an RTS, it's not a clickfest.

It requires more planning than most games during set up, but when you get it right, especially in defense, you can sit back and watch the enemy get chewed up by your forces.
Attack is of course harder. That is why artillery, armour and airpower were invented.

So, to start and get to understand how it works, generate a scenario in SE Finland, Infantry defense of a bridge v any faction, mech or armoured, not just Soviet, use only half your points, buy squads and atgm sections, deploy half your squads & atgm sections in blocking positions, the other half on your defense line.

It is so much fun when you get it right, almost automatic Total Victory after your infantry murder the Opfor armour.

BTW, I don't like fair fights.

(in reply to ScottVal)
Post #: 2
RE: New Player, Overwhelmed - 1/19/2019 9:17:07 PM   
wodin

Yeah make yourself some small scenarios.