Hello and Mod Questions

Distant Worlds is a vast, pausable real-time, 4X space strategy game which models a "living galaxy" with incredible options for replayability and customizability. Experience the full depth and detail of large turn-based strategy games, but with the simplicity and ease of real-time, and on the scale of a massively-multiplayer online game. Now greatly enhanced with the new Universe release, which includes all four previous releases as well as the new Universe expansion!

Moderators: Icemania, elliotg

bubb_tubbs

Hello and Mod Questions

Post by bubb_tubbs »

Greetings! I'm a long-time veteran of MoO2 and purchased the GoG edition of DWU recently, though I've been playing a, shall we say, slightly less legal version for 6 months or so. Stellaris ended up being (to me, at least) a role-playing game with slight grand strategy elements, which isn't really my thing.

I cut my teeth on full manual Extreme (thanks to DasTactic and TortugaPower for ship designbasics and economy tutorials, btw), got my ass handed to me several times, and pushed on.

It only took one game to get sick of the ridiculous jump from improved warp bubble to Gerax, so I was using an older version of RetreatUE. However, several games featured long range rail guns that chewed through even the heavily armoured repair bot designs I was fielding. I'm now using Research Unleashed II, with the inclusion of Icemania AI mod and DasChrome and I'm loving it, but the AI seems weaker than before, even on Very Expensive, strong pirates, chaos galaxy and I'm not sure if it's me improving or the AI struggling with the different tech tree.

I mostly play now as "underpowered" military races or non-Gizurean insectoids because I like the challenge and I'm used to Moo2 - be aggressive, never talk to anyone, only assimilate that which makes you stronger, kill everybody else.