Putting things into perspective

Take command of air and naval assets from post-WW2 to the near future in tactical and operational scale, complete with historical and hypothetical scenarios and an integrated scenario editor.

Moderator: MOD_Command

DWReese

Putting things into perspective

Post by DWReese »

I've been playing war games since the 1970s. Like many, I had my subscription to S&T (SPI) back in the day and I (still) have every one of those magazines/games for an entire two decade period. Most have never even been played as I always purchased the boxed version of the ones that I really liked.

One day a friend and I were playing a strategic level game and I remember having to turn over one of my counters. My friend informed me that my 1000-man counter was now only worth 500-men. A light suddenly went on for both of us. We were stuck on the fact that 500 men had just died. How would that affect unit morale? How would the leaders deal with that? We then had a brief conversation about war games. We discussed leadership, morale, etc. At that time, most of the games had barely even touched on those subjects.

After playing that game, we started seeking more operational or tactical level games. We were thrilled when Firefight came out because you had individual tanks. City Fight followed where you had individual men using specific weapons. It suddenly became a lot more fun than just flipping a counter over and announcing that 500 men had just died.

On the seas, CA, Task Force and Frigate still used the flipped counter concept. Shortly thereafter, though, came Fighting Sail which actually differentiated hull hits and sail hits. Suddenly the game was more than just rendering a ship 50 percent destroyed or completely destroyed.