quote:Brian, I'm intrigued and curious. Would the below invasion of Denmark be sufficient to keep you as, the CW, out of Denmark? If not, what would be your strategy for getting in?
ORIGINAL: brian brian
In RaW7, many a German player would be quite sloppy as they over-ran Denmark. They would generally send a unit to Frederikshavn, sure. As CW, my favorite thing to see there was the Tank Destroyer unit - costs 5 BP; commonly sent there due to its 6 movement points. Common to see a motorized division also, or maybe an entire MOT corps.
Also not common to see the Germans set up enough units on the Danish border to take every coastal hex; though Germany certainly has the units available to do that, many German players are greedy on the first turn, invading some 5 other countries (incl. France).
There is also an Allied riposte available for when Germany sets up several fast units on the Danish border - they can be targeted by Ground Strike on the Surprise Impulse.
Now, any time the Germans don’t control every coastal hex before the end-of-turn, the CW controls the hex. And they can then land the Gort HQ, and another corps with it, possibly including their MECH, and the infantry division - no ‘invasion’ required. These units can then attack whatever German force is holding Frederikshavn, and the CW land factors will be doubled by the plentiful Battleships of Home Fleet - my reference to ‘obliteration’, which is near automatic on anything short of a full corps. They might even be able to use the blitz table to R etreat a whole German corps right out of Frederikshavn. (Then serious raids of the Baltic can get rolling on turn 2 with a stack of four “R” class BBs as Churchill dreamed.)
All of that is why I send a true Panzer corps to Frederikshavn, as it is hardly needed in Poland. I have explained this Allied response on here many times; players with a weak rules background don’t understand some of the process here, and many ‘Panzer Heads’ who only ever play Germany and sometimes Russia for variety also don’t understand the capabilities of the Royal Navy. And such players cry Foul when this happens to them, and also claim it doesn’t matter, even when they are faced with losing 3 Swedish resources, a steady drip of Convoy Point losses, perhaps the beginning of the attritrion of the Kriegsmarine, and most seriously of all, the choice between a land impulse and a Combibed impulse. The Axis might also task the Italian NAV to help in the Baltic. When you are responding to an opponents move, you are losing. The Axis should not in any way be doing any response moves in 39/40.
Won’t Gort be needed in France? Possibly. My point is the Allies can also play high-risk, high-reward on the first turn. One bad weather roll and the German campaign in Belgium stops for an impulse, for one. If the Germans roll all good ‘Hitler Weather’ in S/O 39, Gort holding a coastal hex in France is going to make little difference. Only Wavell+Gort will really help then. And quite often the decisive turn in a “France First” is N/D, when the weather rolls become even more fraught. Meanwhile, the Royal Navy can sail, fire weapons, and chew gum at the same time - they can fairly easily shift Gort over to France; they have a variety of these things called Re-Org points, and clever ways to use them.
All of that is quite different in CE8; for example the CW now only has 3 TRS on the first turn, not 4, and Shore Bombardment is substantially weaker. So the CW player whol lands Gort + 2 MOT in France on the first Allied impulse of the game and thinks that is a successful application of their Prime Directive, well that is a little more true now.
P.S. By the way, this question is really open to anyone who'd wish to take a crack at it. I'm just curious if the invasion below is solid enough to keep the allies from intervening in Denmark.
< Message edited by rkr1958 -- 9/14/2018 5:06:54 PM >