The Whys and the Wherefores - AAR Post Mortem and House Rule Discussion (IJ – DanSez) vs (Allied – t

Post descriptions of your brilliant victories and unfortunate defeats here.

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

DanSez

The Whys and the Wherefores - AAR Post Mortem and House Rule Discussion (IJ – DanSez) vs (Allied – t

Post by DanSez »

I am a rules lawyer kind of guy. As an example: way back in the day I wrote a 10 page constitution for a Fantasy Football League that was fairly successful. Before that I was a D&D Dungeon Master writing special rules and spells. I like adding nuance to the games I play.

I know there are more experienced players who don’t like them, but I think they add a valuable tool to moderate a game that can quickly overwhelm new and moderately experienced players. I am still learning something new about the game each week I play.

This is a co-player AAR where I hope we will discuss (post mortem) events from both side’s perspective, important battles and effects of house rules on the deployment and action.

And I hope it can generate some discussion about house rules in general, including what is standard and what maybe hard to manage. The game should be fun for both players.

The Commander's job is to orchestrate and direct the three major dimensions of combat - space, time and force. Shattered Sword, the Untold Story of the Battle of Midway
DanSez

RE: The Whys and the Wherefores - AAR Post Mortem and House Rule Discussion (IJ – DanSez) vs (Allied – t

Post by DanSez »

Current situation is late October, 1942. I am holding close to the historic boundaries of IJ expansion.

To the West the line runs along the historic boundary of Burma, Port Blair and Sumatra.

To the South, some of the East Timor Islands are still unoccupied. No move so far toward Australia.

To the Southeast, Japan still holds Lunga but the Allies have crawled across the mountains and dominates New Guinea.