Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

IJA/N infantry squads

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> Scenario Design and Modding >> IJA/N infantry squads Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
IJA/N infantry squads - 5/17/2018 12:54:22 AM   
DOCUP

So I am looking at increasing the values of the IJA/N infantry, combat eng squads. I'm asking for recommendations on how and the values. I am not a Japanese expert.

My thoughts are: Japan starts to mass produce the SMG 100/44 in 1943. Maybe a better battle rifle (not for sure what one). Maybe the TERA rifle in 43 and the Type 4 in 45. I don't know if they need a better light MG or not. Better squad anti tank weapon, yes. I don't know what thought.

Any idea?
Post #: 1
RE: IJA/N infantry squads - 5/17/2018 2:36:08 AM   
John 3rd

Look at Leland Ness's work on Rikugun.

Member: Treaty, Reluctant Admiral and Between the Storms Mod Team.

Reluctant Admiral Mod:
https://sites.google.com/site/reluctantadmiral/

(in reply to DOCUP)
Post #: 2
RE: IJA/N infantry squads - 5/17/2018 5:49:55 AM   
Dili

I think bolt action rifles have marginal differences, things change only with Garand w/semi auto.

In my Med mod a squad is a sum of all men base on combat weapon values of my own making:

Bolt action rifle has 1.6 value per man - up to 9 men 0.9 for any other subsequent.
Garand 2.2 per men up to 9 men - 0.9 for any other
SMG 2.8 per men up to 3 men - 1.0 for any other with this weapon. This represents the shock value, but the quantity hit implies that a squad with only this weapon is penalized - this simulates the lack of combat range in a SMG only based squad.