Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Spain enters the war despite Allied troops in France?

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Strategic Command Series >> Strategic Command WWII War in Europe >> Spain enters the war despite Allied troops in France? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Spain enters the war despite Allied troops in France? - 1/9/2018 12:05:55 PM   
Leadwieght

 

Posts: 327
Joined: 2/23/2017
Status: offline
Playing PBEM as Axis vs. Harrybanana. Doing badly in August 1942 (stupidly tried Sealion when I shouldn't have).
The British and Americans landed in Normandy, but I had hopes of chasing them out.
So I DOWed Vichy Algeria and took Algiers via amphib.
According to the printed Manual, DE603 (Enticing Franco) should NOT have fired yet, because there were definitely Allied troops in France.
BUT, at the end of the turn after the one in which I took Algiers, I was offered the chance to invite Franco to join.
Of course I said yes, but I feel I may have benefited unfairly from a bug.
Is this WAD, or have the conditions for the DE been changed and the Manual is out of date?
If they have been changed, I think the ones in the Manual are more historically accurate. Franco was a wily survivor with his eye on the main chance.
If the Allies had landed in France and looked to have a credible chance to beat the Germans, Franco would not have joined the Axis, IMO.

Anyone else seen this?
Post #: 1
RE: Spain enters the war despite Allied troops in France? - 1/9/2018 4:31:27 PM   
BillRunacre

 

Posts: 2297
Joined: 7/22/2013
Status: offline
Hi Leadwieght

I'm afraid that it can happen because of a misunderstanding on my part of how something worked.

The Manual is the intention, but it's not possible without a lot of work to implement it, so what's happened could be said to be working as scripted, if not as fully desired.

Obviously this helps you, although it'll be a while before you'll be able to benefit fully from the cost of enticing Franco to enter the war, so hopefully your Allied opponent is a cunning fox who will be able to give you a good run for your money!

Bill

_____________________________

Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/FurySoftware

We're also on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/FurySoftware/

(in reply to Leadwieght)
Post #: 2
RE: Spain enters the war despite Allied troops in France? - 1/9/2018 4:36:44 PM   
Taxman66


Posts: 1096
Joined: 3/19/2008
From: Columbia, MD. USA
Status: online
All the more reason for the Wallies to take out Vichy Algeria themselves.

_____________________________

"Part of the $10 million I spent on gambling, part on booze and part on women. The rest I spent foolishly." - George Raft

(in reply to BillRunacre)
Post #: 3
RE: Spain enters the war despite Allied troops in France? - 1/9/2018 5:30:03 PM   
crispy131313


Posts: 1137
Joined: 11/30/2013
Status: offline
If I could make a suggestion I would add this line to DE 603.

; Set variable conditions:
; USA politically aligned with Allies (not fully active)and not surrendered
#VARIABLE_CONDITION= 115 [2] [1] [0]

Franco certainly wouldn't have joined the Axis once USA declared war on Germany IMO, that ship had already sailed by that point and it would remove the possibility of this later in the game as well when it would make even less sense.

_____________________________


(in reply to Taxman66)
Post #: 4
RE: Spain enters the war despite Allied troops in France? - 1/9/2018 6:10:17 PM   
Harrybanana

 

Posts: 1753
Joined: 11/27/2004
Status: offline
I did not even know that this DE was not supposed to trigger if there were Allied units in France. In our game I don't think this will be a game changer so I have no problem continuing the game with Spain as Axis. Just adds to the challenge.

(in reply to crispy131313)
Post #: 5
RE: Spain enters the war despite Allied troops in France? - 1/9/2018 6:16:24 PM   
Harrybanana

 

Posts: 1753
Joined: 11/27/2004
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: crispy131313

If I could make a suggestion I would add this line to DE 603.

; Set variable conditions:
; USA politically aligned with Allies (not fully active)and not surrendered
#VARIABLE_CONDITION= 115 [2] [1] [0]

Franco certainly wouldn't have joined the Axis once USA declared war on Germany IMO, that ship had already sailed by that point and it would remove the possibility of this later in the game as well when it would make even less sense.



You are probably historically right, but as I am playing an AAR now with KZ where Spain joined after US War entry I'm glad this isn't the Rule yet.

My concern is that if this Rule is implemented it will make it even more advantageous for the Allied Player to engage in Uber-Diplomacy on the US. Once the Allied Player starts putting diplomacy chits into the US the Axis has to counter. This makes it unlikely that the Axis will be able to get Spain onto its side prior to US War Entry. For myself anything that discourages Uber-Diplomacy is a good thing and anything that encourages it is bad thing.

< Message edited by Harrybanana -- 1/9/2018 6:17:11 PM >

(in reply to crispy131313)
Post #: 6
RE: Spain enters the war despite Allied troops in France? - 1/9/2018 6:59:46 PM   
crispy131313


Posts: 1137
Joined: 11/30/2013
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Harrybanana

quote:

ORIGINAL: crispy131313

If I could make a suggestion I would add this line to DE 603.

; Set variable conditions:
; USA politically aligned with Allies (not fully active)and not surrendered
#VARIABLE_CONDITION= 115 [2] [1] [0]

Franco certainly wouldn't have joined the Axis once USA declared war on Germany IMO, that ship had already sailed by that point and it would remove the possibility of this later in the game as well when it would make even less sense.



You are probably historically right, but as I am playing an AAR now with KZ where Spain joined after US War entry I'm glad this isn't the Rule yet.

My concern is that if this Rule is implemented it will make it even more advantageous for the Allied Player to engage in Uber-Diplomacy on the US. Once the Allied Player starts putting diplomacy chits into the US the Axis has to counter. This makes it unlikely that the Axis will be able to get Spain onto its side prior to US War Entry. For myself anything that discourages Uber-Diplomacy is a good thing and anything that encourages it is bad thing.


Interesting take on this and I would possibly agree.

With regard to the US Uber-Diplomacy strategy I remember when I had released Fall Weiss II for SC2 I had provided events that essentially shielded against this strategy. The first was a isolationist event in October 1940 (Roosevelt promised not to send American boys into any foreign wars) that reset American mobilization back to 0, and would follow Roosevelt being re-elected. Then next event to end December 1940 Roosevelt's proclamation that the United States must be the "Arsenal of Democracy" would then trigger shortly after Lend Lease to the UK and an increase in US mobilization (and the beginning of the US's realization that they would be part of this war eventually).

What would happen is any unhistorical gains would be wiped in the later parts of 1940 (though US would have benefited from additional MPP to that point) and then mobilization restored to something of a more historical level on pace with war entry to end 1941.

I'm not sure if that would fit in this game or not, but I like to discuss such variants anyways.

< Message edited by crispy131313 -- 1/9/2018 7:06:15 PM >


_____________________________


(in reply to Harrybanana)
Post #: 7
RE: Spain enters the war despite Allied troops in France? - 1/9/2018 8:17:39 PM   
Taxman66


Posts: 1096
Joined: 3/19/2008
From: Columbia, MD. USA
Status: online
Just add an additional date condition if you want.
I could see Spain joining the Germans even if the US was in the war, if Germany has emasculated the UK, and still on the offensive in the USSR.


_____________________________

"Part of the $10 million I spent on gambling, part on booze and part on women. The rest I spent foolishly." - George Raft

(in reply to crispy131313)
Post #: 8
RE: Spain enters the war despite Allied troops in France? - 1/10/2018 4:17:13 AM   
Leadwieght

 

Posts: 327
Joined: 2/23/2017
Status: offline
Rather than a date condition, which seems arbitrary to me, maybe the condition could be "no Allied units within two/three hexes of Paris."

That would cover most eventualities and would not be likely to provoke any gamey moves by an Allied player.

(in reply to Taxman66)
Post #: 9
RE: Spain enters the war despite Allied troops in France? - 1/10/2018 12:22:08 PM   
OxfordGuy3


Posts: 721
Joined: 7/1/2012
From: Oxford, United Kingdom
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Leadwieght

Rather than a date condition, which seems arbitrary to me, maybe the condition could be "no Allied units within two/three hexes of Paris."

That would cover most eventualities and would not be likely to provoke any gamey moves by an Allied player.


Sounds quite sensible

(in reply to Leadwieght)
Post #: 10
RE: Spain enters the war despite Allied troops in France? - 1/13/2018 2:23:29 PM   
Leadwieght

 

Posts: 327
Joined: 2/23/2017
Status: offline
Thanks, OG. Enjoying our game by the way! You may take Cairo, but I will never yield Moscow!

Just to be clear, I think the "preventative conditions" for the DE 603 should be as they are now with respect to North Africa (i.e. Axis holds Algiers and Casablanca and no Allied units within 5 hexes of Oran or Casablanca) I'm just proposing that the "no Allied troops within France" be re-written as "No Allied troops within two (or possibly three) hexes of Paris."

Question for Bill: Does the presence of Allied naval units count as "units within fives hexes of Oran or Casablanca" or is it strictly land units? I hope it's the latter.


(in reply to OxfordGuy3)
Post #: 11
RE: Spain enters the war despite Allied troops in France? - 1/14/2018 1:44:45 PM   
OxfordGuy3


Posts: 721
Joined: 7/1/2012
From: Oxford, United Kingdom
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Leadwieght

Thanks, OG. Enjoying our game by the way! You may take Cairo, but I will never yield Moscow!



I'm enjoying our game too and am learning a lot, sorry I'm very slow... Don't think there is much danger of Moscow falling to me, Cairo and Alexandria perhaps...

quote:


Just to be clear, I think the "preventative conditions" for the DE 603 should be as they are now with respect to North Africa (i.e. Axis holds Algiers and Casablanca and no Allied units within 5 hexes of Oran or Casablanca) I'm just proposing that the "no Allied troops within France" be re-written as "No Allied troops within two (or possibly three) hexes of Paris."



Sounds sensible


quote:


Question for Bill: Does the presence of Allied naval units count as "units within fives hexes of Oran or Casablanca" or is it strictly land units? I hope it's the latter.


I hope so too, would be a bit gamey otherwise...

(in reply to Leadwieght)
Post #: 12
RE: Spain enters the war despite Allied troops in France? - 1/15/2018 2:12:08 PM   
BillRunacre

 

Posts: 2297
Joined: 7/22/2013
Status: offline
Only land units count there.

_____________________________

Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/FurySoftware

We're also on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/FurySoftware/

(in reply to OxfordGuy3)
Post #: 13
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Strategic Command Series >> Strategic Command WWII War in Europe >> Spain enters the war despite Allied troops in France? Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.156