Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Minor Qs: Factory abbreviations; strategic bombing twice?

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Minor Qs: Factory abbreviations; strategic bombing twice? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Minor Qs: Factory abbreviations; strategic bombing twice? - 1/8/2018 10:57:55 PM   
Grotius


Posts: 5650
Joined: 10/18/2002
From: The Imperial Palace.
Status: offline
Hi all. Two minor questions:

1. On the yellow/ochre info box on the Main Form (the one for ports, resources, factories), when I mouseover a hex with three working factories, the Form says "Fact: 3". By contrast, a hex with a dormant factory says "Fact: 1(1C)." After I strategically bombed Lille, it reads "Fact: 3(2C,1L). I gather this means two (blue) factories are idle, and one (red-factory) production point is Lost this turn? I'm curious what the C and L stand for, exactly. Can't find it in the manual. I know it's a minor thing, but it's bugging me! Are there other abbreviations for factories in hexes?

2. Also, does the game do anything to prevent me from accidentally strategically-bombing Lille twice in the same turn? I know the Production planning form (CTL P) now lists Lille as having lost a Production point, and there's that little "L" in the Main Form. Maybe that's enough, but I did notice a player accidentally bomb the same hex twice in the same turn in an AAR last year. Is that still possible?

_____________________________

Post #: 1
RE: Minor Qs: Factory abbreviations; strategic bombing ... - 1/9/2018 5:41:46 PM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 21478
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline
If a blue factory is captured (controlled by the other side) then a C is shown.

If a red factory is controlled by the other side and not yet repaired, a D is shown.

If a factory has been strategically bombed and lost a production point, an L is shown.

Fact: 3(2D, 1L) could be Lille, controlled by the Germans, red factory repaired, 1 production point lost due to strategic bombing.

The program shouldn't (I haven't checked this) cause a second production point to be lost unless there are 2 factories in the hex capable of functioning. In the case of a German controlled Lille, that isn't possible.

You might be permitted to fly a strategic bombing mission to a hex that has lost a production point because you might still cause a factory to be damaged - which is different that simply losing a production point for 1 turn.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to Grotius)
Post #: 2
RE: Minor Qs: Factory abbreviations; strategic bombing ... - 1/9/2018 10:33:31 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7776
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets
If a red factory is controlled by the other side and not yet repaired, a D is shown.

If a factory has been strategically bombed and lost a production point, an L is shown.

Fact: 3(2D, 1L) could be Lille, controlled by the Germans, red factory repaired, 1 production point lost due to strategic bombing.

I don't follow. If there's one red factory, what does the '2D' mean? Could it be a D for any damaged factory? 2 blue damaged, one red was functioning but was strat bombed?

< Message edited by paulderynck -- 1/9/2018 10:36:45 PM >


_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 3
RE: Minor Qs: Factory abbreviations; strategic bombing ... - 1/10/2018 1:24:15 PM   
Centuur


Posts: 8220
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: offline
In Lille there are 2 blue and 1 red factory. It looks like the blue factories have been destroyed (D) by the occupying German forces and the red factory was bombed and the build point was lost (L)...

_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 4
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Minor Qs: Factory abbreviations; strategic bombing twice? Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.109