Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Artillery Issues

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Flashpoint Campaigns Series >> Artillery Issues Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Artillery Issues - 4/14/2017 7:12:22 PM   
MikeJ19

Happy Easter,

In 1988, I was a young officer in an Artillery Battery in command of the gun line – 6 M109s. Later, I commanded a M109 Gun Battery and taught at the Canadian Artillery School. In the late 1990s, I worked on the NATO Fire Support doctrine manual. There are differences between how US and Cdn/British Batteries operate, but within the game these differences are fairly minor. Overall, I'm impressed with how the artillery is handled. However, I do have some observations and suggestions to improve the Artillery:

1. Movement – The delay for moving guns does not make sense to me. I expected my battery to continue responding to calls for fire (targets) until we had to move. Recce elements would leave right away to prepare the new location, but the guns would keep on shooting until the last moment. Upon arriving at a new location, it should take the guns about 5 to 10 minutes to be ready to engage targets. The quick moves to an alternate position are well done in the game.

2. Resupply – The time it takes to resupply is too long. My M548s would depart to a central ammo depot to get more ammo and then return to pass the ammo to the guns. It is very rare that the guns ever ran out of ammo. My guns would continue to fire, even as ammo is being transferred from the M548 to the M109s. In towed gun batteries, the process is even quicker, but it would take longer for the guns to come out of action and be ready to move.