Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

De 307 - fires even if an Axis Corps is in Reykjavik

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Strategic Command WWII War in Europe >> Tech Support >> De 307 - fires even if an Axis Corps is in Reykjavik Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
De 307 - fires even if an Axis Corps is in Reykjavik - 1/6/2017 12:07:13 PM   
OxfordGuy3


Posts: 682
Score: 0
Joined: 7/1/2012
From: Oxford, United Kingdom
Status: online
De 307 –USA: send a us marine brigade to garrison iceland - it seems odd to me that this event will fire, even if the Axis have a Corps in Reykjavik - the corps gets booted out and and placed in Norway (I think), as do any naval units in port. If the Axis have actually occupied Reykjavik in strength, shouldn't the allies have to force them out my landing a force stronger than a brigade? There is still the negative opinion penalty for the Axis doing this.
Post #: 1
RE: De 307 - fires even if an Axis Corps is in Reykjavik - 1/6/2017 7:29:16 PM   
Bill Runacre

 

Posts: 1892
Score: 2
Joined: 7/22/2013
Status: offline
Hi

Please can you send me a save turn from when this happened if you have one?

Reason being that the Decision includes a check for Reykjavik being in Allied hands, which obviously couldn't be the case if the Axis had a unit in the town. I've checked and the coordinates used are correct, so I'm a bit confused by this.

My email is bill.runacre@furysoftware.com

Thanks

Bill

_____________________________

Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/FurySoftware

We're also on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/FurySoftware/

(in reply to OxfordGuy3)
Post #: 2
RE: De 307 - fires even if an Axis Corps is in Reykjavik - 1/6/2017 7:53:24 PM   
OxfordGuy3


Posts: 682
Score: 0
Joined: 7/1/2012
From: Oxford, United Kingdom
Status: online
Yes, how do I send it to you - In fact just had something very weird happen in my current game, I had a U-boat in Reykjavik port, which had just upgraded, but in this game I had never sent any axis land forces there, on the turn of the allied invasion of Reykjavik (by event) the sub got moved one hex north (i.e. onto land it looks like) and can no longer move *and* I got the penalty to USA mobilisation for having invaded Iceland when I hadn't!

(in reply to Bill Runacre)
Post #: 3
RE: De 307 - fires even if an Axis Corps is in Reykjavik - 1/6/2017 8:35:15 PM   
Bill Runacre

 

Posts: 1892
Score: 2
Joined: 7/22/2013
Status: offline
You should be able to find it in here:

C:\Users\Bill\Documents\My Games\Strategic Command WWII - War In Europe\Save

With the "Bill" being no doubt something different on your system!

If you are able to zip it and attach it to the email that would be great.

The script itself will transfer the port to Allied control. Currently it doesn't check for the port being in Allied hands so I will change that.

Thanks

Bill

_____________________________

Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/FurySoftware

We're also on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/FurySoftware/

(in reply to OxfordGuy3)
Post #: 4
RE: De 307 - fires even if an Axis Corps is in Reykjavik - 1/6/2017 9:57:35 PM   
OxfordGuy3


Posts: 682
Score: 0
Joined: 7/1/2012
From: Oxford, United Kingdom
Status: online
Okay, I'll send my save file in the morning. What is meant to happen if I have a U-Boat in Reykjavik port when the event fires? Does it get captured/destroyed or can it escape somewhere? Also I assume as long as you don't have axis land units in Iceland, the mobilisation penalty for the USA shouldn't happen?

Also I assume that if I *do* already have a land unit (even a Garrison?) in Reykjavik, then the event should not fire (just the Mobilisation impact on the USA)?

< Message edited by oxford_guy -- 1/7/2017 7:02:37 AM >

(in reply to Bill Runacre)
Post #: 5
RE: De 307 - fires even if an Axis Corps is in Reykjavik - 1/8/2017 1:07:49 PM   
Bill Runacre

 

Posts: 1892
Score: 2
Joined: 7/22/2013
Status: offline
I'll make a change for the patch so that the event won't fire if there is an Axis sub in the port, as currently it checks for the town being in Allied hands.

Ordinarily that should suffice, as if the town is in Allied hands then the port would be too, but by making this change it should prevent any issues.

< Message edited by Bill Runacre -- 1/8/2017 1:08:09 PM >


_____________________________

Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/FurySoftware

We're also on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/FurySoftware/

(in reply to OxfordGuy3)
Post #: 6
RE: De 307 - fires even if an Axis Corps is in Reykjavik - 1/9/2017 12:28:12 PM   
OxfordGuy3


Posts: 682
Score: 0
Joined: 7/1/2012
From: Oxford, United Kingdom
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: Bill Runacre

I'll make a change for the patch so that the event won't fire if there is an Axis sub in the port, as currently it checks for the town being in Allied hands.

Ordinarily that should suffice, as if the town is in Allied hands then the port would be too, but by making this change it should prevent any issues.


But wouldn't that mean the event would never fire if the axis rotated a sub in and out of the port constantly (not that this would actually be a good idea...)?

(in reply to Bill Runacre)
Post #: 7
RE: De 307 - fires even if an Axis Corps is in Reykjavik - 1/9/2017 4:04:08 PM   
Bill Runacre

 

Posts: 1892
Score: 2
Joined: 7/22/2013
Status: offline
Looking at it further, I think this probably stems back to DE 126 which is the original decision for the Allies to occupy Reykjavik. It only fires if the port or town are empty of Axis units, not both as the checks are not cumulative.

So I am guessing that there was an Axis naval unit in the port when the Allies occupied Iceland, and this was then moved?

DE 307 is different as it just deploys a US unit in Reykjavik so I suspect it was DE 126 that caused the issue with your sub being moved.

I'll have to think further about this.

_____________________________

Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/FurySoftware

We're also on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/FurySoftware/

(in reply to OxfordGuy3)
Post #: 8
RE: De 307 - fires even if an Axis Corps is in Reykjavik - 1/9/2017 5:05:48 PM   
OxfordGuy3


Posts: 682
Score: 0
Joined: 7/1/2012
From: Oxford, United Kingdom
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: Bill Runacre

Looking at it further, I think this probably stems back to DE 126 which is the original decision for the Allies to occupy Reykjavik. It only fires if the port or town are empty of Axis units, not both as the checks are not cumulative.

So I am guessing that there was an Axis naval unit in the port when the Allies occupied Iceland, and this was then moved?

DE 307 is different as it just deploys a US unit in Reykjavik so I suspect it was DE 126 that caused the issue with your sub being moved.

I'll have to think further about this.


Yes, I had an axis sub in the port, but no land units in the city, when the event fired my sub was moved north (where it can't move, but can be attacked by British ships) and I got the message about the US mobilisation penalty (which shouldn't have applied)

In another game I had an axis land unit in the city, I received the US mobilsation penalty when I first landed it, as expected, but then still got booted out of Iceland due to the occupation event (though back to Norway, I think), which seemed unrealistic, seeing as I had landed a corps, which would defeat a brigade...

(in reply to Bill Runacre)
Post #: 9
RE: De 307 - fires even if an Axis Corps is in Reykjavik - 1/10/2017 3:12:49 PM   
Bill Runacre

 

Posts: 1892
Score: 2
Joined: 7/22/2013
Status: offline
Thanks, I will make a change to the hex that your sub got stuck in, so that it won't get stuck in future.

_____________________________

Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/FurySoftware

We're also on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/FurySoftware/

(in reply to OxfordGuy3)
Post #: 10
RE: De 307 - fires even if an Axis Corps is in Reykjavik - 1/11/2017 4:44:46 PM   
OxfordGuy3


Posts: 682
Score: 0
Joined: 7/1/2012
From: Oxford, United Kingdom
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: Bill Runacre

Thanks, I will make a change to the hex that your sub got stuck in, so that it won't get stuck in future.


Okay, thanks

(in reply to Bill Runacre)
Post #: 11
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Strategic Command WWII War in Europe >> Tech Support >> De 307 - fires even if an Axis Corps is in Reykjavik Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.105