Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

How to invade Malta?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Strategic Command Series >> Strategic Command WWII War in Europe >> How to invade Malta? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
How to invade Malta? - 12/11/2016 4:34:28 AM   
RickInVA

OK, I must be missing something here. I have Malta surrounded, zero supply in the ports. There is a British Anti-Air unit on the island. I have an Amphb embarked unit. How do I invade? I can't seem to find a way to attack the unit in Malta.
Post #: 1
RE: How to invade Malta? - 12/11/2016 5:11:02 AM   
Yogol

You have to kill the anti-air unit with bombers.

The way to do this, is...
- after taking France, move all the German start-bombers to southern Italy
- bomb the anti-air unit every turn (repair in the turns when it rins)
- also attack it with the Italian battleships (the other ships don't seem to do damage)
- always move an Italian ship to the hex between the two port
- also move an amphibious unit next to it and attack with that too
- when the anti-air is at 0, unload the amphibious unit on it

It will take 2-3-4 turns. The unit won't take alot of damage until the supply is at 0. Then the unit will go down bit by bit.

That is also why you need to keep the ship on the hex near the two ports: that prevents the unit from re-supplying through the ports.
You don't have to bomb the ports to 0, just make sure there is a unit next to both ports at the end of each of your turn.

You have to decide yourself if this is all worth it.
Taking Malta will cost quite some MPPs (especially if it took a while to take France and you have to operate the bombers to Italy and then operate them to Russia).