quote: QUOTE from earnieschwitz
The advent of the rule that made it possible for neutral nations to move forces into other neutral forces sea hexes, is my doing. I played a game once, when the rule did not exist, and made a screen of subs, that prevented the other player from attacking my coastline. Vic considered this an exploit. I still think it was good gaming :) If not a bit unrealistic though.
Vic considered earnieschwitz play a exploit I strongly disagree (If a major power wished to restrict the movement of another major power then placing warships or subs in there path in a effort to control bodies of ocean should be acceptable, it is also highly provocative and could provoke a war) as I understand it if the Soviets and Germans are allies the Germans can move there army onto the Soviet army then declare war and obliterate them without a fight, the use of such rule has to be agreed it has not been so replay the turn or concede defeat.
And the reason your subs did not survive is because Larry's fleet finished them off by using combat you remember combat don't you, its a valid means of resolving combat in a wargame, something you seem to have lost sight off this is a wargame not a sleazy lawyers convention.
I checked through the manual there is no Ambush rule in the manual (probably because it has just been made up) can't really allow a rule that does not exist.
The term Ambush is mentioned 4 times all of them exclusively to do with units moving into units that are hidden due to the FOW, a combat occurs when these units attempt to enter the hex, I like these Ambush rules they make sense they seem to belong in the real world, your ambush rule seems more in the realms of David Copperfield making BB IV and Carrier III just disappear into thin air.
< Message edited by ironduke1955 -- 8/12/2017 10:08:20 AM >