Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Aquestion about Fortifacations

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> Aquestion about Fortifacations Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/24/2016 3:37:09 AM   
BillBrown


Posts: 1721
Joined: 6/15/2002
Status: online
I know that defending with fortifications benefits the defender.
Do they also benefit an attacker? I have units in a base hex I
own and my opponent has troops there. If I attack with level 6
fortifications will my losses be lower than if I only had level 3
fortifications?
Post #: 1
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/24/2016 3:51:45 AM   
btd64


Posts: 5679
Joined: 1/23/2010
From: Mass. USA. now in OHIO
Status: offline
You own the location, so no, the enemy would get no benefit. Your forts would not help you....GP

< Message edited by General Patton -- 9/24/2016 3:54:15 AM >


_____________________________

Intel i7 3.4GHz,8GB Ram,1920x1080 rez

AKA General Patton

WPO,WITP,WITPAE-Mod Designer/Tester
DW Series-Beta Tester
TOAW4-Alpha/Beta Tester

I don't like paying for the same real estate twice..Gen. George S. Patton

(in reply to BillBrown)
Post #: 2
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/24/2016 8:18:00 AM   
BBfanboy


Posts: 12319
Joined: 8/4/2010
From: Winnipeg, MB
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: General Patton

You own the location, so no, the enemy would get no benefit. Your forts would not help you....GP

But the enemy can build "field forts" up to level 4 if he has been there long enough and has enough engineers. But his biggest asset is usually the terrain when you attack.

The enemy does get the benefit of base size when malarial effects are applied. I guess the developers assumed they would be within your mosquito eradication efforts.

_____________________________

No matter how bad a situation is, you can always make it worse. - Chris Hadfield : An Astronaut's Guide To Life On Earth

(in reply to btd64)
Post #: 3
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/24/2016 1:01:33 PM   
geofflambert


Posts: 13158
Joined: 12/23/2010
From: St. Louis
Status: offline
I think you're misunderstanding. I believe he's asking if he owns the hex and is fortified there, if he benefits when he attacks an interloper.

(in reply to BBfanboy)
Post #: 4
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/24/2016 1:18:51 PM   
btd64


Posts: 5679
Joined: 1/23/2010
From: Mass. USA. now in OHIO
Status: offline
I've never seen a fort modifier for the attacker when attacking an enemy in its own hex. You have to figure that the troops left there forts to attack....GP

_____________________________

Intel i7 3.4GHz,8GB Ram,1920x1080 rez

AKA General Patton

WPO,WITP,WITPAE-Mod Designer/Tester
DW Series-Beta Tester
TOAW4-Alpha/Beta Tester

I don't like paying for the same real estate twice..Gen. George S. Patton

(in reply to geofflambert)
Post #: 5
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/24/2016 3:29:58 PM   
BBfanboy


Posts: 12319
Joined: 8/4/2010
From: Winnipeg, MB
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: geofflambert

I think you're misunderstanding. I believe he's asking if he owns the hex and is fortified there, if he benefits when he attacks an interloper.

No, I understand the second sentence question which Gen. Patton has answered adequately. The first sentence of the OP sounds like it is querying the benefits to both sides (the attacker), so I wanted to add some other forts facts that newcomers may not know about.

The notion that the enemy gets a benefit from being in a built-up hex could have stemmed from the malaria reduction effect but gotten crossed up with forts. (Such crossing of the game's processes happens all the time).

And since the OP starts out by asking if forts "benefit an attacker" and only in a new sentence specifies benefit to the hex owner I mentioned field forts in case readers were also wondering about whether the enemy has any fort benefits at all.

Just trying to be thorough.

_____________________________

No matter how bad a situation is, you can always make it worse. - Chris Hadfield : An Astronaut's Guide To Life On Earth

(in reply to geofflambert)
Post #: 6
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/24/2016 4:38:29 PM   
BillBrown


Posts: 1721
Joined: 6/15/2002
Status: online
The Gorn understands the question. I did not ask if I got any combat bonus, I asked if my losses would be
lower if I had level 6 forts rather than level 3 forts. Since no one seems to know, I will withdraw the question.

< Message edited by BillBrown -- 9/24/2016 4:39:44 PM >

(in reply to BBfanboy)
Post #: 7
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/24/2016 5:01:24 PM   
geofflambert


Posts: 13158
Joined: 12/23/2010
From: St. Louis
Status: offline
Well, I would think there would be a lower chance of being reversed and losing the hex, as sometimes but rarely happens.

(in reply to BillBrown)
Post #: 8
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/24/2016 5:09:47 PM   
btd64


Posts: 5679
Joined: 1/23/2010
From: Mass. USA. now in OHIO
Status: offline
Bill, On the defensive yes, On the offensive no. In terms of reducing losses. Thats with any fort size. The level of forts lets you last longer against your enemy. Sorry but my eyes sometimes reverse what I read. It sucks....GP

< Message edited by General Patton -- 9/24/2016 5:12:46 PM >


_____________________________

Intel i7 3.4GHz,8GB Ram,1920x1080 rez

AKA General Patton

WPO,WITP,WITPAE-Mod Designer/Tester
DW Series-Beta Tester
TOAW4-Alpha/Beta Tester

I don't like paying for the same real estate twice..Gen. George S. Patton

(in reply to geofflambert)
Post #: 9
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/24/2016 10:17:23 PM   
BBfanboy


Posts: 12319
Joined: 8/4/2010
From: Winnipeg, MB
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: BillBrown

The Gorn understands the question. I did not ask if I got any combat bonus, I asked if my losses would be
lower if I had level 6 forts rather than level 3 forts. Since no one seems to know, I will withdraw the question.

Unequivocally, my experience is that you leave the forts to attack, so your fort level does not affect the combat calculations. If it did you would get a Forts + in the combat report.

That said, the Japanese always attack first in a given hex, so if both sides program an attack in a Japanese hex with forts and the Japanese attack does not retreat the Allies, I am not sure if the Japanese get to retreat back behind their forts before the Allied attack.

_____________________________

No matter how bad a situation is, you can always make it worse. - Chris Hadfield : An Astronaut's Guide To Life On Earth

(in reply to BillBrown)
Post #: 10
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/24/2016 10:37:08 PM   
Bullwinkle58


Posts: 11298
Joined: 2/24/2009
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: BBfanboy


But the enemy can build "field forts" up to level 4 if he has been there long enough and has enough engineers. But his biggest asset is usually the terrain when you attack.


Tangential to the OP's question, but field forts can go above 4. Right now in one location I have an experienced ID with field forts of 7.

_____________________________

The Moose

(in reply to BBfanboy)
Post #: 11
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/24/2016 10:39:06 PM   
BBfanboy


Posts: 12319
Joined: 8/4/2010
From: Winnipeg, MB
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Bullwinkle58


quote:

ORIGINAL: BBfanboy


But the enemy can build "field forts" up to level 4 if he has been there long enough and has enough engineers. But his biggest asset is usually the terrain when you attack.


Tangential to the OP's question, but field forts can go above 4. Right now in one location I have an experienced ID with field forts of 7.

Haven't seen that myself Bullwinkle, so thanks for updating the info!

_____________________________

No matter how bad a situation is, you can always make it worse. - Chris Hadfield : An Astronaut's Guide To Life On Earth

(in reply to Bullwinkle58)
Post #: 12
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/24/2016 10:40:33 PM   
Bullwinkle58


Posts: 11298
Joined: 2/24/2009
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: BBfanboy


quote:

ORIGINAL: Bullwinkle58


quote:

ORIGINAL: BBfanboy


But the enemy can build "field forts" up to level 4 if he has been there long enough and has enough engineers. But his biggest asset is usually the terrain when you attack.


Tangential to the OP's question, but field forts can go above 4. Right now in one location I have an experienced ID with field forts of 7.

Haven't seen that myself Bullwinkle, so thanks for updating the info!


Just checked. An ID is at 5. A battalion nearby is at 7. It's rare, and they have to squat awhile, but it can happen.

_____________________________

The Moose

(in reply to BBfanboy)
Post #: 13
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/25/2016 12:20:34 AM   
GetAssista

 

Posts: 1751
Joined: 9/19/2009
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Bullwinkle58
Just checked. An ID is at 5. A battalion nearby is at 7. It's rare, and they have to squat awhile, but it can happen.

One of Chinese HQs in the woods near Ichang starts the game with field forts 9. Must've lived there since Ice Age

(in reply to Bullwinkle58)
Post #: 14
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/25/2016 1:33:14 AM   
geofflambert


Posts: 13158
Joined: 12/23/2010
From: St. Louis
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Bullwinkle58



Just checked. An ID is at 5. A battalion nearby is at 7. It's rare, and they have to squat awhile, but it can happen.


Wait a minute, are we talking about fortifications or latrines?

(in reply to Bullwinkle58)
Post #: 15
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/25/2016 1:35:53 AM   
geofflambert


Posts: 13158
Joined: 12/23/2010
From: St. Louis
Status: offline
If you have a level 7 latrine, does that come with toilet paper or do you have to supply your own leaves?

(in reply to geofflambert)
Post #: 16
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/25/2016 1:40:39 AM   
geofflambert


Posts: 13158
Joined: 12/23/2010
From: St. Louis
Status: offline
Are leaves and TP devices, and how many PPs for each?

(in reply to geofflambert)
Post #: 17
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/25/2016 7:28:20 PM   
BBfanboy


Posts: 12319
Joined: 8/4/2010
From: Winnipeg, MB
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: geofflambert

Are leaves and TP devices, and how many PPs for each?

Just supply. But you need to have 10K supply to upgrade from leaves to TP and another 10K for each ply of the TP. The upgrade to two-ply isn't available until May 1942, three-ply in August 1943. I have never bothered with the upgrade to four-ply - most of that goes to the ETO anyway.

Latrine upgrades can be worthwhile. At level six you get screening against flies - good for reducing casualties due to disease. But you need at least level 8 to get air fresheners, and those are only the trucker pine scented ones.

At level 10 you get the "washroom attendant" to meter out a few squares of TP but they also clean up the water drips around the sinks.

_____________________________

No matter how bad a situation is, you can always make it worse. - Chris Hadfield : An Astronaut's Guide To Life On Earth

(in reply to geofflambert)
Post #: 18
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/26/2016 12:20:10 AM   
geofflambert


Posts: 13158
Joined: 12/23/2010
From: St. Louis
Status: offline
Roseanne Roseannadanna: Are you talking about these? I'm surprised Matrix allows a thread with questions about fornications. Something has to be done about this.

Bill Olson: Settle down Roseanne, the questions are about fortifications.

Roseanne: Oh, well, never mind.





Attachment (1)

(in reply to BBfanboy)
Post #: 19
RE: Aquestion about Fortifacations - 9/26/2016 12:45:32 AM   
Zorch

 

Posts: 5322
Joined: 3/7/2010
Status: offline
In the US Civil War, a soldier groaned about having dug so many fortifications that they should be called 'fiftyfications'.

(in reply to geofflambert)
Post #: 20
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> Aquestion about Fortifacations Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.141