Just started playing again.
During the starter scenario, playing as the Union, the 5th Wisconsin Hancock's Brigade) went Out of Command even though it was within Hancock's command radius. I moved the 5th Wisconsin within 2 hexes of Hancock, but it was still marked OOC. What am I missing? I thought for a unit to be "in command" all they needed to do was be in the command range of their Brigade Commander.
As per Section 6.10 of the Manual:
"Units and groups that are out-of-command can be recognized by the “(OOC)”
after their name in the Unit Roster display. This problem of OOC units is easily
anticipated: you can click on the Command Radius Toggle – the small, circular
button just above a commander’s portrait – in order to see all the hexes that are
within the commander’s command radius marked on the map with a red outline,
revealing where the commander’s subordinate commanders (or brigades, for a
brigadier commander) should move in order to remain in command."
So, be sure to double check the Unit Roster display before continuing.
However, I can find nothing under Rule 9.3 - Zone of Control - that confirms (one way or the other) the effect of an enemy ZOC on one's own commander's command radius. Perhaps, Gil (or other) will provide a heretofore unwritten game manual clarification?
Argue for your limitations, and sure enough they're yours --R. Bach