O/T Drones hunting subs

This new stand alone release based on the legendary War in the Pacific from 2 by 3 Games adds significant improvements and changes to enhance game play, improve realism, and increase historical accuracy. With dozens of new features, new art, and engine improvements, War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition brings you the most realistic and immersive WWII Pacific Theater wargame ever!

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

Encircled

O/T Drones hunting subs

Post by Encircled »

I have no military experience apart from a spell in the cadets in my youth (put me off for life!)

Just how feasible is likely to be that the SSBNs of the world could be hunted down and destroyed/tracked by underwater drones?
BBfanboy

RE: O/T Drones hunting subs

Post by BBfanboy »

Some SSBNs already carry their own decoy drones. I imagine it will not be long before they carry their own anti-drone drones.
No matter how bad a situation is, you can always make it worse. - Chris Hadfield : An Astronaut's Guide To Life On Earth
Bullwinkle58

Post by Bullwinkle58 »

ORIGINAL: Encircled

I have no military experience apart from a spell in the cadets in my youth (put me off for life!)

Just how feasible is likely to be that the SSBNs of the world could be hunted down and destroyed/tracked by underwater drones?

Consider the "use it or lose it" concept and re-ask the question.

It's a big ocean. Boomers move every day and patrol areas vary month to month. A drone sophisticated enough to search with passive sensors is a big, expensive drone. And you're going to need a whole lot of them.

And, considering my first line, do you really want to put the fate of your nation in the hands of a machine with no crew?

So fess up--you reading Popular Mechanics again? [:)]
The Moose
Encircled

Post by Encircled »

Ha! No, over here its suddenly surfaced as a reason not to renew Trident and I thought this community might know a bit more about it than me!
Bullwinkle58