Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> WIF School >> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions Page: <<   < prev  2 3 [4] 5 6   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/4/2014 5:12:19 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7670
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Both Nimitz and MacArthur in the default setup for the Guadalcanal scenario start at Pearl Harbor. I'm now at the start of turn 2 and both seem to be stuck there providing supply. The problem is that I can't rebase any ground units there because of stacking limitations. And, I can't move either of these HQ units out to support units elsewhere. I'm not sure what I did to get myself in this situation or what I need to do to get myself out?




I don't see any transports around. You'll need a transport to move them out.

< Message edited by paulderynck -- 5/4/2014 6:12:29 PM >


_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 91
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/5/2014 1:47:01 AM   
Courtenay


Posts: 3200
Joined: 11/12/2008
Status: offline
A HQ's ability to move is not affected by whether it is being used for supply.

The units are described as "Done moving". What step of the sequence of play are you in? I am suspicious of that "Done Moving"; sometimes MWiF gives error messages that are misleading. If a unit can't move because it is can't move during that particular step of the sequence of play, it may say "Done moving". For example, in my current game, during the end of turn phase, every organized land unit on the map is "Done moving".

Have you tried loading one of these HQs on to a transport? What happens when you try to do so? I would ignore that done moving, and see if the HQs will load onto a transport.

_____________________________

I thought I knew how to play this game....

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 92
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/6/2014 12:07:31 AM   
rkr1958


Posts: 14286
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay

A HQ's ability to move is not affected by whether it is being used for supply.

The units are described as "Done moving". What step of the sequence of play are you in? I am suspicious of that "Done Moving"; sometimes MWiF gives error messages that are misleading. If a unit can't move because it is can't move during that particular step of the sequence of play, it may say "Done moving". For example, in my current game, during the end of turn phase, every organized land unit on the map is "Done moving".

Have you tried loading one of these HQs on to a transport? What happens when you try to do so? I would ignore that done moving, and see if the HQs will load onto a transport.
Thanks! I verified I was able to load the HQs on to a transport and disembark them at Midway. What was confusing me then was that I wasn't able to move either HQ from Oahu (Pearl) to either Kauai or Maul during the unit movement phase. In fact, I wasn't even able to "pick up" (i.e., select) either unit during that phase. Is a move from Pearl to either Kauai or Maui legal?





Attachment (1)

< Message edited by rkr1958 -- 5/6/2014 2:36:45 AM >

(in reply to Courtenay)
Post #: 93
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/6/2014 2:37:20 AM   
Ur_Vile_WEdge

 

Posts: 585
Joined: 6/28/2005
Status: offline
By land? Not even if you're a marine. There's that hexdot you can't swim over these days.


Actually, I guess a marine could go to Maui. But no other type of unit, and there are no HQ-Marine types.

< Message edited by Ur_Vile_WEdge -- 5/6/2014 3:38:06 AM >

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 94
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/6/2014 5:17:56 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7670
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
You can only embark units during the naval movement step and they can then be transported into a port and will debark automatically, or if the TRS stays at sea, they can land in a port during the land movement step. Only marines can cross all-sea hexsides from a land hex to another (or an island to another). Straits (indicated by the red arrows like in the Philippines) can be crossed by land units for an additional movement point.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 95
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/6/2014 9:34:31 AM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1939
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Ur_Vile_WEdge

By land? Not even if you're a marine. There's that hexdot you can't swim over these days.


Actually, I guess a marine could go to Maui. But no other type of unit, and there are no HQ-Marine types.


A marine could. Marines can walk through shallow waters.

You can only move that HQ to the other island (without a port, like it is) disembarking it from the ship. And only Divisions, HQs and IIRW infantry can load (the latter in certain circumstances)/unload (not so sure even if posssible at all for inf)at sea.

Anyway I would not recommend moving the HQ to other islands without a port. Many times HQs need to be in position to be easily movable, and if there is not a port in the island, the only option would be to move a trs or amph to that sea, board (free land move) the HQ and leave it at that sea.. (dangerous sometimes) ,and then the only thing you can do before turn end is abort the ship in another impulse to a port, but the HQ will arrive disorganized in this case, not like when they set from a port, and reach another port without aborting at sea.

< Message edited by Joseignacio -- 5/6/2014 10:38:08 AM >

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 96
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/6/2014 9:41:16 AM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1939
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

You can only embark units during the naval movement step and they can then be transported into a port and will debark automatically, or if the TRS stays at sea, they can land in a port during the land movement step. Only marines can cross all-sea hexsides from a land hex to another (or an island to another). Straits (indicated by the red arrows like in the Philippines) can be crossed by land units for an additional movement point.


True but divs (I guess art brigades too but don't know...) can disembark in the coast as HQs do too.

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 97
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/6/2014 9:11:10 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 14286
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
Thanks guys! I think I finally understand. My point of confusion was from the fact that I could move the Japanese unit form Henderson Field to Russell island and back. But, as I understand it now, the reason I could do that is because the unit is a marine unit. If it was a normal infantry unit, or a HQ unit, I wouldn't be able to make that move.




Attachment (1)

(in reply to Joseignacio)
Post #: 98
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/12/2014 9:01:15 AM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1939
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline
A question for my current game of WIF. I prefer to ask here because if I ask in the wifdiscussion thread, my mates could see what I intend to do through my questions...

In my current game, France has aligned Yugoslavia, the British is sending peacekeepers. France and CW don't cooperate, Can he without an HQ and the Foreing Troop Commitment limits?

Or it doesn't matter because it's a minor?

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 99
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/12/2014 10:46:32 AM   
Courtenay


Posts: 3200
Joined: 11/12/2008
Status: offline
It doesn't matter, because it is a minor. Major powers can freely enter into any minor at war. Other Allied minors can't enter the country, not even French aligned minors, unless they have an HQ of their own, which is not very likely.

Thus, when Germany declares war on Belgium and the CW aligns it, French troops can rush in, up to stacking limits.

_____________________________

I thought I knew how to play this game....

(in reply to Joseignacio)
Post #: 100
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/12/2014 11:15:55 AM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1939
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline
Yep, I always do, as a French, Although I never cared about this cause my both French Hqs were in the area. Thx.

(in reply to Courtenay)
Post #: 101
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/12/2014 4:27:13 PM   
Ur_Vile_WEdge

 

Posts: 585
Joined: 6/28/2005
Status: offline
Map Question:

Does the railroad heading through Algiers and Morocco and up through Tangiers connect to Gibraltar? Can I directly rail the Algerian resource to France, or do I have to have a convoy point in Cape St Vincent (or the western med if I'm insane)?

I'd been playing that the answer is "no" for years, but then again, I've discovered I've been doing a lot of things wrong for years too, so I'm not so sure anymore....

(in reply to Joseignacio)
Post #: 102
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/12/2014 5:27:35 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7670
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
I'm not sure this was ever an "official" Q&A, but would express the opinion that the majority play that you can rail that resource through Gibraltar.

As long as both hexes on either side of a Straits symbol have a RR then you can rail over the Straits (subject to Option 12 - Limited Access Across Straits).

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 103
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/25/2014 2:25:50 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 14286
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
I'm in the Land -> Land Movement -> Declare Attacks phase. I wanted to pull up the Land Combat CRT under the Help menu but it's grayed out. What am I missing? How do I pull up that table?




Attachment (1)

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 104
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/25/2014 3:11:55 PM   
Centuur


Posts: 8053
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: online
It's in "Charts from WIF FE", if you use 1D10.

The 2D10 table is on the last page of the RAW.

Truth is, that this is something which has been on the "to do" list for a long, long time, but somehow the time seems to be missing to do this... Since both tables are available on other places, it's a minor issue...

_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 105
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/25/2014 6:32:44 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7670
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
There are PDFs of all the charts with the game so you can have it open as a PDF and just use the task bar buttons to flip back and forth.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Centuur)
Post #: 106
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/26/2014 12:32:06 AM   
rkr1958


Posts: 14286
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
Thanks guys. I agree ... it's a minor, "non-issue". Another question. I'm pulling together a set of notecards (I know how old fashion) to help me remember some of the finer, and not so finer, points of the game. One notecard is for the surprise impulse and I wanted to vet the draft of what I have so far for that card. I take it for a given that the following applies to those enemy units that qualify as surprised under the rules.

Surprise Impulse
* No enemy air combat missions
* Attacks across river hexside are not halved
* Double Number of Ground Strikes Per Attack
* Double Tactical and Strategic Air Factors

How does that look?

< Message edited by rkr1958 -- 5/26/2014 1:32:37 AM >

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 107
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/26/2014 12:55:35 AM   
Ur_Vile_WEdge

 

Posts: 585
Joined: 6/28/2005
Status: offline
Don't forget that AA is halved, notionals are one weaker (so a default of 0) and the biggie: 0 surprise points in any naval combat against units solely of the surprising power.


There's also a few more minor effects such as you kill face up planes on an overrun, and get to roll against face up ships, instead of auto-rebasing and flipping them.


Also, IIRC, there is no effect on strategic bombing due to surprise, other than no interception.

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 108
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/26/2014 1:18:36 AM   
rkr1958


Posts: 14286
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Ur_Vile_WEdge

Don't forget that AA is halved, notionals are one weaker (so a default of 0) and the biggie: 0 surprise points in any naval combat against units solely of the surprising power.


There's also a few more minor effects such as you kill face up planes on an overrun, and get to roll against face up ships, instead of auto-rebasing and flipping them.


Also, IIRC, there is no effect on strategic bombing due to surprise, other than no interception.


Surprise Impulse
* No enemy air combat missions
* Attacks across river hexside are not halved
* Double Number of Ground Strikes Per Attack
* Double Tactical and Strategic Air Factors
* Enemy AA halved
* Notionals weaker (Default 0)
* 0 surprise points for enemy in naval combat solely against surprised enemy
* Overrun planes are destroyed
* Roll against organized ships

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 109
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/26/2014 1:24:50 AM   
rkr1958


Posts: 14286
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
I'm also trying to get the finer points of controlling combat. Specifically when, as the attacker, I can choose the combat table. "And" is assumed after each bullet (i.e., *).

Attacker Chooses CRT
* Attacking non-city in clear, forest or desert
* One attack is across non-fort hexside (paradrops and invasions on hex count)
* Attacker has more ARM & HQ-A or
more mechs and defender has no ARM & HQ-A

By the way, for the 3rd condition, if the attacker has 3 ARMs and 0 HQ-A and the defender has 1 ARM and 1 HQ-A is that condition met? That is, is the condition the total of ARMsa and HQ-A or does the attacker have to have more ARMs s(3 to 1) and more HQ-A (0 to 1, which it doesn't in the example given)?

< Message edited by rkr1958 -- 5/26/2014 2:25:27 AM >

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 110
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/26/2014 11:23:09 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7670
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
HQA only matters in that they are Armor... so 3 of any has the hammer over 2 of any.

< Message edited by paulderynck -- 5/27/2014 12:24:06 AM >


_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 111
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/28/2014 4:12:49 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 14286
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
Offensive Chit
(1) HQ benefits for power’s units within Reorg hexes (no terrain or weather effects) for impulse played
• Air Action
o Ground Strike – roll extra die for each target
o Ground Support – 2x factors except naval air or naval air interception
o Reorg – ½ cost for air units reorg by HQ
• Naval Action
o Applies to unit in port with HQ with benefits
o May require one or both sides to reroll dice in any round of naval combat
o Allocate rerolls to naval / air units after movement and before combat
o Reroll request immediately after search, air-to-air, anti-aircraft or defense roll by either side
• Land Action
o Double land combat factors within reorg range when calculating final odds (overruns and land combat)
o Reorg – ½ normal cost for land units reorg by HQ
• Combined Action
o Max # for each action is # of activities for each individual action
o Reorg – ½ normal cost
(2) Reorg HQs
• Play at the start of air, naval, land or combined action
• All HQs are reorganized

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 112
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/28/2014 11:09:17 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 14286
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
I just finished my second ran at the Barbarossa scenario using the default setup. Here's the situation at the end of the game.




Attachment (1)

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 113
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/28/2014 11:19:08 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 14286
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
I know I played the axis, and offensive action, much better than I did my first time. I had a much better understanding of game mechanics, strategy and tactics; however, I still wasn't able to achieve the results that I feel are necessary to move up to more complex scenarios. In my first run, the VP total was USSR 31 and Germany 14. In this second go the total was USSR 27 and Germany 18, which as first blush doesn't seem much of an improvement. However, if I look at margin of victory in my first game the USSR won by 17 VPs and only won by 9 this game. So I guess I'm making progress.

I had a lot of fun playing this scenario again. Though the scenario is 5 game turns, Germany really only has 3 turns to capture significant ground. Germany only captured 1 victory city (Kharkov) on turn 4 and 0 on turn 5. The weather was blizzard for all impulses of turns 4 and 5 for the arctic. So, I was able to do nothing as Germany in the north.




Attachment (1)

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 114
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/29/2014 7:21:04 PM   
Ur_Vile_WEdge

 

Posts: 585
Joined: 6/28/2005
Status: offline
Some Guards Banner army questions.


1) If, before Germany and the USSR go to war, the Soviets demand the Finnish Borderlands, and the Finns want to fight, and the Soviets kill some Finnish units, can you use that to promote a GBA, even though you're not at war with Germany? (Assuming the Finns are a minor controlled by Germany, or the Soviets chew up some German peacekeepers)

2) If I do a paradrop on an otherwise unguarded hex, and I kill the notional, can I use that to claim I destroyed a division and promote the para? (German or aligned minor controlled hex)

< Message edited by Ur_Vile_WEdge -- 5/29/2014 8:25:28 PM >

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 115
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/29/2014 7:33:36 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7670
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
1) It was clarified recently that they must be German units or no promotions.

2) Good question, but I'd say no because there is no definition of whether a notional is a corps, a Div, or something else.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 116
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/30/2014 6:49:25 AM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1939
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline
IIRW the notional is not a division but a brigade. Not sure though.

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 117
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/30/2014 11:00:32 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7670
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
Thinking it and finding it in the rules are different things.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Joseignacio)
Post #: 118
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/31/2014 1:43:44 AM   
Ur_Vile_WEdge

 

Posts: 585
Joined: 6/28/2005
Status: offline
Well, 2D10 considers the notional a division for purposes of counting it as a flipped unit in combat. And the section on invasions says

quote:

The notional unit is treated like a normal unit for all purposes during combat except that they only have a ZoC into their own hex and are always face-down.
. I suppose you could say that the "promote GBA" step isn't "during combat", but at least intuitively, it seems to me that if you're fighting a notional, and it's a unit that you have to kill, it's well, a unit.

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 119
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/31/2014 1:58:28 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7670
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
The GBA rule says the combat has to affect a Div or a Corps. Yes it may "walk like a duck" but when the rules actually say it's a duck, then it will be a duck.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 120
Page:   <<   < prev  2 3 [4] 5 6   next >   >>
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> WIF School >> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions Page: <<   < prev  2 3 [4] 5 6   next >   >>
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.189