Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> WIF School >> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions Page: <<   < prev  32 33 34 35 [36]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 12/22/2018 7:15:09 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 14315
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: Orm

Answer: The three units are not allowed to become reorganized by Yamamoto because they are outside the HQs reorganization range.

The HQ's reorganization range is equal to its reorganization value in motorized movement points.

In this case the HQ has a reorganization value of 4. The units are only two hexes away but the first hex is mountain and costs 3, the second is forest and cost 2 more. Hence the HQ would need 5 in reorganization value, and range, to reorganize the three units.

Note that the range when reorganizing units are counted from the HQ to the units in question. And that units next to the HQI can always be reorganized if movement is allowed between the unit and the HQ.
Thanks!


_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 1051
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 12/26/2018 7:44:22 AM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1939
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline
I would agree, just I am not sure if in this case you'd have to count from the unit to the HQ the same that the HQ has to count from itself to the railroad to count the 4 motorized movement points.

The unit would be correctly OOS but the sum of the hexes' value would be 3 mountain + 3 mountain = 6 > 4

< Message edited by Joseignacio -- 12/26/2018 7:46:28 AM >

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 1052
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 12/26/2018 11:44:04 AM   
Centuur


Posts: 8054
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

I would agree, just I am not sure if in this case you'd have to count from the unit to the HQ the same that the HQ has to count from itself to the railroad to count the 4 motorized movement points.

The unit would be correctly OOS but the sum of the hexes' value would be 3 mountain + 3 mountain = 6 > 4


RAW:

A face-up HQ can reorganise units within range of the HQ. The HQ's
reorganisation range is equal to its reorganisation value in motorized
movement points. The path from the HQ to the unit to be reorganised
is traced exactly like a basic supply path, except its maximum length
is determined by the HQ's reorganisation range, and it may not be
traced overseas. You may always trace 1 hex if the unit tracing supply
is not prohibited from entering that hex.


So you have to count from the HQ to the unit and that makes it a 5. Interesting is the fact that a MTN unit can be reorganised across a Alpine hexside or a MAR across a sea or lake hexside according to this rule if the HQ is adjacent to the hex the MTN or MAR is in...

< Message edited by Centuur -- 12/26/2018 11:47:00 AM >


_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to Joseignacio)
Post #: 1053
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 12/26/2018 12:20:15 PM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1939
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur

quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

I would agree, just I am not sure if in this case you'd have to count from the unit to the HQ the same that the HQ has to count from itself to the railroad to count the 4 motorized movement points.

The unit would be correctly OOS but the sum of the hexes' value would be 3 mountain + 3 mountain = 6 > 4


RAW:

A face-up HQ can reorganise units within range of the HQ. The HQ's
reorganisation range is equal to its reorganisation value in motorized
movement points. The path from the HQ to the unit to be reorganised
is traced exactly like a basic supply path,
except its maximum length
is determined by the HQ's reorganisation range, and it may not be
traced overseas. You may always trace 1 hex if the unit tracing supply
is not prohibited from entering that hex.


So you have to count from the HQ to the unit and that makes it a 5. Interesting is the fact that a MTN unit can be reorganised across a Alpine hexside or a MAR across a sea or lake hexside according to this rule if the HQ is adjacent to the hex the MTN or MAR is in...


Curious, we always interpreted this rule as "since you need to count from Secondary (HQ) to Primary", in the case of the unit you need to do "the same (system)", for us this meant count from the Unit to the Secondary following the same "logic". We always did it as I said. Here, it would seem that tracing the supply would be from the unit to primary or from the unit to secondary and from secondary to primary...

quote:

2.4.2 Tracing supply
To be in supply, a unit must be able to trace a supply path back to a primary supply source.
A primary supply source for a unit is:
ï any friendly city in the unit’s unconquered home country; or
ï for a Commonwealth unit, any friendly city in another unconquered Commonwealth home country; or
ï any friendly city in an unconquered home country of a major power the unit co-operates with (see 18.1).
Example: Germany has just declared war on Poland. Polish units that can trace a supply path to a friendly controlled city in Poland are in supply (because it is a friendly city in their home country). They are also in supply if they can trace to their controlling major power’s cities (because Poland co-operates with its controlling major power).
MiF option 6: An HQ is a primary supply source for the rest of the turn if you expend a face-up supply unit it is stacked with (see 22.4.10).
A city controlled by the communist Chinese is not friendly to the nationalist Chinese (and vice versa), even though both are (nominally) on the same side.

If the unit can’t trace a supply path directly to a primary supply source, it can trace it via one or more secondary supply sources instead.

A secondary supply source for a unit is:
ï an HQ the unit co-operates with (see 18.1); or
ï the capital city of a minor country controlled by the unit’s major power; or
ï the capital city of a major power, or a minor country, conquered by the unit’s major power, or by a major power the unit co-operates with.

A secondary supply source of the tracing unit must be able to trace a supply path either to a primary supply source or via another secondary supply source. That other secondary source must also be able to trace a supply path either to a primary source or via another secondary source, and so on.

There can be any number of secondary supply sources in this chain but it must end up at a primary supply source of the unit tracing the path.


And now that I look at it, what you quote is for restoring units, although it alludes the supply rule generally.

As for the 1 hex tracing, thanks again, I had been looking for this rule, it comes handy.

< Message edited by Joseignacio -- 12/26/2018 12:30:23 PM >

(in reply to Centuur)
Post #: 1054
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 12/26/2018 4:50:37 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7671
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
Well, re-org was counter-intuitive to supply, which is why it got changed between RAW7 and RAW8, so in the Collectors Edition, you do count to the HQ. But MWiF is RAW7 so the rules quote above applies.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Joseignacio)
Post #: 1055
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 12/28/2018 1:01:25 AM   
rkr1958


Posts: 14315
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: online
Below are the US entry chit numbers and distributions by year. The table on the left side of figure below was "cut out" of the players manual vol 2, page 190. The excel tables on the right side from top to bottom are: (1) chit counts by year with total, average and sigma included, (2) cumulative chit counts by year, (3) chit probability by year and (4) cumulative chit probability by year.

Does the Nazi-Soviet Pact use the same chit numbers and distributions?

Also, I've figured out that MWiF "gives" the highest chit for each year an "extra" count. For example, in year 1941 there are a total of 920 chits. However, MWiF allows one to enter a number from 0 to 920, which is 921 values, or count. Through experimentation I've found that this extra count is "given" to the highest value chit available for that year.

Specifically, if one enters a value from:
0-2 (3 values) -> 0 chit
3-207 (205 values) -> 1 chit
208-453 (246 values) -> 2 chit
454-679 (226 values) -> 3 chit
680-869 (190 values) -> 4 chit
870-914 (45 values) -> 5 chit
915-920 (6 values instead of 5) -> 6 chit.

So technically MWiF does match exactly the chit distributions given in the player's manual. Is this worth posting in the tech forum or should I leave good enough alone?



FYI - I do understand that chits are "drawn" using the concept of "drawing with replacement". That is, a "chit" is never actually removed, so the numbers and distributions remain unchanged during a given year.




Attachment (1)

< Message edited by rkr1958 -- 12/28/2018 1:04:55 AM >


_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 1056
Page:   <<   < prev  32 33 34 35 [36]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> WIF School >> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions Page: <<   < prev  32 33 34 35 [36]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.129