Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: New to the game - Basic Questions

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> WIF School >> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions Page: <<   < prev  30 31 32 33 [34]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 4/10/2018 8:54:40 AM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1772
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline
First time I hear that.

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 991
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 4/10/2018 1:35:11 PM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1772
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

The USA is neutral, but US entry option 11, US East Coast Escorts is in play. The USA elects for their CV, CA and CL to participate in the combat. This I knew. But what I didn't know was that by participating in the combat, US CP's in the sea area are now eligible to take losses. My question is is this correct?


Without looking at the rules, and by the logics of the game no ---> USA is not at war so his convoys cannot be fired upon, however the SCSs and CVs are escorting so they can join the fray.
Response by Centuur in the tech forum clarifies that this is no bug. That is, US CP's can be used to take losses while the US is still neutral if the US commits to combat.



Rectified later by Paul, in the sense I was meaning. Neutrals cannot fight, except usa escorts once the option has been selected, so USA convoys shouldn't.

http://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=4464775&mpage=1&key=�

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 992
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 4/11/2018 3:39:57 AM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 21207
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio


quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay

Is there any way to see if a side has already railed a unit across a straight this turn, aside from trying to rail a unit and being told that you can't do that move?


Is there a limit for this?

As for determining if a unit has used a straits previously in the turn - no, there isn't anyway to 'see' that. You just try it and find out you can't.

By the way, the limit is one unit per side per turn [not per impulse].

Choose wisely. Don't rail a division across the Istanbul straits in the first Axis impulse of a turn and then try to rail Manstein across to support attacks in the Mid-East in the next Axis impulse. I was quite unhappy when I discovered this.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to Joseignacio)
Post #: 993
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 4/11/2018 12:13:04 PM   
Centuur


Posts: 7606
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio


quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay

Is there any way to see if a side has already railed a unit across a straight this turn, aside from trying to rail a unit and being told that you can't do that move?


Is there a limit for this?

As for determining if a unit has used a straits previously in the turn - no, there isn't anyway to 'see' that. You just try it and find out you can't.

By the way, the limit is one unit per side per turn [not per impulse].

Choose wisely. Don't rail a division across the Istanbul straits in the first Axis impulse of a turn and then try to rail Manstein across to support attacks in the Mid-East in the next Axis impulse. I was quite unhappy when I discovered this.


Can't we change this somehow on the map? Like with the Burma road which gets a different color when it's closed? Red straits arrows means it has been used, white arrows means you can still use it for rail movement (for example)?

_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 994
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 4/13/2018 11:09:01 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 12059
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
You can't see it but the Italians are defending with 3 combat factors (i.e., 37:3). Both Italian combat units are out of supply and disorganized (2 factors total since one unit is a division and the other is not elite). Where does the 3rd factor come from?




Attachment (1)

_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to Centuur)
Post #: 995
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 4/14/2018 6:59:07 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7324
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
AT is still doubled on defence when attacked by arm/mech.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 996
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 4/14/2018 5:06:58 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 12059
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

AT is still doubled on defence when attacked by arm/mech.
Ok. Thanks!


_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 997
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/16/2018 1:28:39 AM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 21207
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur


quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio


quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay

Is there any way to see if a side has already railed a unit across a straight this turn, aside from trying to rail a unit and being told that you can't do that move?


Is there a limit for this?

As for determining if a unit has used a straits previously in the turn - no, there isn't anyway to 'see' that. You just try it and find out you can't.

By the way, the limit is one unit per side per turn [not per impulse].

Choose wisely. Don't rail a division across the Istanbul straits in the first Axis impulse of a turn and then try to rail Manstein across to support attacks in the Mid-East in the next Axis impulse. I was quite unhappy when I discovered this.


Can't we change this somehow on the map? Like with the Burma road which gets a different color when it's closed? Red straits arrows means it has been used, white arrows means you can still use it for rail movement (for example)?

There would have to be 4 colors: Axis used/unused & Allied used/unused.

Given that some players have trouble with colors, that doesn't seem to me to be a viable solution.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to Centuur)
Post #: 998
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/19/2018 10:25:34 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 12059
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline
Unintended consequences?

The US, CW & Free France are war war with Vichy, who have a CP in Cape St. Vincent, which has been helping to run the Kayes RP in Senegal to a factory in Vichy for several turns now. I wanted to confirm what I think I just realized. The Vichy CP actually helps the allies in their defense against axis subs by "giving" +1 to the allied naval search rolls.

Is this correct?

If so, the allies would never what to "sink" or abort that CP ... well except for the 1 RP to Vichy every turn. But I think the cost-benefit to the allies would be more than worth it to leave that CP alone.





Attachment (1)

< Message edited by rkr1958 -- 5/19/2018 10:27:27 PM >


_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 999
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/19/2018 11:00:39 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7324
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
Yes that is so.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 1000
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/19/2018 11:54:40 PM   
rkr1958


Posts: 12059
Joined: 5/21/2009
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

Yes that is so.
So I guess it's with wink and a nod the Vichy merchantmen agree to inform the allies if enemy subs or ships are operating in the area.


_____________________________

Ronnie

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 1001
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/21/2018 8:26:26 AM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1772
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

Yes that is so.
So I guess it's with wink and a nod the Vichy merchantmen agree to inform the allies if enemy subs or ships are operating in the area.



Vichy handling is strange in this game. It's neutral so it shouldn't help any combat roll, but it's Axis friendly...

I am surprised about what Paul says but I am not ready to rebate it.

On second thought I'll try to:

quote:

Subtract 1 from your search roll for every 10 enemy convoy points (or part) in the sea area. This modifier does not apply to interception attempts, port attacks or during storm or blizzard. This modifier does apply after the first round of an interception combat.


I don't think a neutral Vichy qualifies as "enemy". Am I wrong?


< Message edited by Joseignacio -- 5/21/2018 8:34:24 AM >

(in reply to rkr1958)
Post #: 1002
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/21/2018 11:31:49 AM   
Centuur


Posts: 7606
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

Yes that is so.
So I guess it's with wink and a nod the Vichy merchantmen agree to inform the allies if enemy subs or ships are operating in the area.



Vichy handling is strange in this game. It's neutral so it shouldn't help any combat roll, but it's Axis friendly...

I am surprised about what Paul says but I am not ready to rebate it.

On second thought I'll try to:

quote:

Subtract 1 from your search roll for every 10 enemy convoy points (or part) in the sea area. This modifier does not apply to interception attempts, port attacks or during storm or blizzard. This modifier does apply after the first round of an interception combat.


I don't think a neutral Vichy qualifies as "enemy". Am I wrong?



No, you are not wrong. But Vichy is not neutral in this game, but at war with the Allies.

_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to Joseignacio)
Post #: 1003
RE: New to the game - Basic Questions - 5/21/2018 11:58:57 AM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1772
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline
Ow Sh*t!. Thanks, Centuur

That's one of the problems when using the optional that you need to have convoys or TRS/AMPHs to have a supply line by sea, ..., the enemy can use it to help their rolls but you need to keep it for your supply. Only that in this case it may pay to sink it if there is a possibility to take good advantage of the lack of supply...

< Message edited by Joseignacio -- 5/21/2018 12:02:25 PM >

(in reply to Centuur)
Post #: 1004
Page:   <<   < prev  30 31 32 33 [34]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> WIF School >> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions Page: <<   < prev  30 31 32 33 [34]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.152