Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Embarking units to an off-shore TRS

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> The War Room >> Embarking units to an off-shore TRS Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Embarking units to an off-shore TRS - 11/12/2013 11:58:58 PM   
FreddaH

 

Posts: 27
Joined: 10/21/2006
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: offline
In the rules it says I can embark a land unit to an empty TRS as long as the TRS is in a sea area adjacent to the land unit's position, and the land unit is in a coastal hex. Since I'm playing with amphibious rules, the hex also needs to be a port. As I understand it from reading the rules, the embarkation happens immediately in the naval movement phase, but I can't seem to get it to work. I have tried both in the naval movement phase, in the land movement phase and, as I didn't have any luck with the others, in the "debark land units at sea" phase. Nothing seems to work. What am I doing wrong?

The unit I am trying to embark is a Supply unit, and the TRS is a normal TRS.


_____________________________

The greatest mistake man ever made was to believe in his own divinity
Post #: 1
RE: Embarking units to an off-shore TRS - 11/13/2013 12:08:17 AM   
christo

 

Posts: 99
Joined: 11/24/2005
From: adelaide, australia
Status: offline

To embark a unit to an at sea TRS that TRS must have moved into the sea area that impulse. You cannot move a TRS in ,say, impulse 1 and then try and embark in a later impulse.

Hopefully this helps.

Chris


(in reply to FreddaH)
Post #: 2
RE: Embarking units to an off-shore TRS - 11/13/2013 12:13:02 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7076
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
If the TRS is already in the sea zone, it can go down one or more sea boxes and then embark a unit, but yes it does need to move that impulse to be eligible to take on the cargo.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to christo)
Post #: 3
RE: Embarking units to an off-shore TRS - 11/13/2013 12:27:28 AM   
FreddaH

 

Posts: 27
Joined: 10/21/2006
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: offline
Thanks guys. Does embarkation take up a land move?



< Message edited by FreddaH -- 11/13/2013 1:27:49 AM >


_____________________________

The greatest mistake man ever made was to believe in his own divinity

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 4
RE: Embarking units to an off-shore TRS - 11/13/2013 12:51:40 AM   
bo

 

Posts: 4182
Joined: 5/1/2009
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: FreddaH

Thanks guys. Does embarkation take up a land move?




Yes it takes up a land move, the biggest mistakes I made when learning the game were debarking and invasions.

If I am invading Guadalcanal with two Japanese SNLF units I must have at least 2 land moves left the same with debarking onto a friendly controlled hex with two units.

ooops read that post wrong you said embarking, dumb me read it as debarking. I just went back to Guadalcanal and moved two transports into the Coral sea and loaded them with two Japanese Marine corps from Rabaul without the loss of land moves, sorry about my statement above

Bo

< Message edited by bo -- 11/13/2013 5:46:53 PM >

(in reply to FreddaH)
Post #: 5
RE: Embarking units to an off-shore TRS - 11/13/2013 2:20:51 AM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 21051
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline
When you move a naval unit into a sea area, the program displays a form asking you choose a section box. As part of that form there is a button for Load From Coastal Hex.

Select a unit and then click on that button. The program will display all the units that your selected naval unit can load. After you have loaded as many units as you want, select a section box for the moving naval units and close the form. Your naval units will be in the section box and those that have loaded units will have them aboard.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to bo)
Post #: 6
RE: Embarking units to an off-shore TRS - 11/13/2013 3:28:37 AM   
FroBodine


Posts: 822
Joined: 5/5/2007
From: Brentwood, California (not the OJ one)
Status: offline
A couple questions to supplement this thread:

1. What does TRS stand for? I think it means transport ship, but I cannot find anything that says so. And I guess FTR means fighter plane? Why do the rules spell out bombers, but use FTR for fighters? Just curious.

2. Could some kind soul please point me to the rules that explain the sea zone boxes and the numbering of the boxes within a sea zone, and the importance of choosing one sea zone box number instead of another?

Thanks!

< Message edited by jglazier -- 11/13/2013 4:30:32 AM >

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 7
RE: Embarking units to an off-shore TRS - 11/13/2013 4:27:31 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7076
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: bo

quote:

ORIGINAL: FreddaH

Thanks guys. Does embarkation take up a land move?




Yes it takes up a land move, the biggest mistakes I made when learning the game were debarking and invasions.

If I am invading Guadalcanal with two Japanese SNLF units I must have at least 2 land moves left the same with debarking onto a friendly controlled hex with two units.

Bo


We may be confusing embarkation with debarkation here.

It does not cost a land move to embark. There are two ways to be embarked. Start in a port with a TRS that moves out to sea or be picked up from a port (or coastal hex if not playing with Amphibs) by a TRS that has just moved in the adjacent sea zone.

It does cost a land move to debark from a TRS or Amphib that is at sea - either by landing in a port or by making an invasion. It does not cost a land move if the TRS takes its cargo to a port whereupon it will automatically be debarked.


_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to bo)
Post #: 8
RE: Embarking units to an off-shore TRS - 11/13/2013 4:28:25 AM   
brian brian

 

Posts: 2669
Joined: 11/16/2005
Status: offline
1. There are two kinds of bombers - LND (land), and NAV (naval). TRS is a transport, yes. I think these were mostly a short-hand unit type to use for printing set-ups as much as anything. They are handy in general.

2. I don't know the rule #s, but most likely in one of the first 3 rules covering the map there would be a diagram explaining the #s. Or it was printed on the map originally and now it is somewhere in the manuals.

The box numbers represent time. The more time a ship spends in a zone, the more effectively it can accomplish things. So a ship based near it's area of operations can spend more time on station than a ship that left port 1000 miles away. A Battleship berthed at Portsmouth on June 1st, 1944 can sail out and deliver Shore Bombardment over the beaches of Normandy much more effectively than one that found itself in New York on June 1st.

The higher the box # you select, the better chance you then have to find enemy forces when you look for them. Also, in a higher box, your forces suffer less from being surprised by the enemy.

The boxes also represent concentration and division of forces. One would think it would always be best to put each ship in the highest box possible. But at some times it might be better to concentrate your forces all in the same box, say to cover a troop convoy arriving from several zones distant. Or, you can split your units, with a Covering Force in a higher box that will be more effective in any potential combat, but might not necessarily be part of a combat with your Escorting Force. The enemy might get lucky and discover your Escorting Force on it's own, or you might get lucky and your Covering Force might discover the enemy and your Escorting Force can completely avoid them.

Each box # also has a "Shore Bombardment Modifier" that is subtracted from the Shore Bombardment factors of ships in lower boxes. This modifier is worsened by Rain and Snow weather.

(in reply to FroBodine)
Post #: 9
RE: Embarking units to an off-shore TRS - 11/13/2013 4:40:51 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 7076
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: jglazier

A couple questions to supplement this thread:

1. What does TRS stand for? I think it means transport ship, but I cannot find anything that says so. And I guess FTR means fighter plane? Why do the rules spell out bombers, but use FTR for fighters? Just curious.

Check out this excellent site:
https://sites.google.com/site/frenchwifpage/home/world-in-flames-final-edition/acronyms-wif-slang

quote:


2. Could some kind soul please point me to the rules that explain the sea zone boxes and the numbering of the boxes within a sea zone, and the importance of choosing one sea zone box number instead of another?

Thanks!

I suggest 3.4.3 starting on page 32 of Volume 1 of the Player's Manual

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to FroBodine)
Post #: 10
RE: Embarking units to an off-shore TRS - 11/13/2013 6:53:48 AM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 21051
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline
See page 9 of the 3rd Picture and Text tutorial on the map.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 11
RE: Embarking units to an off-shore TRS - 11/13/2013 12:35:46 PM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 1693
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck


quote:

ORIGINAL: bo

quote:

ORIGINAL: FreddaH

Thanks guys. Does embarkation take up a land move?




Yes it takes up a land move, the biggest mistakes I made when learning the game were debarking and invasions.

If I am invading Guadalcanal with two Japanese SNLF units I must have at least 2 land moves left the same with debarking onto a friendly controlled hex with two units.

Bo


We may be confusing embarkation with debarkation here.

It does not cost a land move to embark.
There are two ways to be embarked. Start in a port with a TRS that moves out to sea or be picked up from a port (or coastal hex if not playing with Amphibs) by a TRS that has just moved in the adjacent sea zone.

It does cost a land move to debark from a TRS or Amphib that is at sea - either by landing in a port or by making an invasion. It does not cost a land move if the TRS takes its cargo to a port whereupon it will automatically be debarked.



True.

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 12
RE: Embarking units to an off-shore TRS - 11/13/2013 4:49:46 PM   
bo

 

Posts: 4182
Joined: 5/1/2009
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck


quote:

ORIGINAL: bo

quote:

ORIGINAL: FreddaH

Thanks guys. Does embarkation take up a land move?




Yes it takes up a land move, the biggest mistakes I made when learning the game were debarking and invasions.

If I am invading Guadalcanal with two Japanese SNLF units I must have at least 2 land moves left the same with debarking onto a friendly controlled hex with two units.

Bo


We may be confusing embarkation with debarkation here.

It does not cost a land move to embark. There are two ways to be embarked. Start in a port with a TRS that moves out to sea or be picked up from a port (or coastal hex if not playing with Amphibs) by a TRS that has just moved in the adjacent sea zone.

It does cost a land move to debark from a TRS or Amphib that is at sea - either by landing in a port or by making an invasion. It does not cost a land move if the TRS takes its cargo to a port whereupon it will automatically be debarked.


Thanks for letting me off the hook so easy Paul, that is exactly what I did, but you knew I am always confused you just did not want to say it I corrected myself in that post but anyway thank you.

Bo

< Message edited by bo -- 11/13/2013 5:50:55 PM >

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 13
RE: Embarking units to an off-shore TRS - 11/13/2013 9:13:03 PM   
Kham

 

Posts: 21
Joined: 7/20/2009
Status: offline

quote:

I guess FTR means fighter plane? Why do the rules spell out bombers, but use FTR for fighters? Just curious.


It is a distinction used to account for the fact the counters can act as bombers.

A FTR is a type of counter, a fighter is a FTR counter acting in a specific role. A bomber is any type of aircraft (NAV, LND, ATR, FTR) doing an air mission.

(in reply to FroBodine)
Post #: 14
RE: Embarking units to an off-shore TRS - 10/13/2014 7:58:28 PM   
CanInf

 

Posts: 122
Joined: 4/8/2014
Status: offline
In a hotseat game the UK had transports in a south England port. When moved to adjacent North Sea the transports could not pick up face up units in ports from either the continent or the Uk. After undoing all the transports could move to the med and pick up units from Gibraltar. After undoing all again, the transports still could not pick up units from costal hexes with ports on the North Sea. any ideas... what we did wrong...

took the game home, and it seems to work just fine... we must have been doing something wrong.

< Message edited by CanInf -- 10/14/2014 3:30:19 PM >

(in reply to Kham)
Post #: 15
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> The War Room >> Embarking units to an off-shore TRS Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.117