Plans in Flames: A Barbarossa AAR.

Post descriptions of your brilliant successes and unfortunate demises.

Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets

Grotius

Plans in Flames: A Barbarossa AAR.

Post by Grotius »

The plan seemed so perfect: Rundstedt leading Army Group South, von Bock commanding Army Group Center, and von Leeb spearheading Army Group North. The best-made plans, and all that.
brian brian

RE: Plans in Flames: A Barbarossa AAR.

Post by brian brian »

Great name!
Grotius

Post by Grotius »

This is a brief AAR of my current solitaire game of "Barbarossa," one of the two shortest scenarios in Matrix World in Flames. I'll confess at the outset: while I've played hundreds of board wargames -- everything from ASL to OCS to Third Reich to, lately, the Tactical Combat System -- I've never played the boardgame version of World in Flames. But I've been beta-testing this game since for something like five years, so I've come to know and love it all the same. I think there's value in having newbs test a game like this. You want newbs to buy the game and enjoy it, so best to have a couple newbs test it, too.

If any newbs are reading this, here's some advice from another newb: try the Barbarossa scenario first. It's easier to learn than Guadalcanal, the other short scenario, which requires you to learn the naval rules. And Global War, while awesome, is a bit overwhelming for a newcomer. Barbarossa lets you learn the core of the system with only two major powers in action. Even so, as you're about to see, there's a lot to learn. Mistakes will be made in this AAR. Go easy on me, veterans!

I used the "Fast Start Barbarossa" setup to get going. Kinda wish I'd set up myself and chosen a few more optional rules. In this game, we have Partisans, but no divisions or artillery or other goodies. Still, the Fast Start has the advantage of being, well, fast.