Matrix Games Forums

Battle Academy 2 is out now on iPad!A closer look at rockets in Space Program ManagerDeal of the Week - Pride of NationsA new update for Piercing Fortress EuropaNew screenshots for War in the West!Pike & Shot is now available!Server Maintenance Battle Academy 2 gets updated!Deal of the Week: Advanced Tactics Gold Ask Buzz Aldrin!
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Naval combat rule question.

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Naval combat rule question. Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Naval combat rule question. - 5/7/2013 4:13:41 PM   
Ur_Vile_WEdge

 

Posts: 501
Joined: 6/28/2005
Status: offline
I really ought to know the answer to this one, but it came up last night and nobody seemed to know what to do.


Naval combat in the South China sea. Both the CW and Japan have convoys in the area, the CW has a cruiser in the 4 box, and 4 in the 3 box. The Japanese have a big task force in the 4 box, nothing in the zero. Search time.

Now, if only one side finds the other, we get

quote:

Only one side succeeds
If only your side gets to include units, then you must pick at least one (or more if you prefer) section containing committed enemy units. Only those enemy units are included in the combat.
Just because you choose to include the enemy units in a particular section in the combat doesn’t mean that your own units there are also included. They must have been included by your own search roll.



But in our case, it was raining. The CW rolled a 4, which only lets the cruiser in the 4 box find, and the Japanese roll a 2, which lets the I will kill you fleet in on things. The question is, can the Japanese force the inclusion of the ships in the three box, beating them all up at once.


I could have sworn the answer is yes, but I can't seem to find anything in the rules that justifies it.
Post #: 1
RE: Naval combat rule question. - 5/7/2013 4:34:54 PM   
Jimm


Posts: 581
Joined: 7/27/2006
From: York, UK
Status: offline
If both sides succeed, only those units which find are included.
From 11.5.5:

quote:

If a combat occurs, each of your committed units is included if
your modified search die roll was less than or equal to the modified
search number of the section it is in.


If only one side succeeds, then it gets to pick which enemy seaboxes are included.

In your case the CW cruiser is toast, but the rest escape to fight another round.


WIF does this to your brain sometimes!


< Message edited by Jimm -- 5/7/2013 4:36:41 PM >

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 2
RE: Naval combat rule question. - 5/7/2013 8:13:16 PM   
Orm


Posts: 6526
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Jimm

If both sides succeed, only those units which find are included.
From 11.5.5:

quote:

If a combat occurs, each of your committed units is included if
your modified search die roll was less than or equal to the modified
search number of the section it is in.


If only one side succeeds, then it gets to pick which enemy seaboxes are included.

In your case the CW cruiser is toast, but the rest escape to fight another round.


WIF does this to your brain sometimes!


Or the rest of the CW units are wise to abort.


_____________________________

"It would seem that you have no useful skill or talent whatsoever," he said.
"Have you thought of going into teaching?"

(in reply to Jimm)
Post #: 3
RE: Naval combat rule question. - 5/14/2013 4:41:53 PM   
Ur_Vile_WEdge

 

Posts: 501
Joined: 6/28/2005
Status: offline
Thanks for the replies, looks like I was wrong.


Also, while it's not related to the original question, something else came up in our game:

We're playing with option 53, twin engined fighters.

quote:

Option 53: (Twin-engined fighters) In air-to-air combat during the day, all front fighters with an orange air-to-air rating achieve one result less than normal when the front enemy fighter in the combat does not have an orange air-to-air rating. In these cases an AX result becomes a DX, a DX becomes an AA, an AA becomes a DA and so on. A DC result is unaffected.


It actually didn't happen because there was enough surprise to abort combat, but we had a near run in between a twin engined fighter and a carrier. If the carrier uses its plane to fight air to air, does it count as a "fighter" for purposes of option 53?

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 4
RE: Naval combat rule question. - 5/14/2013 4:51:16 PM   
michaelbaldur


Posts: 3787
Joined: 4/6/2007
From: denmark
Status: offline

yes.

_____________________________

Peyton manning is a God and the wif rulebook is my bible

I work hard, not smart.

beta tester and Mwif expert

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 5
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Naval combat rule question. Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.064