Matrix Games Forums

Community impressions of To End All WarsAgeod's To End All Wars is now availableTo End All Wars is now available!Deal of the Week: Field of GloryTo End All Wars: Video, AAR and Interview!Ageod's To End All Wars: Video, AAR and Interview!To End All Wars: Artillery Battle Academy 2: Eastern Front - End of Early Access Space Program Manager unveils its multiplayer modes Another update for Commander: The Great War!
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans Page: <<   < prev  1 2 [3] 4 5   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/1/2013 3:14:42 AM   
brian brian

 

Posts: 1653
Joined: 11/16/2005
Status: offline
For the record, in 1939 Bulgaria would have one unit the turn it is aligned, and the MIL would show up the turn after. But it could leave Bulgaria also. If Bulgaria had 3 units, only 2 could leave.

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 61
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/1/2013 8:28:22 AM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1619
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
Bulgaria
II INF (3-3) (1935)
Sofia MIL (2-3) (Res)

quote:

9.6 Calling out the reserves
Each major power (exception: Vichy France, see 17.3) has reserve units that you can call out when it goes to war with another major power. You can always call out reserves that have ‘Res’ on the back of their counter. If a reserve unit has a particular major power named on its back, you can only call it out when you go to war with that major power.

Example: You can call out the Soviet “Moscow” militia when the USSR goes to war with Germany (Ge).

You don’t have to call out all the eligible reserves at the first opportunity. Any you don’t call out are available while you are at war with a major power.

When you call out the reserves:
• move your eligible reserve units from the reserve pool to the map immediately in the same manner as reinforcements (see 4.2) except that they are set-up face down; and
• put your eligible reserve units that have previously been removed from the game back into your force pools.

From now on, treat these reserves just like any other units.



quote:

9.8 Aligning minors
If a neutral minor can align with your major power (see 19.6, 19.7 and 19.8), you can declare that it is aligning with you. You can only declare one minor aligned with your major power in each friendly impulse. Your major power controls a minor that aligns with it exactly as if another major power had declared war on it.


What brian brian is saying is that following the sequence of the rules since Bulgaria was aligned after the German DoW of Greece it would not be able to call up its reserves until the next impulse.

And as Patrice correctly pointed out (on the AI for MWiF - Germany thread) the Sofia MIL would be placed in Sofia.




_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to brian brian)
Post #: 62
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/1/2013 10:42:10 AM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1619
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
quote:

Q18.2-11
Japan DOWs USA, strikes Honolulu, Japanese fleet returns to Canton, without any ground troops. US SCS with INF division sails into Hong Kong on a combined, then moves into Canton then back into Hong Kong to end the land step.

Rule 18.2 states that a unit cannot end a STEP in the home country of a major power it doesn’t cooperate with. The INF division didn’t. I claim this is a legal move.
My opponent claims it isn’t because of foreign troop commitments. Who is correct?

Your opponent, 11.11.5 Active major powers, forbids land movement into a non co-operating major power (China in this case) unless you satisfy the Foreign Troop commitment rule (see WiF 18.2). Date 27/10/2008

quote:

11.11.5 Active major powers
You can move a land unit controlled by an active major power into any hex controlled by:
• that major power and its aligned minors; or • another active major power on the same side (or its controlled minor countries); or
• a major power or minor country it is at war with.

There are some exceptions:
• units can’t enter the home country of a non co-operating major power on the same side unless they satisfy the foreign troop commitment rules (see 18.2); and
• minor country units can’t enter a hex controlled by another minor country aligned with their side unless they satisfy the foreign troop commitment rules.
• units cannot enter a country controlled by another power on their side without permission of the owner.




By having Germany DoW Greece this allows Germany and its aligned minor countries to attack all units in Greece.
By having Italy DoW Greece this allows Italy and its aligned minor countries to attack all units in Greece.

By not having the CW DoW Italy:
The CW may not attack Italian controlled hexes in Greece.
But the CW may attack hexes controlled by Germany and its aligned minor countries in Greece.

We have a case of multiple states of war.

Greece is at war with Germany and its aligned minor countries and Italy.
The CW is at war with Germany and its aligned minor countries but not Italy.

quote:

9.9 Multiple states of war
Because you can be at war with some major powers but not others, you will encounter cases where you are opposed by some units at war with you and by others that aren’t. This rule deals with those cases. A unit may not enter or attack a hex (or units therein) controlled by a major power on the other side that it isn’t at war with. However it can attack a hex controlled by an enemy major power or minor country even if the hex contains units it is not at war with.

In attacking such a hex, you must fight all units there, but both sides ignore the fact that you may not be at war with all of them. This means that each side could fly air missions to the hex and use shore bombardment etc. as if they were all at war.

You can only support an attack against units you control if the supporting units are the same nationality as the unit (or hex during strategic bombardment) being attacked or at war with at least one major power or minor country attacking those units (or hexes).

[i ]Example 1: There are 2 Commonwealth land units and a face-down LND in Nice. Italy declares war on France and wants to attack Nice. Italian aircraft ground strike the hex. They can be intercepted by Commonwealth (but not French ~ see 18) fighters. Both the Commonwealth and Italy can fly aircraft in ground support to the hex. If the Italians win the combat and advance into the hex, the face-down
Commonwealth LND will be destroyed. Commonwealth units will not be able to counter attack to recapture the hex (unless they declare war on Italy) because they can’t attack a hex controlled by a major power they aren’t at war with.


Italy can attack hexes in Greece even if CW units are present.



_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 63
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/1/2013 6:41:21 PM   
Centuur


Posts: 3082
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: online
@ Extranous minor countries can't set up any reserves. They get their reserve units at the start of the next turn (not impulse), if they survive...

And we are back to the Greek - Bulgarian/Italian war. I say: let the Italians attack the CW units in Greece. I don't care as the CW that I can't counterattack them. I simply want to stall the Italians to make sure heavy German infantry and some Stuka's will be railed to Greece to conquer it, before I am going to put 4 CW corps into the country and than align Yugoslavia. That's a far better way of stalling the attack on France than putting Gort and Wavell in France, I believe, if the Italians are stupid enough to DoW Greece in 1939.
With all those mountains in Greece, I can put together a nice defense with two CW and three Greek corps size units. And if Yugoslavia becomes allied... Hmmm. How nice it is to have that army threathening to go towards Ploesti, or knock Bulgaria out of the war, or entering Italy, or doing all nasty kind of things in Hungary or even in Germany itself. Yes, it will get destroyed on the long run, but I don't care. I want to stall the Euroaxis timetable and prevent the Germans/Italians from aligning Yugoslavia.

As stated, Greece might be considered if France falls fast enough and the Euroaxis are going for a Barbarossa or if the Med is closed. Otherwise, it might stay happily neutral a long, long time in the game...

< Message edited by Centuur -- 5/1/2013 6:43:26 PM >


_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 64
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/1/2013 11:50:26 PM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1619
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur

@ Extranous minor countries can't set up any reserves. They get their reserve units at the start of the next turn (not impulse), if they survive...

And we are back to the Greek - Bulgarian/Italian war. I say: let the Italians attack the CW units in Greece. I don't care as the CW that I can't counterattack them. I simply want to stall the Italians to make sure heavy German infantry and some Stuka's will be railed to Greece to conquer it, before I am going to put 4 CW corps into the country and than align Yugoslavia. That's a far better way of stalling the attack on France than putting Gort and Wavell in France, I believe, if the Italians are stupid enough to DoW Greece in 1939.
With all those mountains in Greece, I can put together a nice defense with two CW and three Greek corps size units. And if Yugoslavia becomes allied... Hmmm. How nice it is to have that army threathening to go towards Ploesti, or knock Bulgaria out of the war, or entering Italy, or doing all nasty kind of things in Hungary or even in Germany itself. Yes, it will get destroyed on the long run, but I don't care. I want to stall the Euroaxis timetable and prevent the Germans/Italians from aligning Yugoslavia.

As stated, Greece might be considered if France falls fast enough and the Euroaxis are going for a Barbarossa or if the Med is closed. Otherwise, it might stay happily neutral a long, long time in the game...


Hmm can't seam to look that one up Centuur.

Don't take this wrong but how about you posting the rule you state so we can all see it.


I would appreciate it if we all leave it for Centuur to post.


I'm tired of doing Centuur's leg work.



_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to Centuur)
Post #: 65
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/2/2013 4:01:38 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 4159
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
"19.4 Minor country units
Setting up
When a minor country aligns with you, set up its initial units immediately. You must set up in hexes controlled by that minor. At least half a minor country’s initial units must set up in its home country.
Set up each of the minor’s land and aircraft units that has an earlier year on its back. If it has the current year or ‘Res’, put it on the production circle to arrive as a reinforcement in the next turn (PiF option 28: along with its pilot)."

You should start trusting the people who've played the game for a few years.

BTW: All minor country MIL have "RES" on their backs.

< Message edited by paulderynck -- 5/2/2013 7:03:27 AM >


_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 66
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/2/2013 4:06:18 AM   
brian brian

 

Posts: 1653
Joined: 11/16/2005
Status: offline
I forgot the Yugoslavia angle.....yet more fun for the Allies.

Another good reason not to have Italy attack Greece and France in 1939 is all those Greek convoy points. A little later in the war they can attack Greece with more options to deal with the Greek merchant fleet on the surprise impulse.

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 67
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/2/2013 10:10:54 AM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1619
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

"19.4 Minor country units
Setting up
When a minor country aligns with you, set up its initial units immediately. You must set up in hexes controlled by that minor. At least half a minor country’s initial units must set up in its home country.
Set up each of the minor’s land and aircraft units that has an earlier year on its back. If it has the current year or ‘Res’, put it on the production circle to arrive as a reinforcement in the next turn (PiF option 28: along with its pilot)."

You should start trusting the people who've played the game for a few years.

BTW: All minor country MIL have "RES" on their backs.


Ok then.

According to a strict reading of the rules Italy cannot enter Greece if the CW alignes it,

No I'm not not going tp post the rule you all find it,



_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 68
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/2/2013 8:43:05 PM   
Centuur


Posts: 3082
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

"19.4 Minor country units
Setting up
When a minor country aligns with you, set up its initial units immediately. You must set up in hexes controlled by that minor. At least half a minor country’s initial units must set up in its home country.
Set up each of the minor’s land and aircraft units that has an earlier year on its back. If it has the current year or ‘Res’, put it on the production circle to arrive as a reinforcement in the next turn (PiF option 28: along with its pilot)."

You should start trusting the people who've played the game for a few years.

BTW: All minor country MIL have "RES" on their backs.


Ok then.

According to a strict reading of the rules Italy cannot enter Greece if the CW alignes it,

No I'm not not going tp post the rule you all find it,



You are mistaken:

19.3 Who can enter the minor
Your units can enter hexes controlled by a minor country if:
• you are at war with it or with the major power that controls it

You don't have to be at war with the major power that aligns the minor...

_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 69
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/3/2013 4:09:35 AM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1619
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur


quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

"19.4 Minor country units
Setting up
When a minor country aligns with you, set up its initial units immediately. You must set up in hexes controlled by that minor. At least half a minor country’s initial units must set up in its home country.
Set up each of the minor’s land and aircraft units that has an earlier year on its back. If it has the current year or ‘Res’, put it on the production circle to arrive as a reinforcement in the next turn (PiF option 28: along with its pilot)."

You should start trusting the people who've played the game for a few years.

BTW: All minor country MIL have "RES" on their backs.


Ok then.

According to a strict reading of the rules Italy cannot enter Greece if the CW alignes it,

No I'm not not going tp post the rule you all find it,



You are mistaken:

19.3 Who can enter the minor
Your units can enter hexes controlled by a minor country if:
• you are at war with it or with the major power that controls it

You don't have to be at war with the major power that aligns the minor...


You can’t enter a hex controlled by:
• a neutral minor country;
• a neutral major power on your side; or
• a major power or minor country you’re not yet at war with on the other side.


_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to Centuur)
Post #: 70
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/3/2013 8:17:06 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 4159
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
Your point eludes me here. Perhaps because there isn't one.


_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 71
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/3/2013 9:35:17 AM   
Orm


Posts: 5881
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous


quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur


quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

"19.4 Minor country units
Setting up
When a minor country aligns with you, set up its initial units immediately. You must set up in hexes controlled by that minor. At least half a minor country’s initial units must set up in its home country.
Set up each of the minor’s land and aircraft units that has an earlier year on its back. If it has the current year or ‘Res’, put it on the production circle to arrive as a reinforcement in the next turn (PiF option 28: along with its pilot)."

You should start trusting the people who've played the game for a few years.

BTW: All minor country MIL have "RES" on their backs.


Ok then.

According to a strict reading of the rules Italy cannot enter Greece if the CW alignes it,

No I'm not not going tp post the rule you all find it,



You are mistaken:

19.3 Who can enter the minor
Your units can enter hexes controlled by a minor country if:
• you are at war with it or with the major power that controls it

You don't have to be at war with the major power that aligns the minor...


You can’t enter a hex controlled by:
• a neutral minor country;
• a neutral major power on your side; or
• a major power or minor country you’re not yet at war with on the other side.


Since Italy declared war on Greece it can enter Greece regardless on who align Greece.

_____________________________

Ladies and Gentlemen, this is your Captain speaking. We have a small problem. All four engines have stopped. We are doing our damnedest to get them going again. I trust you are not in too much distress. - Captain Eric Moody

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 72
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/3/2013 3:02:59 PM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1619
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
You can’t enter a hex controlled by:
• a neutral minor country;
• a neutral major power on your side; or
• a major power or minor country you’re not yet at war with on the other side.

19.2 Entering the war
A minor country enters the war when:
• a major power declares war on it (it joins the other side); or
• it aligns with a major power (see 9.8 Aligning minors).

If a minor country aligns with a major power, it is controlled by that major power.

If an Axis major power declares war on a minor country on the American map, it may only align with the USA.

When Germany makes her compulsory declaration of war on Poland (see 9.3 Compulsory declarations), it may only align with the Commonwealth.

In every other case, when one or more major powers declare war on a minor country, choose an active major power on the other side to align with it. If there is more than one eligible major power, offer the minor to the major power whose capital city is closest to the minor’s capital (any home country in the case of the Commonwealth). If it declines, offer it to the next closest, and so on.

If every eligible major power declines, the minor (and all its controlled minors and territories) is immediately conquered by the attacking major power (see 13.7.1 Conquest).

9.7 Controlling new minors
You now allocate control of minor countries declared war on this step, to a major power on the other side (see 19.2), in order of declaration. The minor country is at war with everyone its controlling major power is at war with, as well as the major powers that declared war on it. Whoever takes control of them in or sets up its forces immediately (see 19.4 Minor country units).

9.8 Aligning minors
If a neutral minor can align with your major power (see 19.6 Soviet border rectification, 19.7 Axis minor countries and 19.8 Allied minor countries), you can declare that it is aligning with you. You can only declare one minor aligned with your major power in each friendly impulse.

Your major power controls a minor that aligns with it exactly as if another major power had declared war on it.

quote:

All of 19.3
19.3 Who can enter the minor
Your units can enter hexes controlled by a minor country if:
• you are at war with it or with the major power that controls it; or
• it is conquered by you or another active major power on your side; or
• it is aligned with any active major power on your side and the unit entering is controlled by an active major power (subject to the foreign troop commitment rules ~ see 18.2); or
• it is aligned with a neutral major power on your side and the unit entering is one of that major power’s unit.


A strict reading of the rules:
No Italy is not at war with the CW.
Who controls the hexes the CW does.






_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 73
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/3/2013 6:43:23 PM   
Centuur


Posts: 3082
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: online
Wrong Extranous:

RAW in section 2.5:

(...)
Note that even though major powers may control minor countries (see
9.8 & 13.7.1), it is the minors themselves that control hexes in that
minor. However, hexes taken from an enemy major power (or its
controlled minors) are controlled by the major power taking them
regardless of whether those hexes are taken by units of the major
power or its controlled minors, unless the major powers are not at war
with each other (in which case the hexes are controlled by the minor
country taking them).
(...)

So Greek hexes are controlled by Greece...

This rule give the Italians full access to all Greek controlled hexes. Therefore the "or" in 19.3. If a state of war exists between a minor and a major, they are allowed to enter each others hexes, without the controlling major power having to be at war with the major power.

Theoretically, the CW can garrison Greece, while the Greeks (controlled by the CW) are busy conquering Albania even when there is no state of war between the CW and Italy. If Greece would grab hexes from the Italians outside of Greece, they would become controlled by the Greek minor country and not the CW. This is important, since this means that the Italians are allowed to re-enter those hexes, which they wouldn't be allowed to do, if those hexes became controlled by the CW.


_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 74
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/3/2013 9:57:23 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 4159
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
deleted

< Message edited by paulderynck -- 5/3/2013 9:59:30 PM >


_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 75
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/3/2013 11:51:04 PM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1619
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
By the way my main point was to show how you all responded and what I have to deal with.

Note the rules selected used to counter my post.
2. General concepts ~ 2.5 Control ~ Changing control (this should be under "9.9 Multiple states of war" or "19. Minor countries")
9.8 Aligning minors (which I supplied title of the rule)
13.7.1 Conquest (which I supplied title of the rule)
19.3 Who can enter the minor (a partial which I supplied in full)

None of you mentioned "9.9 Multiple states of war" which was the key to this situation.



quote:

paulderynck: My complements on you sticking up for your friends (it is what a friend does).

I agree you couldn't see the point I did not supply enough information.

Since there have been errors made by "more experienced players" I think I will continue as is. "All minor country MIL have "RES" on their backs" Copenhagen MIL (3-2) on PionsWiF-AiF-PatiF does not have RES it has 1943. There are more or is Patrice wrong?


quote:

brian brian: Your responses were short and concise.



quote:

Centuur: He only posts what he sees as relevant. Your lucky if he gives the rule number. Most of the time I have to search on the sentences just to find out what he is posting about. This is time consuming and distracting from the subject being discussed. His Idea of a strategy session is do it his way there is no other way.



I knew my position was completely flawed when I started. But this is what I have to deal with in most of my posts I hope you enjoyed it.



_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 76
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/4/2013 1:03:17 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 4159
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

Since there have been errors made by "more experienced players" I think I will continue as is. "All minor country MIL have "RES" on their backs" Copenhagen MIL (3-2) on PionsWiF-AiF-PatiF does not have RES it has 1943. There are more or is Patrice wrong?

The error is in the reading of the spreadsheet.

There are two entries for the Danish MIL. The one that has 1943 is from Patton in Flames. The one that is used in a game of Global War - remember this is what this thread is about? - is the one from WiF Classic, which is the one used for WiFFE Global War scenario.

This is what the rest of us have to deal with.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 77
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/4/2013 8:39:18 AM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1619
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

"19.4 Minor country units
Setting up
When a minor country aligns with you, set up its initial units immediately. You must set up in hexes controlled by that minor. At least half a minor country’s initial units must set up in its home country.
Set up each of the minor’s land and aircraft units that has an earlier year on its back. If it has the current year or ‘Res’, put it on the production circle to arrive as a reinforcement in the next turn (PiF option 28: along with its pilot)."

You should start trusting the people who've played the game for a few years.

BTW: All minor country MIL have "RES" on their backs.


Look at what you posted "All minor country MIL have "RES" on their backs" and now you are attempting to qualify your statement?


BTW: without your post above I would not have posted:

quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

Ok then.

According to a strict reading of the rules Italy cannot enter Greece if the CW aligns it.

No I'm not going to post the rule you all find it,





Remember what I posted?

quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

Hmm can't seam to look that one up Centuur.

Don't take this wrong but how about you posting the rule you state so we can all see it.


I would appreciate it if we all leave it for Centuur to post.


I'm tired of doing Centuur's leg work.







_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 78
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/4/2013 4:57:36 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 4159
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
I'm tired of doing yours.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 79
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/4/2013 9:22:13 PM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1619
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

I'm tired of doing yours.


I don't remember you asking me for anything.
I don't remember me asking you for anything.

I have repeatedly complemented you on your help.




_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 80
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/4/2013 9:37:49 PM   
Orm


Posts: 5881
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline
Lets move on, please.

I think I would set up the Greek units like this in the situation you describe with a combined Axis DOW on Greece during 39. How would you attack with this defense?

Edit: With this setup I asume that CW consider reinforcing Athens with one land unit as soon as possible.



Attachment (1)

< Message edited by Orm -- 5/4/2013 9:40:26 PM >


_____________________________

Ladies and Gentlemen, this is your Captain speaking. We have a small problem. All four engines have stopped. We are doing our damnedest to get them going again. I trust you are not in too much distress. - Captain Eric Moody

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 81
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/6/2013 10:02:04 AM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1619
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
Orm, I'm curious as to why you chose to place the III MTN (4-4) southeast of Patras?

Should it became necessary supply from the sea would have to come from the Italian Coast sea zone instead of the Eastern Mediterranean sea zone.



_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 82
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/6/2013 6:18:59 PM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 18268
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

Orm, I'm curious as to why you chose to place the III MTN (4-4) southeast of Patras?

Should it became necessary supply from the sea would have to come from the Italian Coast sea zone instead of the Eastern Mediterranean sea zone.



I would have placed the mountain unit on the resource point.

The best invasion hexes for the Italians are the clear hexes next to Patras (they are adjacent to the Italian Coast sea area). I guess Orm wants to discourage landing SW of Patras. Either way, the Italians will want to move into a port (Patras or Corfu) to be able to bring in more units so they can move inland. Corfu can be reached easily from Albania without an invasion force.

I would expect the attack on Athens to come from the north, therefore I would hold the resource hex - which can only be attacked from 2 adjacent hexes.

< Message edited by Shannon V. OKeets -- 5/6/2013 6:26:07 PM >


_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 83
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/7/2013 6:34:17 AM   
Orm


Posts: 5881
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

Orm, I'm curious as to why you chose to place the III MTN (4-4) southeast of Patras?

Should it became necessary supply from the sea would have to come from the Italian Coast sea zone instead of the Eastern Mediterranean sea zone.



I place the MTN there because I wasn't to strengthen the invasion defense in the minor ports Patras and Kalamai during the surprise impulse.

But the question remains. How do you plan to attack this defense.


_____________________________

Ladies and Gentlemen, this is your Captain speaking. We have a small problem. All four engines have stopped. We are doing our damnedest to get them going again. I trust you are not in too much distress. - Captain Eric Moody

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 84
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/8/2013 4:08:51 AM   
brian brian

 

Posts: 1653
Joined: 11/16/2005
Status: offline
First triremes would blockade the straits leading north from Athens and south from Salonica. Then special shallow-drafted galleys would deliver assault heavy infantry to the smoothest beaches that could be found on the western shore of the Aegean. A key point of the plan would be to land cavalry as soon as possible to mount a lighting advance on the pass at Thermopylae before ultra-elite Greek forces could block the pass, easily bottling up the invading force with a minimal defence.

Oh, wait. Wrong war.



That is a good defense. Given that defense I think I would land Axis divisions on the surprise impulse on the hex east of Kalamai. In 1941.

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 85
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/8/2013 6:27:33 PM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1619
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
quote:

The notional unit has 1 combat factor, modified by:
• +1 if it is a city hex;
• +1 if the hex is in the home country of the major power that controls the hex;
• +1 if it is not stacked with a land unit, but is in the ZOC of a friendly corps or army;
• + the shore bombardment modifier for each invading unit;
• -1 if it cannot trace a basic supply path of any length; and
• -1 if surprised (see 15.).

-1 if surprised.

These modifications are cumulative but the notional unit can never have less than 0 combat factors.

1 - 1 = the notational combat factor is zero.

Add the notional unit’s combat factor to those of any land units in the hex. Then modify their total combat factors for terrain and weather.

The notational modified total combat factor is zero.

Since there are no upper limits on the 2d10 tables this results in a +22 die roll modifier.

Choosing combat tables
You must now select one of the two land combat results tables ~ blitzkrieg or assault. The blitzkrieg table allows retreats and leaves the attacker face-up more often. The assault table will generally increase the casualties for both sides.

The attacker chooses the table if:
1. the defending hex is a non-city hex in clear, forest or desert; and
2. any attacking unit is not attacking across a fort hexside; and
3. either the attacker has more:
• ARM and HQ-A units than the defender; or
• MECH units than the defender and the defender has no ARM or HQ-A units.

To avoid a break through result the defender (Orm) chooses that the assault table will be used or that the notational unit is to be ignored.

The invading units end the combat face up in the hex.


Why not Solonica?

If there is a HQ in Albania and the Alpini MTN (5-4) is in the Southeast hex of Albania it could go east 2 hexes and assist the invasion.

The notional unit has 1 combat factor, modified by:
• +1 if it is a city hex;
• +1 if the hex is in the home country of the major power that controls the hex;
• +1 if it is not stacked with a land unit, but is in the ZOC of a friendly corps or army;
• + the shore bombardment modifier for each invading unit;
• -1 if it cannot trace a basic supply path of any length; and
• -1 if surprised (see 15.).

+1 if it is a city hex.
-1 if surprised.

Invading units must attack the invasion hex in the land combat step (see 11.16 Land combat). They can attack together with other land units that are not invading.

1 + 1 - 1 = the notational combat factor is 1.
Alpini MTN (5-4) + (INF (2-3) division + INF (1-3) division = 1.5) = 6.5 to 1.
6.5 factors of shore bombardment + 6.5 factors of air support = 13 additional factors.

6.5 x 3 = 19.5 to 1 rounded up to 20 to 1.


Weather and Impulse markers
Unmodified weather Nov/Dec Mediterranean Zone:
Fair ~ 50%, Rain ~ 30%, Storm ~ 20%

Chance to modify next weather roll
+1 ~ 30%
+2 ~ 20%

After each sides Impulse the Impulse marker advances:
1 box ~ 30%, 2 boxes~ 50%, 3 boxes~ 20%

This means that there will be 1 pair of impulses before major powers passing will possibly end the turn.



_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to brian brian)
Post #: 86
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/8/2013 8:32:43 PM   
Orm


Posts: 5881
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline
This is how I understand the disposition of the Axis forces after the DOW on Greece. Additional Italian forces available by sea lift or invasion.

With this defense the Bulgarians can march into Salonika so do the Italians still invade Salonika or do they attack elsewhere?


Edit: Note that there are only 1 land unit stacked in Athens. The other units there are 2 SCS and 2 convoy points.



Attachment (1)

< Message edited by Orm -- 5/8/2013 8:35:09 PM >


_____________________________

Ladies and Gentlemen, this is your Captain speaking. We have a small problem. All four engines have stopped. We are doing our damnedest to get them going again. I trust you are not in too much distress. - Captain Eric Moody

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 87
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/9/2013 4:24:28 AM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 18268
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Orm

This is how I understand the disposition of the Axis forces after the DOW on Greece. Additional Italian forces available by sea lift or invasion.

With this defense the Bulgarians can march into Salonika so do the Italians still invade Salonika or do they attack elsewhere?


Edit: Note that there are only 1 land unit stacked in Athens. The other units there are 2 SCS and 2 convoy points.



This is why I would have had the Greek mountain unit in the resource hex. The best that the Italians could get on the mountain unit would be 11:12. Even if they cut it off so it is out of supply, it would still be worth 12 until it's disorganized.

Given the position you've shown, the Italians march south and the Bulgarians take Salonica (assuming they are at war with Greece). It the Greek mountain unit doesn't move (perhaps the Commonwealth is taking a Naval or a Combined and doesn't want to use a land move for the Greeks), then the Italians can wander on down to Athens. But the best they will be able to get is 11:4. Not very promising, and it has taken 3 Axis impulses to get that far.

< Message edited by Shannon V. OKeets -- 5/9/2013 4:25:48 AM >


_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 88
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/9/2013 4:24:39 PM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1619
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
paulderynck post # 65 shows that the Bulgarians cannot send a unit into Greece.

Because that post shows that the Bulgarians only have 1 unit available.

As I pointed out to Patrice in 2007 Mziln post # 219 and brian brian alluded to in post #61.

Restrictions on use
Minor country units can move and fight outside their home country. However, you can only move a minor country land or aircraft unit outside the home country controlled by the minor, if half or more of its on map land and aircraft units are currently inside its home country (exception: Rumania becomes a full Axis ally ~ see 19.6.2 Rumania).

Since the weather is considered fair Balbo HQ-I (3(3)3) need not be in the mountains. It can be in Tirana, Albania.

quote:

2.4 Supply
2.4.1 When to check supply
You need to check the supply status of a unit before it moves, flies, sails or reorganises units.

You also need to check the supply status of land units immediately before you resolve an overrun (both sides), during combat declaration
(attacking units) and at the moment of combat (both sides).

Units at sea are always in supply.

A secondary supply source for a unit is:
• an HQ the unit co-operates with (see 18.1 Who can co-operate); or
• the capital city of a minor country controlled by the unit’s major power; or
• the capital city of a major power, or a minor country, conquered by the unit’s major power, or by a major power the unit co-operates with.

A secondary supply source of the tracing unit must be able to trace a supply path either to a primary supply source or via another secondary supply source. That other secondary source must also be able to trace a supply path either to a primary source or via another secondary source, and so on. There can be any number of secondary supply sources in this chain but it must end up at a primary supply source of the unit tracing the path.

Supply paths
You trace a supply path from a unit to a primary supply source. If you are tracing a path from a secondary supply source to a primary supply source, it is a railway supply path.

If you are tracing any other supply path, it is a basic supply path.

A supply path, basic or railway, can be up to 4 hexes. Each Asian or Pacific (AfA/AiF/AsA Option 1: or African, American or Scandinavian) map hex you trace into counts as 2 hexes. Each off-map hex counts as 4 hexes, so you can only trace a basic supply path into an adjacent hex during clear weather.

Railway supply paths
A hex a railway supply path enters, by moving along a railway or road, does not count against the 4 hex limit. A hex it enters across a straits hexside also does not count against the limit, so long as the hexes on either side of the straits are railway hexes.

The 4 non-rail hexes can occur anywhere along the path. Although you will mostly use them to trace supply from an HQ to the railhead, they can be handy for re-routing around an enemy unit that’s blocking a vital rail link.

quote:

8.2.2 Supply
The supply range from a unit, or from a secondary supply source, in a hex in fine weather is 4 European map scale hexes.
The supply range from a unit, or from a secondary supply source, in a hex in snow is only 3 hexes.
The supply range from a unit, or from a secondary supply source, in a hex in rain, storm or blizzard is only 2 hexes.



If the weather is not fair I can take one of the INF divisions from Salonica move it to the northeast and establish a supply line through Bulgaria.

quote:

2.4.3 Out of supply
Land units
A land unit that is out of supply:
• can’t attack;
• must be turned face-down if you move it (even by naval transport or air transport);
• defends with 1 combat factor if it is a face-down division (see 22.4.1 Divisions (AsA/MiF/PoliF option 2)) or non-white print unit, 3 if it is a face-down white print unit (face-up units defend with their normal strength); and
option 13: can’t provide HQ support (see 11.16.3 HQ support (option 13)).

Out of supply land units still have their normal movement allowance and still exert a ZOC.





_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 89
RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans - 5/9/2013 4:51:56 PM   
Orm


Posts: 5881
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

paulderynck post # 65 shows that the Bulgarians cannot send a unit into Greece.

Because that post shows that the Bulgarians only have 1 unit available.

As I pointed out to Patrice in 2007 Mziln post # 219 and brian brian alluded to in post #61.

Restrictions on use
Minor country units can move and fight outside their home country. However, you can only move a minor country land or aircraft unit outside the home country controlled by the minor, if half or more of its on map land and aircraft units are currently inside its home country (exception: Rumania becomes a full Axis ally ~ see 19.6.2 Rumania).

Since the weather is considered fair Balbo HQ-I (3(3)3) need not be in the mountains. It can be in Tirana, Albania.

quote:

2.4 Supply
2.4.1 When to check supply
You need to check the supply status of a unit before it moves, flies, sails or reorganises units.

You also need to check the supply status of land units immediately before you resolve an overrun (both sides), during combat declaration
(attacking units) and at the moment of combat (both sides).

Units at sea are always in supply.

A secondary supply source for a unit is:
• an HQ the unit co-operates with (see 18.1 Who can co-operate); or
• the capital city of a minor country controlled by the unit’s major power; or
• the capital city of a major power, or a minor country, conquered by the unit’s major power, or by a major power the unit co-operates with.

A secondary supply source of the tracing unit must be able to trace a supply path either to a primary supply source or via another secondary supply source. That other secondary source must also be able to trace a supply path either to a primary source or via another secondary source, and so on. There can be any number of secondary supply sources in this chain but it must end up at a primary supply source of the unit tracing the path.

Supply paths
You trace a supply path from a unit to a primary supply source. If you are tracing a path from a secondary supply source to a primary supply source, it is a railway supply path.

If you are tracing any other supply path, it is a basic supply path.

A supply path, basic or railway, can be up to 4 hexes. Each Asian or Pacific (AfA/AiF/AsA Option 1: or African, American or Scandinavian) map hex you trace into counts as 2 hexes. Each off-map hex counts as 4 hexes, so you can only trace a basic supply path into an adjacent hex during clear weather.

Railway supply paths
A hex a railway supply path enters, by moving along a railway or road, does not count against the 4 hex limit. A hex it enters across a straits hexside also does not count against the limit, so long as the hexes on either side of the straits are railway hexes.

The 4 non-rail hexes can occur anywhere along the path. Although you will mostly use them to trace supply from an HQ to the railhead, they can be handy for re-routing around an enemy unit that’s blocking a vital rail link.

quote:

8.2.2 Supply
The supply range from a unit, or from a secondary supply source, in a hex in fine weather is 4 European map scale hexes.
The supply range from a unit, or from a secondary supply source, in a hex in snow is only 3 hexes.
The supply range from a unit, or from a secondary supply source, in a hex in rain, storm or blizzard is only 2 hexes.



If the weather is not fair I can take one of the INF divisions from Salonica move it to the northeast and establish a supply line through Bulgaria.

quote:

2.4.3 Out of supply
Land units
A land unit that is out of supply:
• can’t attack;
• must be turned face-down if you move it (even by naval transport or air transport);
• defends with 1 combat factor if it is a face-down division (see 22.4.1 Divisions (AsA/MiF/PoliF option 2)) or non-white print unit, 3 if it is a face-down white print unit (face-up units defend with their normal strength); and
option 13: can’t provide HQ support (see 11.16.3 HQ support (option 13)).

Out of supply land units still have their normal movement allowance and still exert a ZOC.





It is correct that Bulgaria has only one land unit available but that land unit may be moved outside Bulgaria.

According to the rule you quoted the Bulgarian land unit may be moved outside Bulgaria if half or more of their units are in their home country. Currently 100% of their units are in the home country so therefore one unit can be moved outside.

_____________________________

Ladies and Gentlemen, this is your Captain speaking. We have a small problem. All four engines have stopped. We are doing our damnedest to get them going again. I trust you are not in too much distress. - Captain Eric Moody

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 90
Page:   <<   < prev  1 2 [3] 4 5   next >   >>
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> RE: strategy and its repercussions in the Balkans Page: <<   < prev  1 2 [3] 4 5   next >   >>
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.125