Matrix Games Forums

War in the West gets its first update!Flashpoint Campaigns: Red Storm version 2.08 is now available!Command gets huge update!Order of Battle: Pacific Featured on Weekly Streaming SessionA new fight for Battle Academy!Buzz Aldrin's Space Program Manager is out for Mac!The definitive wargame of the Western Front is out now! War in the West gets teaser trailer and Twitch Stream!New Preview AAR for War in the West!War in the West Manual preview
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW)

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) Page: <<   < prev  1 [2] 3   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 3/26/2013 9:40:12 AM   
Jimm


Posts: 607
Joined: 7/27/2006
From: York, UK
Status: offline
Can you EVER not have the last word, Extraneous?

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 31
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 3/26/2013 7:34:34 PM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 19320
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets

Although I know you will argue the point, you are wrong.

When the amount of code grows from 100,000 lines to over 400,000 lines that is not maintenance. When all the graphics, for the maps, units, and forms are changed, that is not maintenance. When there are another dozen unit types added, a couple dozen optional rules, and the number of forms is doubled to over 150, that is not maintenance. Of the 100,000 lines of original code in CWIF, there is probably less than half still included in MWIF.

The analogy would be to say that someone who bought a new suit, shirt, tie, shoes, and socks, but kept his old underwear, had just updated his old wardrobe - instead of replacing it.

Now if you want to get technical, many of the fundamental routines in CWIF were written in Assembler, and I have replaced their functionality with code written in Delphi. Likewise, CWIF used a monolithic rectangle to encapsulate all the forms, which I replaced with an open design to let players place forms anywhere they want on multiple monitors. That decision requires changing the most basic compile option for programs written in Delphi.

I've also restructured the modules used to progress the sequence of play from less than 6 to over 60, changing the processing sequence to support NetPlay.

But, hey, if you want, you could argue that the IPhone 5 is just a maintenance improvement of the Apple II.



Lets look at the definition of development and maintenance programming,

program development - technical definition

May refer to the coding of an individual software program or to the creation on an entire information system and all related software. See programming and system development cycle.


Definition: Maintenance programming: Altering programs after they have been in use for a while. Maintenance programming may be performed to add features, correct bugs that escaped detection during testing, or update key variables (such as the inflation rate) that change over time.


In Assembly language each statement corresponds to a single machine code instruction. Where Delphi language is essentially object Pascal.

You chose to change the program language from Assembly language (there is a difference between Assembler language and Assembly language and CWiF was not written for a mainframe computer) to Delphi, which increased the amount of code.

To use your analogy you had a perfectly good suit and went out and chose to buy a new one. It sounds like you updated your wardrobe to me.



Changing from Assembler to Delphi decreases the number of lines of code.

CWIF was still a beta version when I received the source code. "Have been in use for a while" is very vague.

As for "a perfectly good suit", don't you care if the pants have a large hole in the back?

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 32
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 3/27/2013 10:30:19 PM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1684
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Jimm

Can you EVER not have the last word, Extraneous?


Since I started the conversation with Steve it would be rude of me not to have the last word. It is called etiquette.



quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets

Changing from Assembler to Delphi decreases the number of lines of code.

1) CWIF was still a beta version when I received the source code. "Have been in use for a while" is very vague.

2) As for "a perfectly good suit", don't you care if the pants have a large hole in the back?


1) CWIF is a marketed product (even with the bugs).


2) MWiF is still in development.



_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 33
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/1/2013 11:57:02 AM   
wif_o_matic

 

Posts: 4
Joined: 1/14/2010
Status: offline
Question relating to the original topic:

Situation:
- France is vichied and controls N Africa including Morocco
- CW DoWs Vichy, calls a combined and invades Casablanca with a div
- there is no supply line from Casablanca to a city in Metro Vichy
- there is a Moroccan territorial in Rabat

I calculate the notional as +1 (notional), +1 (city), -1 (surprise), -1 (no basic supply line of any length to Vichy)
For a total of 0, for an automatic successful invasion.

- however a friend argued that the hex was Moroccan and was in supply from Rabat which would equal a notional of 1.

What say you people? Is Casablanca a Vichy hex or is it a Moroccan minor hex? And therefore is it a notional 0 or 1?

Cheers,
Ben

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 34
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/1/2013 1:33:21 PM   
Centuur


Posts: 3873
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: offline
RAW says on national units:

If there are no real units, it is the same nationality as the major power or minor country that controls the hex.

RAW says on control:
Often, major powers and minor countries will also control some minor
home countries and territories. For example, the French major power
has France as its home country but also controls some minor home
countries (e.g. Algeria) and some territories (e.g. New Caledonia).

(...)

Some major powers and minor countries also control other minor
countries or territories. They are either aligned or conquered. Minor
countries aligned with your major power in 1939 are marked on the
map after the countries names.
Again, the scenario information will
provide more detail and explain any exceptions.

Changing control
Control of a hex changes when:
(...)
• an island, territory, minor country or major power is conquered
(see 13.7.1) or liberated (see 13.7.5); or
(...)

Note that even though major powers may control minor countries (see
9.8 & 13.7.1), it is the minors themselves that control hexes in that
minor.

Aligned minor countries would qualify for the +1 for being in supply if the hex can trace supply to a city in the aligned minor country. I think the +1 therefore applies here, since Morocco is aligned to France and isn't conquered by it, so the Morrocan minor country controls the hex. This doesn't change during vichyfication of France.








< Message edited by Centuur -- 4/1/2013 1:41:10 PM >


_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to wif_o_matic)
Post #: 35
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/1/2013 4:12:05 PM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1684
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: wif_o_matic

Question relating to the original topic:

Situation:
- France is vichied and controls N Africa including Morocco
- CW DoWs Vichy, calls a combined and invades Casablanca with a div
- there is no supply line from Casablanca to a city in Metro Vichy
- there is a Moroccan territorial in Rabat

I calculate the notional as +1 (notional), +1 (city), -1 (surprise), -1 (no basic supply line of any length to Vichy)
For a total of 0, for an automatic successful invasion.

- however a friend argued that the hex was Moroccan and was in supply from Rabat which would equal a notional of 1.

What say you people? Is Casablanca a Vichy hex or is it a Moroccan minor hex? And therefore is it a notional 0 or 1?

Cheers,
Ben



quote:

Original: WIFFE-RAW-7.0.pdf

2.4.2 Tracing supply
To be in supply, a unit must be able to trace a supply path back to a primary supply source.

A primary supply source for a unit is:
• any friendly city in the unit’s unconquered home country; or
• for a Commonwealth unit, any friendly city in another unconquered Commonwealth home country; or
• any friendly city in an unconquered home country of a major power the unit co-operates with (see 18.1).

If the unit can’t trace a supply path directly to a primary supply source, it can trace it via one or more secondary supply sources instead.

A secondary supply source for a unit is:
• an HQ the unit co-operates with (see 18.1); or
• the capital city of a minor country controlled by the unit’s major power; or
• the capital city of a major power, or a minor country, conquered by the unit’s major power, or by a major power the unit co-operates with.

quote:

A secondary supply source of the tracing unit must be able to trace a supply path either to a primary supply source or via another secondary supply source. That other secondary source must also be able to trace a supply path either to a primary source or via another secondary source, and so on. There can be any number of secondary supply sources in this chain but it must end up at a primary supply source of the unit tracing the path.




Vichy France would be an active major power but not hostile.

Morroco is out of supply if you cant trace supply to Vichy France.

No +1.




< Message edited by Extraneous -- 4/1/2013 4:52:22 PM >


_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to wif_o_matic)
Post #: 36
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/1/2013 6:45:00 PM   
Centuur


Posts: 3873
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

quote:

ORIGINAL: wif_o_matic

Question relating to the original topic:

Situation:
- France is vichied and controls N Africa including Morocco
- CW DoWs Vichy, calls a combined and invades Casablanca with a div
- there is no supply line from Casablanca to a city in Metro Vichy
- there is a Moroccan territorial in Rabat

I calculate the notional as +1 (notional), +1 (city), -1 (surprise), -1 (no basic supply line of any length to Vichy)
For a total of 0, for an automatic successful invasion.

- however a friend argued that the hex was Moroccan and was in supply from Rabat which would equal a notional of 1.

What say you people? Is Casablanca a Vichy hex or is it a Moroccan minor hex? And therefore is it a notional 0 or 1?

Cheers,
Ben



quote:

Original: WIFFE-RAW-7.0.pdf

2.4.2 Tracing supply
To be in supply, a unit must be able to trace a supply path back to a primary supply source.

A primary supply source for a unit is:
• any friendly city in the unit’s unconquered home country; or
• for a Commonwealth unit, any friendly city in another unconquered Commonwealth home country; or
• any friendly city in an unconquered home country of a major power the unit co-operates with (see 18.1).

If the unit can’t trace a supply path directly to a primary supply source, it can trace it via one or more secondary supply sources instead.

A secondary supply source for a unit is:
• an HQ the unit co-operates with (see 18.1); or
• the capital city of a minor country controlled by the unit’s major power; or
• the capital city of a major power, or a minor country, conquered by the unit’s major power, or by a major power the unit co-operates with.

quote:

A secondary supply source of the tracing unit must be able to trace a supply path either to a primary supply source or via another secondary supply source. That other secondary source must also be able to trace a supply path either to a primary source or via another secondary source, and so on. There can be any number of secondary supply sources in this chain but it must end up at a primary supply source of the unit tracing the path.




Vichy France would be an active major power but not hostile.

Morroco is out of supply if you cant trace supply to Vichy France.

No +1.




I don't agree, Extranous. Morocco is an unconquered minor country at start of 1939, aligned with France, according to RAW. Therefore, the notional unit is a Moroccan unit, which is in supply if he can trace to a Morrocan city.

< Message edited by Centuur -- 4/1/2013 6:46:21 PM >


_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 37
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/1/2013 7:06:56 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 4748
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
The answer is right there under Notionals:"The notional unit is the same nationality as any major power or minor country with a real unit in the hex (owner’s choice if more than one). If there are no real units, it is the same nationality as the major power or minor country that controls the hex."

Morocco is a minor country that is aligned with Vichy so it controls the hex. (If it was a conquered minor, then the major power that conquered it would control the hex.)

So 1 for the Notional +1 for the city, -1 for Surprise, but obviously a Moroccan unit is in supply in a city in its home country, so no -1 for OOS and net is 1 factor.

To get an automatic success you need to invade a non-city hex.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Centuur)
Post #: 38
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/1/2013 7:49:42 PM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1684
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
quote:

17.2 Determine control
Roll a die for each of the other administration groups to determine who controls it. A group becomes controlled by the (Free) French player if the roll is within the range shown on this chart. Otherwise, it remains controlled by Vichy France

17.5 Combat with Vichy
If Vichy French land units are involved in a land combat, or are overrun, solely by units controlled by an Allied major power they are not hostile to, they may defect before combat.

Roll a die immediately before land combat or the overrun for each Vichy unit (including notional units) involved. On a 4 or less, the Vichy unit is destroyed prior to combat resolution. If no Axis land units remain, an (attacking) Allied major power can advance after combat as if it were a ‘B’ result. Allied land units stay face-up. Shore bombarding ships and ground supporting bombers still turn face-down. If it’s an overrun, you just pay the normal terrain cost, not double.



The notional unit is Vichy French and out of supply.

With your view the only Vichy French notional units would be in Vichy France.

Attacking Vichy France makes Vichy Hostile.

quote:


The declaration of war does not make Vichy France hostile to that Allied major power. However, if an Allied unit enters Metropolitan Vichy France, Vichy France becomes hostile to that unit’s controlling major power.


A Moroccan notional unit would have no chance of defecting.


So is 17.5 Combat with Vichy wrong




_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 39
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/2/2013 6:03:44 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 4748
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
As usual you quote several rules (other than 17.2) that have nothing to do with what the original question is asking and then draw an incorrect conclusion.

The pertinent rules are:

From 2.5: "Note that even though major powers may control minor countries (see 9.8 & 13.7.1), it is the minors themselves that control hexes in that minor."

From 17.2: "Otherwise, it remains controlled by Vichy France:" Meaning it (Morocco) is a minor aligned to Vichy because of the word "remains" (Morocco was a minor aligned to France, prior to Vichyfication.)

From11.14 - the rule on Notionals quoted above.

< Message edited by paulderynck -- 4/2/2013 6:12:58 AM >


_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 40
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/2/2013 2:01:42 PM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1684
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
quote:

Original: wif_o_matic
Question relating to the original topic:

Situation:
- France is vichied and controls N Africa including Morocco
- CW DoWs Vichy, calls a combined and invades Casablanca with a div
- there is no supply line from Casablanca to a city in Metro Vichy
- there is a Moroccan territorial in Rabat

I calculate the notional as +1 (notional), +1 (city), -1 (surprise), -1 (no basic supply line of any length to Vichy)
For a total of 0, for an automatic successful invasion.

- however a friend argued that the hex was Moroccan and was in supply from Rabat which would equal a notional of 1.

What say you people? Is Casablanca a Vichy hex or is it a Moroccan minor hex? And therefore is it a notional 0 or 1?

Cheers,
Ben


1) Vichy France controls Morocco.
2) The CW has DoW'ed Vichy France.
3) There is no supply line to Morocco from metropolitan Vichy France.
4) There is a Vichy French territorial in Rabat.

Are you starting to see a pattern here yet?


quote:

2.5 Control
Control of a hex changes when:
• an enemy land unit (except for partisans ~ see 13.1, and supply units ~ see 22.4.10) enters it (the major power entering with the most factors if more than one); or
• an island, territory, minor country or major power is conquered (see 13.7.1); or
• France is declared Vichy (see 17.); or
• it is a communist Chinese-controlled city entered by a nationalist Chinese land unit or vice versa; or
• during the liberation step you return control to the original owner (see 13.7.5, reversion).


quote:

Each hex defends against an invasion with a notional land unit, in addition to any actual land unit in the hex. The notional unit is the same nationality as any major power or minor country with a real unit in the hex (owner’s choice if more than one). If there are no real units, it is the same nationality as the major power or minor country that controls the hex.


Note major power takes precedence since it clearly states or minor country.

There are no units in the hex so there is no choice to be made. Vichy France controls the hex (see 17.2 Determine control) not Morocco.


Here is how I see it:

On a previous impulse the CW DoW's Vichy France and invades French Indo-china.

Germany moves an air unit to Casablanca.

The CW invades Casablanca with a division.

The Axis player now has a choice to have the notational unit be Vichy French or German.

Vichy French units are subject to defection so instead Germany is chosen to be the nationality of the notational unit.

If the Vichy French territorial in Rabat is from Morroco it would be able to use Rabat as a supply source. If it is not from Morocco it could not.


Or, if you would, please explain to me when a notational unit outside of Vichy France is Vichy French.

Remember when metropolitan Vichy France is invaded Vichy units no longer check for defection as per rule 17.5 Combat with Vichy.




< Message edited by Extraneous -- 4/2/2013 2:16:21 PM >


_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 41
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/2/2013 8:21:06 PM   
Centuur


Posts: 3873
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

As usual you quote several rules (other than 17.2) that have nothing to do with what the original question is asking and then draw an incorrect conclusion.

The pertinent rules are:

From 2.5: "Note that even though major powers may control minor countries (see 9.8 & 13.7.1), it is the minors themselves that control hexes in that minor."

From 17.2: "Otherwise, it remains controlled by Vichy France:" Meaning it (Morocco) is a minor aligned to Vichy because of the word "remains" (Morocco was a minor aligned to France, prior to Vichyfication.)

From11.14 - the rule on Notionals quoted above.

And this is even stated in 17.1 of RAW too:

All other French territories and minor countries may be aligned with
either Vichy France or Free France.

So the hex is controlled by an aligned Morocco, Morocco is a minor country, therefore the notional unit is a Moroccan unit and is in supply if it can trace to a Moroccan city. It doesn't have to trace to Vichy France.


< Message edited by Centuur -- 4/2/2013 8:29:23 PM >


_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 42
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/2/2013 8:27:46 PM   
Centuur


Posts: 3873
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

Or, if you would, please explain to me when a notational unit outside of Vichy France is Vichy French.



That's easy. If it is in a Vichy French hex, not part of a Vichy France aligned minor country. That could be for example a minor conquered by (Vichy) France or a Vichy French controlled territory.

_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 43
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/2/2013 8:41:52 PM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 19320
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur


quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

Or, if you would, please explain to me when a notational unit outside of Vichy France is Vichy French.



That's easy. If it is in a Vichy French hex, not part of a Vichy France aligned minor country. That could be for example a minor conquered by (Vichy) France or a Vichy French controlled territory.

If this all makes your head spin, then won't you be glad that MWIF will figure it all out for you?

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to Centuur)
Post #: 44
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/2/2013 8:59:52 PM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1684
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
Very good except...

quote:

17.1 Creation
Occupied France is a conquered major power home country controlled by the Axis major power that installed the Vichy government. Control of occupied France is as per 13.7.1 Conquest except that all hexes controlled by French units become controlled by the Axis major power installing the Vichy government.



quote:

Complete conquest

Each hex it controls in a territory or home country controlled by another major power or minor country reverts to the control of that other major power or minor country.






_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 45
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/3/2013 10:41:52 AM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1684
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Jimm

Can you EVER not have the last word, Extraneous?


Just for you Jimm.

Look no last word or post at all.



_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to Jimm)
Post #: 46
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/3/2013 8:43:50 PM   
Centuur


Posts: 3873
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets


quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur


quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

Or, if you would, please explain to me when a notational unit outside of Vichy France is Vichy French.



That's easy. If it is in a Vichy French hex, not part of a Vichy France aligned minor country. That could be for example a minor conquered by (Vichy) France or a Vichy French controlled territory.

If this all makes your head spin, then won't you be glad that MWIF will figure it all out for you?

I think I need to test this one. See if MWIF has done it right. I bet that Steve has coded it as it should, giving the Moroccan notional in supply even it can't trace to Vichy. If not, I've got a problem now, Steve...

_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 47
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/4/2013 2:27:34 PM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1684
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
The difference is between minor countries (which must trace supply to a primary source) and true minor countries (which can trace supply to its capitol).

True minor countries must be DoW'ed independently not brought into the war because the home country is DoW'ed.


quote:

19. Minor countries
The world is divided into several types of political entity. At the top of the heap is the major power—independent and powerful. Then there are minor countries—still independent but not in the same military league as a major power. In World in Flames, every major power home country, and every minor country, has a capital city.

In previous years, most major powers valued their importance by how many other territories, sometimes called “colonies”, they controlled. We don’t have a special status for colonies—they are either a minor country aligned with, or conquered by, a major power or simply hexes controlled by a major power.

We represent the independence of true minor countries by making them neutral until they enter the war. They enter the war when someone declares war on them or when they otherwise align themselves with a major power. In either case, for game purposes you will select a major power to run their affairs.

The scenario information (see 24. Scenario Information) will list which minor countries start the game conquered or aligned.


quote:


quote:

24. Scenario Information
Campaign rules
“War status” tells you who is at war with whom. All minor countries in the game, not “controlled” by a major power, are neutral.

“Control” shows who owns what at the start of the campaign.



quote:


24.2.1 Barbarossa ~ “One Kick...”: May/Jun 1941~Jan/Feb 1942
War status:
Germany must declare war on the USSR on its first impulse.

24.2.2 Guadalcanal ~ The tide turns: May/Jun 1942 ~ Jan/Feb 1943
War status:
The Commonwealth, Free France and the USA are at war with Japan.

24.3.1 Fascist Tide ~ The war in Europe: Sep/Oct 1939 ~ May/Jun 1945
War status:
The USSR and Germany have a neutrality pact made in 1939. See 9.3 for first impulse compulsory declarations of war. The US is at war with Japan from the first Axis impulse of Nov/Dec 1941.

24.3.2 Day of Infamy ~ The War in the Pacific: Nov/Dec 1941 ~ Jul/Aug 1945
War status:
China and Japan are at war. The USSR and Japan have a neutrality pact made in 1941. The Commonwealth, the USSR and Free France are active major powers.

24.4.1 Missed the Bus ~ The end of the beginning: Jul/Aug 1940 - Jul/Aug 1945
War status:
Vichy France, the USSR and the USA are neutral. China and Japan are at war with each other. The Commonwealth and France are at war with Germany and Italy.

24.4.2 Lebensraum ~ Germany moves east: May/Jun 1941 ~ Jul/Aug 1945
War status:
The USA and the USSR are neutral. China and Japan are at war with each other. The Commonwealth and Free France are at war with Germany and Italy. Vichy France is at war with (but not hostile to) the Commonwealth and Free France.

24.4.3 Waking giant ~ The USA enters the war: Nov/Dec 1941 ~ Jul/Aug 1945
War status:
The USA is neutral. China and Japan are at war with each other. The Commonwealth, France and the USSR are at war with Germany and Italy. Vichy France is at war with (but not hostile to) the Commonwealth and Free France.

24.4.4 Brute force ~ The Allies hit back: May/Jun 1942~Jul/Aug 1945
War status:
The Commonwealth, the USA, China and Free France are at war with Japan. The Commonwealth, the USA, the USSR and Free France are at war with Germany and Italy. Vichy France is at war with (but not hostile to) the Commonwealth and Free France.

24.4.5 Darkness before the dawn ~ The beginning of the end: Jul/Aug 1943 ~ Jul/Aug 1945
War status:
The Commonwealth, the USA, China and Free France are at war with Japan. The Commonwealth, the USA, the USSR and Free France are at war with Germany and Italy.

24.4.6 Decline and fall ~ The Allied ascendancy: May/Jun 1944 ~ Jul/Aug 1945
War status:
The Commonwealth, Free France, the USA and China are at war with Japan. The Commonwealth, the USA, the USSR and Free France are at war with Germany and Italy.

24.4.7 The Global war: Sep/Oct 1939 ~ Jul/Aug 1945
War status:
All major powers are neutral except China and Japan who are at war with each other. See 9.3 for first impulse compulsory declarations of war.


quote:


29. 1936~1945 World Order of battle © 2003 Australian Design Group Countersheets 1-6 & 24 (WiF Classic)
Major Power & minor country partisans
Minor Countries
Afghanistan, Argentina, Austria *, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, C. America, Chile, Colombia, Czechoslovakia *, Denmark, Equador, Ethiopia *, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Iraq, Ireland, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Paraguay, Persia, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Rumania, Siam, Spain (Nat), Spain (Rep) *, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Uruguay, Venezuela, and Yugoslavia.




quote:

If the Vichy French territorial in Rabat is from Morroco it would be able to use Rabat as a supply source. If it is not from Morocco it could not.


I was wrong the Vichy French territorial in Rabat is out of supply.



< Message edited by Extraneous -- 4/4/2013 3:20:10 PM >


_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to Centuur)
Post #: 48
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/4/2013 3:46:53 PM   
michaelbaldur


Posts: 4029
Joined: 4/6/2007
From: denmark
Status: online
quote:

The difference is between minor countries (which must trace supply to a primary source) and true minor countries (which can trace supply to its capitol).

True minor countries must be DoW'ed independently not brought into the war because the home country is DoW'ed.


there is only on kind ofminor, no matter how it is brought into the war ...

_____________________________

Peyton manning is a God and the wif rulebook is my bible

I work hard, not smart.

beta tester and Mwif expert

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 49
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/4/2013 6:44:14 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 4748
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous
I was wrong


Yes, and remain so.

Here's what matters for the original query:

Is the hex in a minor country? - yes
Is the minor country aligned or conquered? - aligned
Is the hex empty? -yes
What nationality is the hex? - Moroccan
Can the hex trace a supply path of any distance? -yes

BTW, Territorials are not Vichy French units, they are units of minor countries that are aligned to Vichy.

< Message edited by paulderynck -- 4/4/2013 6:54:38 PM >


_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 50
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/4/2013 7:51:53 PM   
michaelbaldur


Posts: 4029
Joined: 4/6/2007
From: denmark
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous
I was wrong


Yes, and remain so.

Here's what matters for the original query:

Is the hex in a minor country? - yes
Is the minor country aligned or conquered? - aligned
Is the hex empty? -yes
What nationality is the hex? - Moroccan
Can the hex trace a supply path of any distance? -yes

BTW, Territorials are not Vichy French units, they are units of minor countries that are aligned to Vichy.



if the minor is conquered then the hex have the nationality of the conqueror

_____________________________

Peyton manning is a God and the wif rulebook is my bible

I work hard, not smart.

beta tester and Mwif expert

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 51
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/4/2013 9:01:06 PM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1684
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
Then expain to me how this works.

quote:

17.5 Combat with Vichy
If Vichy French land units are involved in a land combat, or are overrun, solely by units controlled by an Allied major power they are not hostile to, they may defect before combat.

Roll a die immediately before land combat or the overrun for each Vichy unit (including notional units) involved. On a 4 or less, the Vichy unit is destroyed prior to combat resolution. If no Axis land units remain, an (attacking) Allied major power can advance after combat as if it were a ‘B’ result. Allied land units stay face-up. Shore bombarding ships and ground supporting bombers still turn face-down. If it’s an overrun, you just pay the normal terrain cost, not double.


And explain the definition of minor countries.

quote:

19. Minor countries
We represent the independence of true minor countries by making them neutral until they enter the war. They enter the war when someone declares war on them or when they otherwise align themselves with a major power. In either case, for game purposes you will select a major power to run their affairs.

The scenario information (see 24. Scenario Information) will list which minor countries start the game conquered or aligned.


1) Morroco is not listed in 24. Scenario Information as one of the minor countries.

2) No one declared war on Morocco they declared war on Vichy France.



_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 52
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/4/2013 9:52:19 PM   
michaelbaldur


Posts: 4029
Joined: 4/6/2007
From: denmark
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

Then expain to me how this works.

quote:

17.5 Combat with Vichy
If Vichy French land units are involved in a land combat, or are overrun, solely by units controlled by an Allied major power they are not hostile to, they may defect before combat.

Roll a die immediately before land combat or the overrun for each Vichy unit (including notional units) involved. On a 4 or less, the Vichy unit is destroyed prior to combat resolution. If no Axis land units remain, an (attacking) Allied major power can advance after combat as if it were a ‘B’ result. Allied land units stay face-up. Shore bombarding ships and ground supporting bombers still turn face-down. If it’s an overrun, you just pay the normal terrain cost, not double.


And explain the definition of minor countries.

quote:

19. Minor countries
We represent the independence of true minor countries by making them neutral until they enter the war. They enter the war when someone declares war on them or when they otherwise align themselves with a major power. In either case, for game purposes you will select a major power to run their affairs.

The scenario information (see 24. Scenario Information) will list which minor countries start the game conquered or aligned.


1) Morroco is not listed in 24. Scenario Information as one of the minor countries.

2) No one declared war on Morocco they declared war on Vichy France.




1: Morocco is a minor that start the game aligned to France

2:

9.2 How to declare war All major powers on this side announce which major powers on the other side they are declaring war on this impulse. They then all announce which neutral minor countries they are declaring war on this impulse. You can’t declare war on
• any major powers or minor countries on your side; or
• a country you are already at war with; or
• a minor country that is already controlled by a major power on the other side. However, a declaration of war on a major power is also a declaration of war on every minor country aligned to that major power.


_____________________________

Peyton manning is a God and the wif rulebook is my bible

I work hard, not smart.

beta tester and Mwif expert

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 53
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/5/2013 11:49:13 AM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1684
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
I would normally ask for someone to check with the Yahoo group. But they use something called "LOC Vichy" I not sure if their answer would be appropriate. The links don't work to download a copy of "LOC Vichy".

I've checked 2013 and from the bottom up am up to 2007 have checked for information there.

I have found that the Yahoo group does differentiate between joined an aligned minors.


_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to michaelbaldur)
Post #: 54
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/5/2013 7:30:16 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 4748
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
LOC Vichy stands for Line of Communications Vichy. Line of Communications was an independent (from ADG) publication that offered optional rules for WiF. Many players liked the idea of LOC Vichy because they felt there was insufficient variability/historicity with RAW Vichy. Many players do use it. It is possibly the most popular of all independent optional rules for WiF. I know there are good links out there to download the latest LOC Vichy rules, but, sorry, I have none on file.

Anyway, LOC Vichy is not a RAW option nor an MWiF option, so for this discussion, quoting it would only serve to provide confusion. At best it would be considered a "house rule", albeit a very popular one.



_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 55
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/5/2013 8:58:31 PM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1684
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
World in Flames Yahoo group RAW Vichy and TERR #105820 January 2010 sites this rule.

quote:

17.3 Units

French units

All units controlled by France that are still in Vichy territory are now controlled by Vichy. All other French controlled units are Free French.





_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 56
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/5/2013 10:45:44 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 4748
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

World in Flames Yahoo group RAW Vichy and TERR #105820 January 2010 sites this rule.

quote:

17.3 Units

French units

All units controlled by France that are still in Vichy territory are now controlled by Vichy. All other French controlled units are Free French.





How is that pertinent?

Controlling units doesn't change their nationality. FREX German-controlled Rumanians don't become German units. The last part of that rule was lazily written and should have said: "All other French controlled units are controlled by Free France."

In both cases, some of the units could have originally been French units, and so indeed be either Vichy French or Free French, but if they were minor country units then they keep their nationality and are controlled units.



_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 57
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/6/2013 1:15:03 AM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1684
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
All units controlled by France that are still in Vichy territory are now controlled by Vichy.


That would include notational units.

_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 58
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/6/2013 5:28:45 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 4748
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
See post #38.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 59
RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) - 4/6/2013 9:54:41 AM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1684
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
paulderynck you are part of the Yahoo group and made some very good posts there. So go ahead and ask them about this scenario.

Why haven't one of you done so already?


Because of your view on minor countries controlled by Vichy France You cannot explain...

quote:

Roll a die immediately before land combat or the overrun for each Vichy unit (including notional units) involved. On a 4 or less, the Vichy unit is destroyed prior to combat resolution. If no Axis land units remain, an (attacking) Allied major power can advance after combat as if it were a ‘B’ result. Allied land units stay face-up. Shore bombarding ships and ground supporting bombers still turn face-down. If it’s an overrun, you just pay the normal terrain cost, not double.


Using your view this rule can NEVER be put into effect.


_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 60
Page:   <<   < prev  1 [2] 3   next >   >>
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> RE: Noob question on Notional Units (RaW) Page: <<   < prev  1 [2] 3   next >   >>
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.119