Matrix Games Forums

Warhammer - Weapons of WarFlashpoint Campaigns: Red Storm gets huge update and a Steam release!Battle Academy 2 opens up a new front!Flashpoint Campaigns Featured on weekly Streaming SessionFrontline: The Longest Day - New Screenshots!Deal of the Week: Hannibal Rome and CarthageFlashpoint Campaigns: Red Storm gets Players Edition!To End All Wars gets its first major patch! Hell is now available!War in the West Wacht am Rhein AAR
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Don't do this, either

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> Don't do this, either Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Don't do this, either - 3/15/2013 4:42:15 AM   
jmalter

 

Posts: 1330
Joined: 10/12/2010
Status: offline
Awhile back in my game (Allies vs. IJ AI, DBB_B(lite) scen#26) I had loaded 2ndMarDiv into an AmphTF at Shortlands. The Div had fully loaded, w/ no frag left behind, & I wanted to clear the port to let a new AmphTF load add'l troopers for my Saipan invasion.

I sent the 2MarDiv AmphTF 1 hex NE of Shortlands, Remain on Station, expecting to wait there while my other stuff loaded up, they'd merge & then sail north for the assault.

ughfortunately, I didn't set that AmphTF to 'Do Not Unload', it moved 1 hex NE of Shortlands & obligingly unloaded the 2ndMarDiv into the jungle, great practice run that ruined the Div (amph unload into an unplanned hex).

my mistake was, i forget to set the 'Do Not Unload' switch on the TF, then sent the TF to a Coastal hex.

2ndMarDiv missed the boat for the Saipan invasion, & won't be fully-recovered for another 30 days. ouch! OUCH!
Post #: 1
RE: Don't do this, either - 3/15/2013 4:46:58 AM   
bradfordkay

 

Posts: 8252
Joined: 3/24/2002
From: Olympia, WA
Status: offline
I screwed up my very first invasion in my first PBEM a long time ago in a similar manner, breaking a house rule in the process (no invasions of non-base or dot hexes). I had set my amphibious TFs to rendezvous one hex away from the actual target but forgot to set the TFs to "Do Not Unload". My opponent was very understanding when I explained, thankfully - especially because I received no advantage from the mistake.

_____________________________

fair winds,
Brad

(in reply to jmalter)
Post #: 2
RE: Don't do this, either - 3/15/2013 5:07:05 AM   
jmalter

 

Posts: 1330
Joined: 10/12/2010
Status: offline
i was amazed by the damage 2ndMarDiv incurred from my mistake. it didn't take many losses, but suffered ~1/3rd disablement. i'm glad it was only 1 hex away & could march back to base - if i'd inadvertently unloaded it at an inaccessible island, it might be a year or more before it could be ready for combat, ntm the naval assets i'd've needed to extract it from its predicament.

(in reply to bradfordkay)
Post #: 3
RE: Don't do this, either - 3/15/2013 6:33:54 AM   
JocMeister

 

Posts: 5232
Joined: 7/29/2009
From: Sweden
Status: offline
I just dropped a bunch of Paras over an enemy base. But forgot to chance the rest mode on them...not smart!

(in reply to jmalter)
Post #: 4
RE: Don't do this, either - 3/15/2013 9:28:29 AM   
LoBaron


Posts: 4609
Joined: 1/26/2003
From: Vienna, Austria
Status: offline
You can air transport units not in combat mode? Didn't even know this.

_____________________________

S**t happens in war.

All hail the superior ones!

(in reply to JocMeister)
Post #: 5
RE: Don't do this, either - 3/15/2013 10:30:31 AM   
JocMeister

 

Posts: 5232
Joined: 7/29/2009
From: Sweden
Status: offline
Apparently you can!

(in reply to LoBaron)
Post #: 6
RE: Don't do this, either - 3/15/2013 10:46:58 AM   
obvert


Posts: 7379
Joined: 1/17/2011
From: PDX (and now) London, UK
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: JocMeister

Apparently you can!


And they still almost took the base!

I did not know this either.

I've had the opposite happen when I actually did everything correctly, set 'do not unload' and got the TF to the target destination only to realize I hadn't changed it back to 'unload.' So they're sitting there asses-out not even unloading.

_____________________________


"Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm." - Winston Churchill

(in reply to JocMeister)
Post #: 7
RE: Don't do this, either - 3/15/2013 1:11:28 PM   
HansBolter


Posts: 3751
Joined: 7/6/2006
From: St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Status: offline
You don't have to physically move a TF out of the port hex to make room for loading another TF. All you need to do is undock the first fully loaded TF to make room to dock anonther. Depending on the size of the port and the sizes of the TFs involved you can often load more than one at a time.

You do have to remember though to set them to do not unlooad. At least if you forget that setting while keeping them all in the port hex undocked they will simply unload back into the port allowing you to correct your mistake a lot more easily than after having dumped them in an adjacent jungle hex.

_____________________________

Hans


(in reply to obvert)
Post #: 8
RE: Don't do this, either - 3/15/2013 1:34:12 PM   
HansBolter


Posts: 3751
Joined: 7/6/2006
From: St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: obvert


quote:

ORIGINAL: JocMeister

Apparently you can!


And they still almost took the base!

I did not know this either.

I've had the opposite happen when I actually did everything correctly, set 'do not unload' and got the TF to the target destination only to realize I hadn't changed it back to 'unload.' So they're sitting there asses-out not even unloading.



Under conditions where the threat is manageable many of us purposely wait until the turn after arrival at the invasion site to toggle the do not unload back to unload to ensure the maximum unloading rate in a single turn by not missing any unloading phases.

_____________________________

Hans


(in reply to obvert)
Post #: 9
RE: Don't do this, either - 3/15/2013 1:42:26 PM   
Q-Ball


Posts: 5578
Joined: 6/25/2002
From: Chicago, Illinois
Status: offline
This routine has always been tricky, since way back in the old WITP days. I think everyone has unloaded guys in an empty hex like that!

I always load invasion TFs with "Do Not Unload", then turn on "Unload" when they are at sea. Always have to be careful with that command

(in reply to HansBolter)
Post #: 10
RE: Don't do this, either - 3/15/2013 2:23:02 PM   
Cap Mandrake

 

Posts: 17019
Joined: 11/15/2002
From: Southern California
Status: offline
Or you forget to turn off "Do Not Unload" and they turn around and go home.

(in reply to Q-Ball)
Post #: 11
RE: Don't do this, either - 3/15/2013 4:28:27 PM   
Banzan

 

Posts: 270
Joined: 3/13/2010
From: Bremen, Germany
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Cap Mandrake

Or you forget to turn off "Do Not Unload" and they turn around and go home.


+1

Learned very fast to use the "don't unload" button to keep troops aboard during gathering.
Learned it the hard way to NOT forget to turn it off again - after my poor support troops where trying to take Port Moresby on their own...

(in reply to Cap Mandrake)
Post #: 12
RE: Don't do this, either - 3/15/2013 6:50:42 PM   
DaveConn

 

Posts: 254
Joined: 5/3/2001
From: Bainbridge Island, Washington
Status: offline
quote:

And they still almost took the base!

I did not know this either.

I've had the opposite happen when I actually did everything correctly, set 'do not unload' and got the TF to the target destination only to realize I hadn't changed it back to 'unload.' So they're sitting there asses-out not even unloading.


Been there, done that!

(in reply to obvert)
Post #: 13
RE: Don't do this, either - 3/15/2013 6:55:17 PM   
geofflambert


Posts: 5538
Joined: 12/23/2010
From: St. Louis
Status: offline
Here's one for you, I had a CM headed to Noumea to lay mines and it was almost there when I spotted a cruiser force coming to raid there, so I gave the CM a destination to the West to wait them out. You got it, I forgot to change it from "lay mines". Right in the middle of nowhere.

I've run into this problem sporadically: I load troops on a TF without giving it a destination in order to wait for other TFs to assemble. I guess because the destination is where they loaded the troops they promptly unload them. This doesn't happen all the time (don't know why) so I usually remember to put them on "do not unload" so that won't happen. You got it again! I forget to change it back once they're underway. They get there and turn right around and head home leaving the escorts holding their dicks in their hands.

(in reply to Banzan)
Post #: 14
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> Don't do this, either Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.152