From: Alberta, Canada
You're forgeting the rule witpqs mentioned above. Unless your armoured unit's AV equals 1/3 of the defenders unadjusted AV level, any follow up troops will need to shock attack to cross the river. You must force a crossing with troops totalling a minimum of 1/3 of the defender's AV to meet this rule and allow follow up troops to move freely into the hex. I see a trashed armoured unit and a disastrous river crossing in store for you if you follow through on what you propose. As Alfred suggested, you either cross with everything at once or not, going in piecemeal is generally not a good idea, especially if you don't meet the initial river crossing requirments.
Thanks sqz...so a recap:
1. If you make a cross river move w/ greater than 1/3 the defenders unadjusted AV then no shock attack.
2. If less than 1/3rd of the defenders AV then a shock attack will occur.
3. To minimize all worst case senarios the whole army should cross all at one time in combat mode(if in move mode then the army will shock attack(if needed)with a move mode AV value ).
1. No. You'll shock attack the first time regardless of your AV in relation to that of the defender. The 1/3 rule is for any troops that will cross the river later through the same hexside as the original assaulting force.
For example, lets say the defender has 1000AV and you make an initial crossing with 600AV and conduct the mandatory shock attack. You've met the 1/3 criteria for any additional troops you wish to move across the river through the same hexside as your original attacking force. It can be 100 AV or 1000AV, since you already met the 1/3 criteria they can cross freely without making a shock attack, or any attack for that matter.
However, if you attacked with only 250AV you'd still shock attack, but since you did not meet the 1/3 rule any additional troops that you wished to cross the river through the same hex side (regardless of their AV) would be forced to shock attack.
2. As above, any initial river crossing will initiate a shock attack. The 1/3 rule only applies to follow up troops in order to avoid any further shock attacks.
3. Yes and no. I'd recommend doing so. However, I once attacked Singapore with a smaller force initiating the shock attack for crossing the river (causeway), but I covered the 1/3 rule. I then marched across with the bulk of my army suffering no disruption or having to launch any additional attacks. It was a decision I made and it paid off, however, if I had misjudged the AV, I would have been in trouble with my follow up force and most likely would have had to make another shock attack risking wrecking my entire force. It really depends on the situation.
I should also add. If at some point you wanted to cross into the same hex while crossing the river, but from a different direction (hex side) you'd have to go through the entire process again. The river crossing rules, to my knowledge, are per hex side, not the hex itself.
I hope this makes sense and I apologize if my previous post wasn't clear or misleading.
< Message edited by SqzMyLemon -- 2/15/2013 9:29:54 PM >
Luck is the residue of design - John Milton
Don't mistake lack of talent for genius - Peter Steele (Type O Negative)