Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Bombing bridges

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Decisive Campaigns Series >> Decisive Campaigns: Case Blue >> Bombing bridges Page: [1]
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Bombing bridges - 12/7/2012 1:39:03 AM   


Posts: 646
Joined: 5/29/2004
From: Canada
Status: offline

Possible stupid question. My apologies if it is.

When trying to bomb a bridge with airpower, which of the two hexes spanned by the bridge should you target? Does it matter?

Also, say you did not put enough airpower in your attack - is there a way to see the "damage level" of the bridge? Or is it an all or nothing kind of thing (IE; if you don't completely blow up the bridge then it is considered "intact")?

Thanks for your insights.


"Hard pressed on my right; my left is in retreat. My center is yielding. Impossible to maneuver. Situation excellent. I am attacking."
-Gen. Joffre, before the battle of the Marne
Post #: 1
RE: Bombing bridges - 12/7/2012 3:38:58 AM   
The Red Baron

Posts: 167
Joined: 3/23/2007
From: Adirondack Mtns, NY
Status: offline
You could target either hex to destroy the bridge. Which hex you target depends, I guess, on the tactical situation. You might want to target one side over another to avoid excessive AA fire, for example.

Bridge bombing is an all or nothing affair; you either destroy it during your current attack or you have to try again. Damage is not cumulative. It resets after each air attack, so you will need to attack with enough planes in one wave to wipe it out.

You can use the combat details window to check on the amount of the bridge's structural points you've destroyed. At the bottom center of the combat details dialog box, you will see something like "164 vs Brid: 1000. Bridge has survived." meaning you caused 164 pts of structural damage against a bridge which had 1000 structural pts at the start of the attack.

(in reply to BossGnome)
Post #: 2
RE: Bombing bridges - 12/7/2012 5:21:11 PM   

Posts: 2637
Joined: 6/24/2008
Status: offline
If I miss the bridge on one side, I will attack the other to avoid the stacking penalties.


“My logisticians are a humorless lot … they know if my campaign fails, they are the first ones I will slay.” – Alexander the Great

(in reply to The Red Baron)
Post #: 3
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Decisive Campaigns Series >> Decisive Campaigns: Case Blue >> Bombing bridges Page: [1]
Jump to:

New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts

Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI