Matrix Games Forums

To End All Wars: Mountain InfantryPandora: Eclipse of Nashira Announced! Deal of the Week: Command Ops goes half price!New Fronts are opening up for Commander: The Great WarCharacters of World War 1Sign of for the Pike and Shot Beta!More Games are Coming to Steam! Return to the Moon on October 31st! Commander: The Great War iPad Wallpapers Generals of the Great War
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Using "PhibFors."

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> The War Room >> Using "PhibFors." Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Using "PhibFors." - 11/22/2012 6:32:02 PM   
hbrsvl

 

Posts: 1117
Joined: 10/2/2002
Status: offline
Hi-Allies, 1109b, 8 Aug. '43. V Phib For is in the game on it's way to Okinawa. Do these units act in the same way as in WITP, in that they can only be loaded at SFO, so that they are not put ashore?
If different, is there a manual section on it?(I'd appreciate the page in the manual.)?

Thanks, Hugh Browne
Post #: 1
RE: Using "PhibFors." - 11/23/2012 11:34:36 PM   
BBfanboy


Posts: 2367
Joined: 8/4/2010
From: Winnipeg, MB
Status: offline
Manual section 8.1.1 on HQs says " Amphibious – Helps amphibious invasions suffer fewer losses."

These HQs are intended to work from a Command Ship (AGC) to coordinate the landing but not land themselves. To do this you need to put the AGC in a separate TF set to "Do Not Unload" but in the same hex [or perhaps the adjacent hex if the HQ has a command radius of 1] as the unloading TFs.

_____________________________

I have not yet begun to fight! OTOH I have not yet begun to flee. Hmmmmm - choices, choices -always with the choices.

(in reply to hbrsvl)
Post #: 2
RE: Using "PhibFors." - 11/24/2012 2:31:26 AM   
jmalter

 

Posts: 1218
Joined: 10/12/2010
Status: offline
i've also wondered if the HQm's command-radius of 1 means that it'll give its unload bonus to AmphTFs unloading in an adjacent hex.

when it's onboard an AGC in an AmphTF, it will always unload last after all other ships' troops & supply are unloaded. so in cases where it's not desirable to keep it in a separate TF, you'll likely be able to halt the unloading before the HQm starts to go ashore.

(in reply to BBfanboy)
Post #: 3
RE: Using "PhibFors." - 11/24/2012 2:36:22 AM   
bradfordkay

 

Posts: 8251
Joined: 3/24/2002
From: Olympia, WA
Status: offline
You can definitely load them aboard a TF in ports other than San Francisco, which is good since at least some of them arrive in the game at Pearl Harbor.

_____________________________

fair winds,
Brad

(in reply to jmalter)
Post #: 4
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> The War Room >> Using "PhibFors." Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.063