Matrix Games Forums

Deal of the Week - Pride of NationsA new update for Piercing Fortress EuropaNew screenshots for War in the West!Pike & Shot is now available!Server Maintenance Battle Academy 2 gets updated!Deal of the Week: Advanced Tactics Gold Ask Buzz Aldrin!Pike & Shot gets Release Date and Twitch Session!Deal of the Week Espana 1936
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: The Philosophy of Wargaming

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> RE: The Philosophy of Wargaming Page: <<   < prev  1 [2] 3   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: The Philosophy of Wargaming - 11/9/2012 11:43:25 AM   
Sardaukar

I used to be a professional soldier.

We "wargamed" different situations all the time, to make us better soldiers..or..better killers even.

I have no moral qualms about it. War is hell and people die. Deal with it. (so to speak)

"To meaningless French Idealism, Liberty, Fraternity and Equality...we answer with German Realism, Infantry, Cavalry and Artillery" -Prince von Bülov, 1870-

(in reply to tocaff)
Post #: 31
RE: The Philosophy of Wargaming - 11/9/2012 11:56:51 PM   
SqzMyLemon

quote:

ORIGINAL: fcharton

As a young european interested in wargames, at a time when lots of survivors of both world wars were still around, I remember having a lot of explaining to do (which, I must say, was often complicated by the poor art taste of some game publishers: you have more trouble explaining to your grandmother that it is just a game, about history, when the cover of the said game features a grinning SS officer in a field of ruins).

Francois