Defending Mother Russia Saper vs Harrybanana (No Saper)

Post descriptions of your brilliant victories and unfortunate defeats here.

Moderators: Joel Billings, Sabre21

Harrybanana

Defending Mother Russia Saper vs Harrybanana (No Saper)

Post by Harrybanana »

I see that Saper has started an AAR on our game so decided that I would too. This is my first AAR so please bear with me as I’m sure to make many mistakes, not just in my game play but also in writing this AAR. In particular I am not experienced in using “paint” or any similar programs.

This is the second game Saper and I have played, both with him as the Germans and me as the Russians. The first game ended with a Russian victory in early 44 but I expect this game will be very different. Prior to our first game I believe Saper had played and won several games as the Russians, but ours was either the first or one of the first that he had played as the Germans. He is a very quick learner. Not quick enough to help him in our game as he could not recover from some early mistakes; but quick enough to win (or be winning) all of the games he started after ours against some very good opponents. Perhaps the scariest thing is that he keeps improving with each game.

Saper let me choose the game options. We are playing with random weather because I have never played with it before and figured I should give it a try. I know some say that random weather favours the Russians, especially in 41, but I am not so sure. The Germans will always know what the weather will be on the Russian turn, but the Russian will never know what the weather will be on the German turn. That has to favour the Germans right?