Matrix Games Forums

Happy Easter!Battle Academy is now available on SteamPlayers compare Ageods Civil War to Civil War IIDeal of the week - An updated War in the East goes half Price!Sign up for the Qvadriga beta for iPad and Android!Come and say hi at Pax and SaluteLegends of War goes on sale!Piercing Fortress Europa Gets UpdatedBattle Academy Mega Pack is now availableClose Combat: Gateway to Caen Teaser Trailer
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: Supply & Control clarification

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> RE: Supply & Control clarification Page: <<   < prev  1 [2]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: Supply & Control clarification - 10/18/2012 2:31:00 AM   
brian brian

 

Posts: 1590
Joined: 11/16/2005
Status: offline
thanks Orm! that would make it a -0.3 at best to land in Columbia...all Jungle there. And it would be very difficult for the Japanese to assemble 8 air-to-ground factors on their 5 carriers with range enough to sail to the Gulf of Panama, though not completely impossible in S/O 40 (necessitating a N/D 40 landing after a re-base to Truk in S/O), and those would be halved in jungle. So perhaps success on 16+, unless the fractional turned up 3 or less. (Have never rolled a negative fractional, forget how that works).

The safer bet would be to land in Ecuador first then, though only on a 16 or better would a surviving invading unit not disorganize, and then have to fight the MIL in that country starting the next turn. No Japanese TRS could reach for coastal re-org, or to land a flying-boat to do it either. So only really possible without limited overseas supply in play as then the invaders could never re-organize unless they were lucky on the landing roll, whichever beach is selected. Again assuming no seizure of French bases in Polynesia first.

And all the same calculus for a landing in Panama, which could be exciting if the USA was real sleepy about having a land unit in a port, and the players could see a major, major reality problem WiF has vis-a-vis an Axis attack on Panama while the USA is neutral. But that is beyond the scope of MWiF to fix. Germany has a much better shot at it after the Euro-Axis take Gibraltar though (invading from the 3 box), possibly trapping a whole lot of US fleet in the Pacific for a few turns when the USA can enter the war.

But Japanese adventures in South America do make a good test case I think. I would just get a saved game set up and go for it until you got the necessary roll and see what happens from there. Testing would probably speed along by just landing in the clear hex in Panama and then see what happens when Japan fights with USA peacekeepers. Neat.

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 31
RE: Supply & Control clarification - 10/18/2012 5:48:25 PM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1527
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
quote:

From the RAW.
9.1 Neutral major powers
A major power is a ‘neutral major power’ if it is not at war with any other major power. If it is at war with at least 1 major power, it’s called an ‘active major power’.

Units controlled by a neutral major power can only enter hexes controlled by that major power, by a minor country aligned with it, or by a minor country it is at war with.

They can also go to sea. A neutral major power can’t co-operate with any other major power (see 18 Co-operation).

Neutral major powers must always pick either a pass or a combined action (exception Germany in 1939 ~ see 10.1 Action types). Each naval unit a neutral major power moves (rather than each task force) counts as 1 naval move - every 5 convoy points counts as a naval unit (SiF option 9: every 2 convoy points (or any spare point) is a naval unit).

9.7 Controlling new minors
You now allocate control of minor countries declared war on this step, to a major power on the other side (see 19.2 Entering the war), in order of declaration. The minor country is at war with everyone its controlling major power is at war with, as well as the major powers that declared war on it. Who ever takes control of them in or sets up its forces immediately (see 19.4 Minor country units).

19.2 Entering the war
A minor country enters the war when:
A major power declares war on it (it joins the other side); or
It aligns with a major power (see 9.8 Aligning minors).

If a minor country aligns with a major power, it is controlled by that major power.

If an Axis major power declares war on a minor country on the American map, it may only align with the USA.

When Germany makes her compulsory declaration of war on Poland (see 9.3 Compulsory declarations), it may only align with the Commonwealth.

In every other case, when one or more major powers declare war on a minor country, choose an active major power on the other side to align with it.

If there is more than one eligible major power, offer the minor to the major power whose capital city is closest to the minor’s capital (any home country in the case of the Commonwealth). If it declines, offer it to the next closest, and so on.

If every eligible major power declines, the minor (and all its controlled minors and territories) is immediately conquered by the attacking major power (see 13.7.1 Conquest).


How Neutral major powers resolve aligning minor powers that have been DoWed

Neutral major powers units can only enter hexes controlled by a minor country it is at war with.
Since the USA is a Neutral major power and has not made a DoW against Venezuela. It cannot enter Venezuelan controlled hexes with USA Units (see 9.1 Neutral major powers).

Japan an Active major power has made a DoW against Columbia.
Columbia is at war with Japan (a major power) and its minor powers (Venezuela) (see 9.7 Controlling new minors).


What happens if Japan DoW's France or the Netherlands

US Entry action 33. Japan declares war on the CW, France or Netherlands (Ja) 3 & 5 ~ Two US entry chits for the Japanese pool with 80% chance of another.

3) The USA also picks 1 extra chit a turn for each action (except conquests by surrender). It must go into the marked entry pool.
5) Rolled once per city, major power, neutral minor country or search.


When Japan invades Columbia what if they use: (the Vassal maps make it easier to find these at this time)

Hiva Qa (minor port), Marqueasas Islands - the East Pacific sea zone (Fr) it is next to the Gulf of Panama sea zone.
Papeete (major port), French Polynesia (Fr) ~ the Austral sea zone (Fr) it is next to the East Pacific sea zone (Fr).





< Message edited by Extraneous -- 10/18/2012 6:13:15 PM >


_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to brian brian)
Post #: 32
RE: Supply & Control clarification - 10/18/2012 6:12:13 PM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1527
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline
30. Allies align minor (Ge/It) 50% for a chit removed.

This is not defined in the RAW.

Does this only occur when the Allies peacefully align a minor (see 9.8 Aligning minors)?

Or when the Allies peacefully align a minor power (see 9.8 Aligning minors) and when the Allies align a minor power due to a DoW.


_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 33
RE: Supply & Control clarification - 10/18/2012 6:46:33 PM   
Orm


Posts: 5465
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Extraneous

30. Allies align minor (Ge/It) 50% for a chit removed.

This is not defined in the RAW.

Does this only occur when the Allies peacefully align a minor (see 9.8 Aligning minors)?

Or when the Allies peacefully align a minor power (see 9.8 Aligning minors) and when the Allies align a minor power due to a DoW.


It is defined in RAW. See cut in part below.



Cut from RAW: 13.3.3 US entry actions
....
The entry actions
....
19 & 30. Minor aligned - this occurs when the minor country aligns
with a major power (see 9.8). A minor that joins a side because a
major power declares war on it doesn’t count.

< Message edited by Orm -- 10/18/2012 6:47:36 PM >


_____________________________

"You might very well think that; I couldn't possibly comment."

(in reply to Extraneous)
Post #: 34
RE: Supply & Control clarification - 10/19/2012 2:26:43 AM   
Extraneous

 

Posts: 1527
Joined: 6/14/2008
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Orm

It is defined in RAW. See cut in part below.

Cut from RAW: 13.3.3 US entry actions
....
The entry actions
....
19 & 30. Minor aligned - this occurs when the minor country aligns
with a major power (see 9.8). A minor that joins a side because a
major power declares war on it doesn’t count.



Ahhh I was lookin under "US entry action 30" and it was under US entry action "19 & 30. Minor aligned".


Thanks

_____________________________

University of Science Music and Culture (USMC) class of 71 and 72 ~ Extraneous (AKA Mziln)

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 35
Page:   <<   < prev  1 [2]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> RE: Supply & Control clarification Page: <<   < prev  1 [2]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.070