Newb an kinda confused

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies and ship designs with fellow gamers here.

Moderators: elliotg, Icemania

jpinks

Newb an kinda confused

Post by jpinks »

Ok I got the whole package this weekend and I am kinda lost. I feel more like a spectator than I am in control. Now I am using everything on Auto as I am a newb but even turning some things off I still feel more like a spectator. Should I just start turning off some of the auto controls? What are good things to start controling for myself to start getting a feeling for the game. Can someone point me to a good newb faq? Seems like a game I will like but like I said I dont feel like I am in any control lol. I feel like a firefighter rushing around sending my fleet to beat off pirates or monsters and thats about all I do other than rubber stamp AI suggestions. It also feels like all the normal rts phases are mushed into one, Expand Exterminate etc. Going to try a new game now and shut down some AI controls. Please throw a guy a bone before my kids catch me and I have to back to being Dad til O dark thirty tonite :)
WoodMan

RE: Newb an kinda confused

Post by WoodMan »

Hey jpinks!

I play with everything on manual except ship design and population policy which I leave automated [;)]

In my first game I had most things automated and I set them to manual one at a time as I went through the game. By the start of my second game I was using the same settings I still use today [:D]