Axis Minors?

The development team behind the award-winning games Decisive Campaigns: From Warsaw To Paris and Advanced Tactics is back with a new and improved game engine that focuses on the decisive year and theater of World War II! Decisive Campaigns: Case Blue simulates the German drive to Stalingrad and into the Caucasus of the summer of 1942, as well as its May preludes (2nd Kharkov offensive, Operation Trappenjagd) and also the Soviet winter counter-offensive (Operation Uranus) that ended with the encirclement of 6th Army in Stalingrad and the destruction of the axis minor armies. With many improvements including the PBEM++ system, this is a release to watch for wargamers!

Moderator: Vic

stormbringer3

Axis Minors?

Post by stormbringer3 »

I'm just learning the game system and I have a general question about the Axis Minors. In WitE you could cherry pick battles the Minors could win and thus increase their fighting abilities. Is it worthwhile in this title to try and increase their abilities in that or any other way? Whenever I play an East Front game if there is a way to try and increase the Minor's abilities I always try to do so.
Thanks for any info.
Grotius

RE: Axis Minors?

Post by Grotius »

Hmm. On the one hand, in this game, units can and do gain a little experience if they are successful in battle. On the other hand, there's often incentive not to use the Minors in any dangerous engagement, as Minor casualties can hurt your political standing with their governments, which in turn leads to fewer replacements and reinforcements. If casualties get really bad, or if the war goes very badly, the Minor governments will abandon you altogether.

Another interesting facet of the Minors in this game is that you have to keep a majority under their own national command. In some circumstances, you even have to ensure they have their own national Army command. Very interesting set of rules.