Matrix Games Forums

To End All Wars: Mountain InfantryPandora: Eclipse of Nashira Announced! Deal of the Week: Command Ops goes half price!New Fronts are opening up for Commander: The Great WarCharacters of World War 1Sign of for the Pike and Shot Beta!More Games are Coming to Steam! Return to the Moon on October 31st! Commander: The Great War iPad Wallpapers Generals of the Great War
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

LCU landing question [NO Kyberbill please]

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> The War Room >> LCU landing question [NO Kyberbill please] Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
LCU landing question [NO Kyberbill please] - 7/31/2012 12:46:30 AM   
Dora09

 

Posts: 216
Joined: 1/11/2008
Status: offline

Hello everyone. I have started a PBEM with Kyberbill after about a year off and I admitt I am a little rusty. I am Japan, it is early Jan 42.

So I recently attempted a sort of blind invasion of Java. The plan was to land the 21st division at a base i thought would be lightly defended and then land a sizable force in behind them (they are all in transport TF NOT amphibious)... I know, stupid, right?

Well anyway, the landing went fine and the 21st landed in one day, the only problem is it is not as lightly defended as I thought...again stupid of me, I know. The saving grace is that i supported the landing with LBA and the kb and it just so happens that Kyberbill had multiple CVs on the other side of Java and I was out of his range but my kates got in and did what looks like significant damage to his fleet and several CVs without any damage to kb.

The question is, now that I have landed an amphibious LCU can I now land transports with strat LCUs or do I have to capture the base first? I would think you would need to capture the base first but if I don't, I would love to land those troops. I realize this may be an idiotic question but I am in a tight spot here, I have the advantage right now but if I can't land those troops, it will be curtains for the 21st and I am kind of grasping at straws. Why didn't I just load amphibious instead of transport... I have no idea, I guess I got a little to cute for my own good.

Post #: 1
RE: LCU landing question [NO Kyberbill please] - 7/31/2012 5:10:52 AM   
jmalter

 

Posts: 1218
Joined: 10/12/2010
Status: offline
well i've never been Japanese, but i'm pert' sure you must own the base, if you want to unload units from TranTFs.

so if 21div doesn't have enough oomph to capture the hex in a day or 2, you must rtb w/ your TranTF, unload, then reload for Amph. choose this point carefully, it must be close, w/ available fuel, w/ NavSupp, w/ air-cover, etc.

dunno what the state of 21div is now, but since this is Jan42, enemy morale is gonna be low, & the defenders could be v. brittle. if 21div has supply, you can either continue to attack in hopes of a quick capture, or switch to defense & try to hold out until the 2nd echelon is re-organized.

look on the bright side, sounds like you got some hits on enemy CVs! enemy base forts will be low, so keep hitting w/ LBA.


(in reply to Dora09)
Post #: 2
RE: LCU landing question [NO Kyberbill please] - 7/31/2012 7:53:54 AM   
Alfred

 

Posts: 3633
Joined: 9/28/2006
Status: offline
Even if you could land those LCUs on the transport TF it would be a bad idea as they will still be in "strategic" mode and that will give you a negative combat modifier until they switched over to "combat" mode. That could take up to 3 days.

You were too cute. If you believe that you must have that base no later than D+1, then you are stuck with having only the 21st to accomplish that task, unaided by any other LCU.

Alfred

(in reply to jmalter)
Post #: 3
RE: LCU landing question [NO Kyberbill please] - 7/31/2012 1:16:21 PM   
Dora09

 

Posts: 216
Joined: 1/11/2008
Status: offline
Thanks guys,
That makes sense, even if I could it would probably be disasterous. I'm just upset with myself, I guess that is what happens when you change you plan at the last minute. I was hoping against hope there was some way I could salvage my invasion. I will see if the 21st can hold out until I can get more amph there, but I think they are probably screwed.


(in reply to Alfred)
Post #: 4
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> The War Room >> LCU landing question [NO Kyberbill please] Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.070