Matrix Games Forums

Space Program Manager gets mini-site and Twitch SessionBuzz Aldrin: Ask Me Anything (AMA) on redditDeal of the week Fantasy Kommander: Eukarion WarsSpace Program Manager Launch Contest Announced!Battle Academy 2 is out now on iPad!A closer look at rockets in Space Program ManagerDeal of the Week - Pride of NationsA new update for Piercing Fortress EuropaNew screenshots for War in the West!Pike & Shot is now available!
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

NATO Icons confusion

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Decisive Campaigns: Case Blue >> NATO Icons confusion Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
NATO Icons confusion - 7/19/2012 3:59:29 AM   
jomni

This is my first try in the series. But I have played ATG and I'm glad the UI is same.

But the NATO icons in DC is not dynamic. It does not conform to the elements inside the unit.
This means ARTY units still get INF or ARM NATO icons just because they are part of an INF / ARM Division.
I noticed that there's a little icon on the side to indicate that they are artillery.

Same goes with tanks, etc. I need to check the small icons on the side to see if they are PZ (tank) or Infantry to make sure what type of unit they are.
I've been fooled several times in my first game thinking that the unit is a tank unit only to find out that they are motorized infantry.

Now why not just change the NATO icon itself to skip this extra step? If you say it helps to keep organized and to easily know that they are part of a tank division, then we already have the counter highlights for that right?

Anyway, I guess I'll just have to get used to it. Sorry for the ranting.

< Message edited by jomni -- 7/19/2012 4:01:42 AM >

My Blog