Matrix Games Forums

Command gets Wargame of the Year EditionDeal of the Week: Pandora SeriesPandora: Eclipse of Nashira is now availableDistant Worlds Gets another updateHell is Approaching Deal of the Week Battle Academy Battle Academy 2 Out now!Legions of Steel ready for betaBattle Academy 2 gets trailers and Steam page!Deal of the Week Germany at War
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Dumb rules question.

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Dumb rules question. Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Dumb rules question. - 7/19/2012 1:16:00 AM   
Ur_Vile_WEdge

 

Posts: 488
Joined: 6/28/2005
Status: offline
Sorry to bother you guys with such a triviality, but I'm away from my rulebooks atm.


Does anyone know if you can do a groundstrike, and then have the bomber return to a different hex than it came from? Or do you have to return to the same hex?


Best wishes,
Ur_Vile_Wedge
Post #: 1
RE: Dumb rules question. - 7/19/2012 2:00:35 AM   
christo

 

Posts: 95
Joined: 11/24/2005
From: adelaide, australia
Status: offline
Definately can land at any legal hex within range after completion on any mission.

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 2
RE: Dumb rules question. - 7/19/2012 3:50:46 AM   
michaelbaldur


Posts: 3751
Joined: 4/6/2007
From: denmark
Status: online

you can always download a free rule book from the net ..

when you bye the game you have already bought the rights to download the rule book

_____________________________

Peyton manning is a God and the wif rulebook is my bible

I work hard, not smart.

beta tester and Mwif expert

(in reply to christo)
Post #: 3
RE: Dumb rules question. - 7/19/2012 7:43:59 AM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 954
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline
You can land anywhere else in range, controlled by you (or friendly countries, except for what may be restricted by FTC if any restriction about this).

(in reply to michaelbaldur)
Post #: 4
RE: Dumb rules question. - 7/19/2012 6:43:10 PM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 18342
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Ur_Vile_WEdge

Sorry to bother you guys with such a triviality, but I'm away from my rulebooks atm.


Does anyone know if you can do a groundstrike, and then have the bomber return to a different hex than it came from? Or do you have to return to the same hex?


Best wishes,
Ur_Vile_Wedge


Land based air units can return-to-base to any legal hex. There are a bunch of rules about what is legal: stacking, hex control, Foreign Troop Commitment, etc. You also should worry about "using up" a hex that is the only valid return-to-base hex for another air unit that is flying a mission. For instance, A with a range of 3 flies its maximum distance to a target; B with a range of 10 flies 5 hexes to the same target. If B returns to base first and chooses A's point of origin, then A might not have a valid return-to-base hex.

Carrier based air units use a different set of rules. They have to return to base to a carrier on which they can legally stack, that is in the same sea area and the same section box as the carrier from which they flew the mission. For example, if you left from a carrier in the 3 section box, then you cannot return to one in the 2 section box.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 5
RE: Dumb rules question. - 7/20/2012 7:57:20 AM   
Joseignacio


Posts: 954
Joined: 5/8/2009
From: Madrid, Spain
Status: offline

quote:

Carrier based air units use a different set of rules. They have to return to base to a carrier on which they can legally stack, that is in the same sea area and the same section box as the carrier from which they flew the mission. For example, if you left from a carrier in the 3 section box, then you cannot return to one in the 2 section box.


Wow! Didn't know that

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 6
RE: Dumb rules question. - 7/21/2012 2:26:56 AM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 18342
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio


quote:

Carrier based air units use a different set of rules. They have to return to base to a carrier on which they can legally stack, that is in the same sea area and the same section box as the carrier from which they flew the mission. For example, if you left from a carrier in the 3 section box, then you cannot return to one in the 2 section box.


Wow! Didn't know that

When writing the code for the rules, I am careful about making sure I understand them.

Of course even then I make a lot of mistakes - which gives the beta testers opportunities to jump all over me pointing out my errors. At this point I am pretty good at understanding the rules. My weaknesses are with rules that have changed over the years and those which are ambiguous with a final interpretation having been thrashed out through long discussions with the beta testers/rules gurus. Especially difficult for me are those which were coded (correctly) as part of CWIF but then ADG has changed the rule so I needed to rewrite the code. It's difficult to say what color a chameleon is when it keeps changing color.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to Joseignacio)
Post #: 7
RE: Dumb rules question. - 7/21/2012 3:49:27 PM   
christo

 

Posts: 95
Joined: 11/24/2005
From: adelaide, australia
Status: offline
Steve

Heve you ever contemplated a WIFCON
be it
-australia
-usa
-europe??


(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 8
RE: Dumb rules question. - 7/22/2012 12:45:44 AM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 18342
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: christo

Steve

Heve you ever contemplated a WIFCON
be it
-australia
-usa
-europe??



Pretty busy at the moment.

If I showed up at a WIFCon while MWIF is sill unfinished, I would need to bring at least 1 bodyguard.

---

I did play in several mini-tournaments at (board) war game conventions in the NY-Washington corridor 30 or so years ago. I made the top table after the first round and got "Best Italy" in a Diplomacy tournament (49 players) by holding onto 2 units at the end of the second round's game. I wasn't all that happy with drawing Italy in the second round, having to play against 6 other guys who also had won in the first round - then Austria moved for an all-out attack on me in the first turn, ... Sorry, you have to know the game Diplomacy fairly well to understand what all that means. On the other hand, playing (just) Italy in WIF is roughly comparable.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to christo)
Post #: 9
RE: Dumb rules question. - 7/22/2012 9:07:21 PM   
Centuur


Posts: 3242
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets


quote:

ORIGINAL: christo

Steve

Heve you ever contemplated a WIFCON
be it
-australia
-usa
-europe??



Pretty busy at the moment.

If I showed up at a WIFCon while MWIF is sill unfinished, I would need to bring at least 1 bodyguard.

---

I did play in several mini-tournaments at (board) war game conventions in the NY-Washington corridor 30 or so years ago. I made the top table after the first round and got "Best Italy" in a Diplomacy tournament (49 players) by holding onto 2 units at the end of the second round's game. I wasn't all that happy with drawing Italy in the second round, having to play against 6 other guys who also had won in the first round - then Austria moved for an all-out attack on me in the first turn, ... Sorry, you have to know the game Diplomacy fairly well to understand what all that means. On the other hand, playing (just) Italy in WIF is roughly comparable.

Yes, playing Italy in Diplomacy is usually not a lot of fun. Almost all good Austrian players tend to go against the Italians ASAP...

_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 10
RE: Dumb rules question. - 7/23/2012 2:08:03 PM   
Ur_Vile_WEdge

 

Posts: 488
Joined: 6/28/2005
Status: offline
Thanks for all the responses guys :)

Actually, the original situation that sparked the question was I was contemplating doing some ground support from a few extended range bombers for an attack that didn't actually need their help as a kind of "free action" rebase to get them closer to the front line.

(in reply to Centuur)
Post #: 11
RE: Dumb rules question. - 7/23/2012 5:40:19 PM   
brian brian

 

Posts: 1676
Joined: 11/16/2005
Status: offline
I've long hoped you could come to WiFCon ... just to kick back and play the game for a change.

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 12
RE: Dumb rules question. - 8/8/2012 2:08:12 AM   
Ur_Vile_WEdge

 

Posts: 488
Joined: 6/28/2005
Status: offline
Hope I'm not breaking any taboos against necrothreadcy, but I had two more questions that came up.


A) Japan is at war with China, and nobody else. China surrenders. When Japan goes to war again, do the MIL (outside of the ones who are reserves) have to be rebuilt, or will they come back for free when war resumes?


B) Italy is at war with France but not the CW. Germany is at war with both. Can an Italian TRS carry a German unit through either Gibraltar or Suez.



Any help would be greatly appreciated

(in reply to brian brian)
Post #: 13
RE: Dumb rules question. - 8/8/2012 6:40:34 AM   
paulderynck


Posts: 4254
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Ur_Vile_WEdge

Hope I'm not breaking any taboos against necrothreadcy, but I had two more questions that came up.


A) Japan is at war with China, and nobody else. China surrenders. When Japan goes to war again, do the MIL (outside of the ones who are reserves) have to be rebuilt, or will they come back for free when war resumes?


B) Italy is at war with France but not the CW. Germany is at war with both. Can an Italian TRS carry a German unit through either Gibraltar or Suez.



Any help would be greatly appreciated

A) From the 2008 Errata: "When a major power reverts to neutrality, any on-map MIL are placed in the reserve pool instead of the force pool, and thereafter treated as regular reserves."

B) Yes.

Edit: The above are the ADG WiFFE rules and B) should work in MWiF. I can't recall for sure if the Errata on MILs is in MWiF, but I think it is.

< Message edited by paulderynck -- 8/8/2012 6:43:23 AM >


_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 14
RE: Dumb rules question. - 8/9/2012 3:29:02 AM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 18342
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: brian brian

I've long hoped you could come to WiFCon ... just to kick back and play the game for a change.

Well, thanks for the invite.

But I don't believe that the players WIFCons "just kick back". Unless I am mistaken they all attend to kick butt.




_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to brian brian)
Post #: 15
RE: Dumb rules question. - 8/9/2012 3:33:34 AM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 18342
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

quote:

ORIGINAL: Ur_Vile_WEdge

Hope I'm not breaking any taboos against necrothreadcy, but I had two more questions that came up.


A) Japan is at war with China, and nobody else. China surrenders. When Japan goes to war again, do the MIL (outside of the ones who are reserves) have to be rebuilt, or will they come back for free when war resumes?


B) Italy is at war with France but not the CW. Germany is at war with both. Can an Italian TRS carry a German unit through either Gibraltar or Suez.



Any help would be greatly appreciated

A) From the 2008 Errata: "When a major power reverts to neutrality, any on-map MIL are placed in the reserve pool instead of the force pool, and thereafter treated as regular reserves."

B) Yes.

Edit: The above are the ADG WiFFE rules and B) should work in MWiF. I can't recall for sure if the Errata on MILs is in MWiF, but I think it is.

Note the distinction between Mil units that are on-map and those that are off-map. The off-map units (i.e., in the Force Pool) were destroyed in combat, hence they remain in the Force Pool and have to be rebuilt when the country next goes to war. Meanwhile the ones on-map (probably idle slackers in the rear) get to return home to their civilian life and await their next call-up.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 16
RE: Dumb rules question. - 8/9/2012 6:20:20 PM   
Ur_Vile_WEdge

 

Posts: 488
Joined: 6/28/2005
Status: offline
Many thanks Paulderynck and our great builder :)But my MIL are glorious crusaders who are crushing opposition before them, not idle slackers!

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 17
RE: Dumb rules question. - 8/10/2012 6:17:14 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 4254
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
It's amazing how often one of them charges headlong in the lead of the assaulting legions! I'm sure the two buck, one turn rejuvenation has nothing to do with it.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 18
RE: Dumb rules question. - 8/10/2012 7:25:34 PM   
Ur_Vile_WEdge

 

Posts: 488
Joined: 6/28/2005
Status: offline
I'm not so sure, I thought it was due to the joint exercises they do with the aligned minors. For some reason, those guys always seem to be at the most dangerous spots of the battlefield, and then when they pass it on to the MIL......

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 19
RE: Dumb rules question. - 8/10/2012 9:45:48 PM   
Centuur


Posts: 3242
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: offline
MIL = Cannonflodder... Especially the ones with good combat factors...

_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 20
RE: Dumb rules question. - 8/11/2012 6:21:01 AM   
michaelbaldur


Posts: 3751
Joined: 4/6/2007
From: denmark
Status: online

for that reason I like the first loss mot,mec or arm rule in 2d10. it forces the player to pick blitz units doing blitz.

and it give the player a reason to build all mot division to use as cannon fodder

_____________________________

Peyton manning is a God and the wif rulebook is my bible

I work hard, not smart.

beta tester and Mwif expert

(in reply to Centuur)
Post #: 21
RE: Dumb rules question. - 9/5/2012 9:44:37 PM   
warspite1


Posts: 18719
Joined: 2/2/2008
From: England
Status: offline
Apologies because I am confused and would appreciate some help!!

19.4 Minor Country Units

Setting up

4th Para

Set up on the map each of the minor's naval units that has a date on the back that is at least 2 years earlier except those sunk prior to the start of the scenario. For example, in the Global War campaign, if your opponent declares war on Spain in 1940, you would set up all the Spanish ships that have 1938 or earlier on the back of their counter except for the Espana.

Queries:

1. Why does the example single out Espana only and not Jaime I and Baleares? I assume this is just an error?
2. What happens to these three ships? Are they a) removed from the game (i.e. they are only ever used with Days of Decision) or b) Placed in the Force Pool?
3. What is the correct treatment for the Mexican Anauhac? This ship has no sunk date on the back of the counter (although in real life she was discarded in 1938). I assume that notwithstanding her real life fate, if for example, Mexico enters the war in 1941, she is placed on the map (because she has no sunk date on the counter)?


_____________________________

England expects that every man will do his duty - Horatio Nelson 1805.




(in reply to michaelbaldur)
Post #: 22
RE: Dumb rules question. - 9/5/2012 10:40:59 PM   
Orm


Posts: 6116
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: warspite1

Apologies because I am confused and would appreciate some help!!

19.4 Minor Country Units

Setting up

4th Para

Set up on the map each of the minor's naval units that has a date on the back that is at least 2 years earlier except those sunk prior to the start of the scenario. For example, in the Global War campaign, if your opponent declares war on Spain in 1940, you would set up all the Spanish ships that have 1938 or earlier on the back of their counter except for the Espana.

Queries:

1. Why does the example single out Espana only and not Jaime I and Baleares? I assume this is just an error?
2. What happens to these three ships? Are they a) removed from the game (i.e. they are only ever used with Days of Decision) or b) Placed in the Force Pool?
3. What is the correct treatment for the Mexican Anauhac? This ship has no sunk date on the back of the counter (although in real life she was discarded in 1938). I assume that notwithstanding her real life fate, if for example, Mexico enters the war in 1941, she is placed on the map (because she has no sunk date on the counter)?


1) This is just an error. I suspect that Espana was the only Spanish ship included in WIF that had a sunk date at the time that the rule was written.

2) The answer is that they go into the force pool after you add the minors units to the force pool.

3) If she has no sunk date then she is placed on the map. But I do suspect that this is an error and that she should have a sunk date. Anyone know if the latest version of this counter has a sunk date?


RAC: 19.4 Minor country units
....
After a minor country has aligned with you, you can choose to add its units (those not yet set-up) to your major power’s force pools. You can do this at any time while the minor is not conquered (incomplete or complete) but, once you do, its units must always go into your force pools as they become available. From then on, you can only voluntarily remove them from your pools by production (see 13.6.5), or scrapping (see 13.6.9).



_____________________________

Ladies and Gentlemen, this is your Captain speaking. We have a small problem. All four engines have stopped. We are doing our damnedest to get them going again. I trust you are not in too much distress. - Captain Eric Moody

(in reply to warspite1)
Post #: 23
RE: Dumb rules question. - 9/6/2012 6:16:00 AM   
warspite1


Posts: 18719
Joined: 2/2/2008
From: England
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Orm

quote:

ORIGINAL: warspite1

Apologies because I am confused and would appreciate some help!!

19.4 Minor Country Units

Setting up

4th Para

Set up on the map each of the minor's naval units that has a date on the back that is at least 2 years earlier except those sunk prior to the start of the scenario. For example, in the Global War campaign, if your opponent declares war on Spain in 1940, you would set up all the Spanish ships that have 1938 or earlier on the back of their counter except for the Espana.

Queries:

1. Why does the example single out Espana only and not Jaime I and Baleares? I assume this is just an error?
2. What happens to these three ships? Are they a) removed from the game (i.e. they are only ever used with Days of Decision) or b) Placed in the Force Pool?
3. What is the correct treatment for the Mexican Anauhac? This ship has no sunk date on the back of the counter (although in real life she was discarded in 1938). I assume
that notwithstanding her real life fate, if for example, Mexico enters the war in 1941, she is placed on the map (because she has no sunk date on the counter)?


1) This is just an error. I suspect that Espana was the only Spanish ship included in WIF that had a sunk date at the time that the rule was written.

2) The answer is that they go into the force pool after you add the minors units to the force pool.

3) If she has no sunk date then she is placed on the map. But I do suspect that this is an error and that she should have a sunk date. Anyone know if the latest version of this counter has a sunk date?

RAC: 19.4 Minor country units
....
After a minor country has aligned with you, you can choose to add its units (those not yet set-up) to your major power’s force pools. You can do this at any time while the minor is not conquered (incomplete or complete) but, once you do, its units must always go into your force pools as they become available. From then on, you can only voluntarily remove them from your pools by production (see 13.6.5), or scrapping (see 13.6.9).

warspite1

Thanks Orm. I will amend a few of the write ups accordingly. It seems counter intuitive that ships such as Espana are placed in the Force Pool (after all, they have already been sunk!) but at least I now have the correct answer.

I will assume that Anahuac is part of any Campaign game.

_____________________________

England expects that every man will do his duty - Horatio Nelson 1805.




(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 24
RE: Dumb rules question. - 9/6/2012 10:09:01 AM   
Orm


Posts: 6116
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline
I asume all will scrap Espana as soon as she is added to the force pool (if they play with srapping units).

_____________________________

Ladies and Gentlemen, this is your Captain speaking. We have a small problem. All four engines have stopped. We are doing our damnedest to get them going again. I trust you are not in too much distress. - Captain Eric Moody

(in reply to warspite1)
Post #: 25
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Dumb rules question. Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.109